We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Hay

Save
Share
Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (40)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 08/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Swan at Hay is a glorious Georgian building housing 19 bedrooms. The hotel was relaunched in February 2017 following a million pound refurbishment. All 19 bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished, as were all the public areas. Set in the heart of the world-renowned 'Town of Books,' Hay-on-Wye, it is an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons and surrounding countryside. With a choice of 3 dining areas, visitors can choose to dine in the beautiful Garden Room restaurant, the snug or the more informal bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
697Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 306
  • 198
  • 99
  • 65
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Susan M wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel and the staff were all very helpful and attentive, the food was good considering how they are having to cope with restrictions changing all the time, would certainly stay again and recommend to there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Dewar D wrote a review Dec 2021
United Kingdom90 contributions61 helpful votes
We booked in for a book-buying trip. A few years ago we had seen the property being refurbished but this was the first time we stayed. The hotel is appointed to a very comfortable standard and was very clean. All aspects of the booking, check-in and departure processes were friendly quick and efficient. While the dining room is very elegant with great views onto the beautiful South facing garden, we opted to dine in the bar, in comfortable booths, which had a brighter and more lively feel in mid-Winter. Both dinner and especially breakfast were great, with plenty of choice and well prepared food. The Staff were all friendly and efficient. Next time we go to Hay on Wye book hunting, we shall plan to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
anne b wrote a review Nov 2021
Leicester, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights and were not impressed at all. We paid £150 per night (including an additional sum above the standard rate for our dogs) - fingers crossed that this extra money was used to clean the room properly for the next guest! Our room was expensive, small and dirty. It was obvious that the room had not had a thorough clean for a long time as it had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and dirt in the corners of the bathroom! The cooked breakfast was fine however the cereals, pastries and cheeses were very basic. The “fresh” fruit was from a tin! We ate dinner in the bar on our first evening (because of our dogs) and our waitress was friendly and helpful but the bar was chilly and almost deserted. The food was ok. All in all, the staff were friendly and made a fuss of our dogs but the hotel was very poor value for money and we wouldn’t stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Swan Hay, General Manager at The Swan at Hay
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review though I am very sorry to read of the negative issues you mentioned. There is no excuse for poor housekeeping but we now have a new team in place who I am sure will not let standards slip. If I may correct you though, you were NOT charged for your dog - this was waived prior to your arrival and our fruit salad is certainly NOT from a tin! Sorry you won't stay with us again but take care and best wishes. Adrian Wilson General Manager
Read more
Bookish 1234 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed for just one night. Very comfortable, well appointed small hotel. Immaculate rooms.Friendly staff and good service. However the food (breakfast for example) was rather so-so and slightly disappointing on this occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
PipperDog wrote a review Oct 2021
Santa Cruz, California131 contributions82 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the “out buildings”. Our room was clean and comfortable, maybe a little small, and maybe a little worn. Breakfast was good, and the staff were helpful. The hotel is in a great location to explore the town, and to walk around the river. Overall it was a very good stay, and very good value.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$112 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the swan at hay hotel hay-on-wye, swan at hay on wye, swan at hay hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPowysHay-on-Wye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan at Hay
Which popular attractions are close to The Swan at Hay?
Nearby attractions include Eirian Studio Glass (0.2 km), Booth's Bookshop (0.3 km), and Hay-on-Wye Thursday Market Day (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Swan at Hay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Swan at Hay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Swan at Hay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Swan at Hay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chapters Restaurant, Tomatitos Tapas Bar, and Three Tuns.
Is The Swan at Hay located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Hay-on-Wye.
Are pets allowed at The Swan at Hay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Swan at Hay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Swan at Hay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hay Castle (0.3 km), Church of St Peter and St Paul (6.7 km), and Clifford Castle (3.8 km).
Is The Swan at Hay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.