We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lismore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Lismore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Bed was nice, 4-poster, but the overall hotel was dark looking, corridors had lots of "stuff" including a mattress in them. Breakfast was okay but the service was almost creepy as the lady had one of those permanent smiles that showed she was more scared than I was!!

Helpful?
Thank Ray B
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for your comments the building is well over 100 years old with high cellins not like a travel lodge, The hotel lights go with the building it is well lit with 7 chandlers but it does not suit bright light. As for my waitress they cannot do right for wrong they smile you do not like they not smile... More 

Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

It's amazing that someone can run a business and not give a crap about the quality of service and the state of the rooms, how their customers feel or to make anyone welcome! Our room absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke, had no smoke alarm, the bed was appalling and neither of us slept at all! The curtains hung off the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank philippakaye2016
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

Well the room is and was ok room very clean you were fine until i told you dogs were not allowed on the ground floor.You wanted to bring the dogs to have B/fast with you, we don't want dogs in the restaurant and i am 100% sure other guest don't want them sniffing around, as on check in you didn't... More 

Travellers are raving about these Banbury hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice welcome, chalet was clean and well laid out, housekeeping excellent, went out for dinner so can't comment on food, lovely building and lovely town. Would use again. The hotel is conveniently located near the lovely town of Banbury where there's a abundant array of shops, pubs, restaurants and even a market. The canal's especially lovely with the river... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The only up side was could park car outside your own door and location was good for town centre. The downside was no breakfast included in £80 a night stay room small and hot water luke warm Only saw 1 member of staff who wasn't very helpful and looked like didn't want to be there

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

all our rooms are sold room only you can book b/fast on line or on arrival it says it on all the booking sites and the price was the rate. You could have booked a single room for £65.00 but you booked a double for single. Yes we only had 1 person working as we cannot staff for all our... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

My room was absolutely filthy, stains on toilet, dirty shower and tiles behind the sink, the bathroom floor was dirty and my single bed was uncomfortable with a blanket with stains on. There was a sign on the wall to dial 0 for reception but no phone! The kettle was on the floor. The windowsills had dirt and mould on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I was booked here for 6 nights for business and wanted to cancel the remainder of my stay after the first 2 nights. I called to ask if I could cancel from the following day as I appreciated that it was too short notice to cancel my stay that evening. I spoke to an extremely rude man called Paul who... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Hannah S
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

I can understand you being upset and saying i was rude because you didn't get your way. We have a cancellation policy as all hotels do as we have to fill our rooms. If had said to you on your first night sorry i have sold your room for more money and a longer duration that would not be acceptable.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Recently received an email confirmation of my stay, which we had cancelled before our trip. Spoke to the owner who was very unhelpful when phoned to question this!!! Customer service was non existent. If hotel is like the owner glad I'm not staying!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

We cannot cancel the rooms as you came through a agent that is what i told you and all i told you, if you don't cancel through your booker you will be charged its all in your confirmation.What's unhelpful about that i would say sound advice maybe not what you want to hear but you made the booking not us. More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Unhygienic. Carpets so old, they stink of the years of tobacco smoke. Junk in the hallway. Furniture and fittings from 70's/80's or older, and broken. The geezer who runs the place was rude when the room door slammed which shows bad maintenance since he should've adjust the door spring to close gently in the first place! And he charged £90... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank durianwool2
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

i have been waiting for this the fire place is over a 100 years old bit like you the carpet is a new carpet fitted 4 weeks ago the room was full decorated 6 weeks ago, I advised your mate not to stay in hotels like mine go to a travel lodge and he said we normally stay at travel... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016

i was met by rude and blunt receptionist, only interested in getting payment for room at £70 excluding breakfast. Room very small, shower broken, light from out side flashing in room. Would not stay there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank ShazR50
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

The LED lights at the front of the hotel are only on untill 10.30 latest we do not include bfast in our internet price sorry if we didnt tickle your tummy on arrival, We take the payment on arrival as so many cards do not autherise but unlike the bigger hotel who charge you when you book and do not... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I've read some really bad reviews for this hotel but, bearing in mind the price, it is good value. The man who checked us in was welcoming. Our room was enormous and though the 4 poster bed creaked, it was beautifully made up, the linen smelled really fresh and everything was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was tired agreed but there... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsC62

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
223 reviews
0.8 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are undergoing a full and total refurbishment of all Bedrooms and bathrooms, Restaurant and bar. The project should be finished by early new year we will still be open with no disruption to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lismore Hotel

Address: 61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $113 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lismore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Lismore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismore Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere, anywhere else!!”
 of 5 bubbles philippakaye2016, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there are any good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles K4714QOlindam, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Move one - sleep in your car is better than paying for this piece of run-down relic.”
 of 5 bubbles durianwool2, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“dont get a single unless you're really on a budget - no ensuite and cold in winter. Mouldy socks under bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Rosa327, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The best rooms are the annex rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mandysquire779, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay