We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,042 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,035: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 3 May 2015

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel was. Our room was very nice with a separate living area and a lovely large bedroom. Very clean and the coffee and tea facilities were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal and breakfast both were really good. We would definetely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LittleWeedUk
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Nottingham UK
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Stayed for one night at the end of April, for just bed and breakfast. All the staff are very friendly, helpful and obliging. The whole hotel although the furnishings are a little tired is very clean and comfortable.We had a good sized room, with a comfortable bed. It's just a few minutes walk to the dome, pavilion and opera house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_diver100uk
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Could not fault anything with this hotel. Room was good, staff were very good. Had breakfast here but no other meals. Car park is very small but can park on the road just outside the hotel. It is just a few minutes walk to restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We decided to hold our annual conference for 2015 in Buxton and chose The Lee Wood Hotel both to hold the conference and stay at. It was a very good choice. The staff are excellent. Friendly and helpful. I would particularly like to mention Rebecca and Jade. Their help and support were invaluable. Nothing was too much for them. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil W
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

UK
Reviewed 26 April 2015

The fact that we were the only couple in the restaurant for Sunday lunch gave some cause for concern, heightened by the fact that one waitress said she hadn't been there long. We had the Sunday lunch menu: my wife had a small and very average-looking prawn cocktail, while I had salmon with beetroot. The latter was disappointing in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lonelygoat
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to see we did not meet your expectations with us for your Sunday lunch last week. I have spoken to the team member whom was your waitress and she has mentioned that she spoke at length with you but at no point did you mention that you were...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Due to a cock up by the Palace hotel we were transferred to the Lee Wood Hotel. What a result! The staff are great and really helpful, the food is lovely and the room was wonderful. Will definitely be staying here again, absolutely loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Many Thanks Rebecca Rose

Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from a family celebration at the Lee Wood Hotel and have been very impressed by the friendly staff and the quality of the food. We booked a number of rooms and all were of a good quality and presented well. We ate in the conservatory and were made very welcome by the staff and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Many Thanks Rebecca Rose

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Arrived late and managed to get a room in the Annex. The staff were most helpful and interested in our travels. I would recommend this although not cheap it is comfortable. Breakfast is very generous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stan K
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Many Thanks Rebecca Rose

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2015

A really good place to stay in Buxton, I stayed here for a number of weeks over the summer in 2014 and found it very pleasant. The hotel is quite old fashioned and the rooms are interesting with a bit of character but maintained to a high standard. Staff were very helpful each week and both breakfast and dinner in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pmr5292
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose

Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

We got there & checked in. Got to our room & weren't happy with it!! Asked reception if we could change to another one! Without any hesitation the girl got up got key for another room showed it to us! We liked that one! Few mins later receptionist rang us to make sure all is well!! All through our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments onto our entire team who always love to hear back from happy residents. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (22)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin or Double (18)
Viewed
Executive (19)
Viewed
Executive Double (11)
Viewed
Family Room (14)
Viewed
Front Facing Double (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.4 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,215 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#2 of 9 in Buxton
958 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
17.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
346 reviews
24.7 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Price Range: $123 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, SpeedyBooker.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Roseville, California
5 months ago
Grand Prairie, Texas
6 months ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Norwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles peterthetraveller98, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Location as we live in Derbyshire.”
 of 5 bubbles 53cassyt, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel is by Manchester Road which is busier than the fron (Park Road) although still not particularly noisy at night.”
 of 5 bubbles vernewood, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms in main building.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyN450, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“See review. If hills are an issue approach and park from the A5004. Parking on the grounds is at a premium when hotel full.”
 of 5 bubbles beedeeeye, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay