We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

805 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 782: English reviews
Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2015

The hotel was great and full of old world character. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were a good size and well appointed, breakfast was plentiful with "hot" cooked food and the hotel was ideally locaTed for our visit to Banbury. The only downside was that the public areas of the building are looking a little rough round the edges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamandsuef
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay here with us. I am especially pleased to read how helpful you found the team here and of course your accommodation and breakfast. I understand your comments about some of the public areas and can assure you that this is being addressed as part of our ongoing...

Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

For the price of the room it was extremely dated and even though the hotel was absolutely dead, we had a room that overlooked the carpark and the scaffolding, meaning the builders could see right into the room. Had booked into the restaurant but upon arrival decided to and eat out. Ok for one night but wouldn't have wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaurelBH
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all thank you for your booking and for taking the time to let us know about your experience after your stay at the Mercure Banbury Whateley Hall. I am really sorry to read about the unfortunate room allocation. Yes there is a property reconstruction next door and we do our best to allocate guests far from...

Reading, Berkshire
Reviewed 21 January 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cybertraveller_7
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 19 January 2015

Stayed one night on Friday under my wife's name Morgan and the location couldn't be better. The building and interior was charming, however the room was a little tired. The lights were so low powered, that we had to ask for an extra desk light. Apparently, I was told, they cannot source brighter ones and then that it was company...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after staying with us. In particular thank you for highlighting the great service you received from James, I will be certain to pass on your kind words to him. Of course I am sorry to read, but fully understand what you say regarding the lighting in...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 14 January 2015

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for one night in December. We had asked for an executive room, as there are 3 of us, and were given what was actually 2 rooms (Room 52) on the top floor of the original building. The main room was huge, and the double bed was enough for the 3 of us, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vickykksa
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay here with us in December. I am very pleased that I managed to answer your questions prior to your arrival and you persuaded your husband to come and stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and a peaceful nights rest!!. Naturally I...

Uley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2015

For something different this year we booked into this ancient coaching inn as part of the Killing Game's murder mystery package. The staff on reception and in the bar were very friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. The 3 course meal in the evening (pre-ordered from a choice of three options for each course) was delicious and served...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisA1957
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us this year to celebrate New Years Eve. I am very pleased to read how friendly you found our team here and I will be certain to pass on your very kind comments to them. It is also great to hear how much you enjoyed your meals here although...

somerset uk
Reviewed 5 January 2015

The hotel is situated near the market cross. It is centrally located and very convenient for shopping, pubs and restaurants. The building is beautiful.. Cotswold stone. To the rear there is a very ordinary extension and carpark. Our room, number 78, was in the extension, overlooking the gardens- which would be lovely in the Spring and Summer. The beds were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nikki E
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you found our beds comfortable but do apologise for any disturbance caused by other guests. I will certainly ask our engineer to look at both the curtains and TV to see what we...

Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night wuth my daughter. Extremely attentive staff. Fabulous food. Phoned hotel to book best available rate and booked a dbb rate of £106 for a twin room. Incredible value. Dinner was worthy of 5 stars. Wonderful flavours and beautifully presented. Breakfast was a treat. We both had eggs benedict which were gorgeous. Our room was lovely. Rstful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, A big thank you to you from myself and all of the team here at Mercure Whately Hall for your great review follwoing your stay with us. I am especially pleased to read your kind words regarding the team we have here and the meals that you enjoyed. I am glad to read your recommendation to others as...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We had a wonderful Christmas at this hotel ,and would not hesitate to stay again,the staff exceptional,could not do enough to make it special!nothing seemed to much trouble! Some may call it shabby we call character!it was very nice and clean,lovely comfortable bed and the bathroom was spotless. The food was amazing ,even though it was busy, well done chief!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jude045
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I am so glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us over the festive period, I will be certain to pass on your very kind words to all of the team who made it happen. In particular the Chef and his team you will be overjoyed to read your lovely comments about the meals. Once...

London
Reviewed 2 January 2015

The staff are charming, but my one-night stay in Room 86 at the end of December 2014 was enough to dissuade me from visiting this hotel again. For a start, the lighting in the bedroom was so dim as to be ridiculous. Expecting guests who’re paying £99 for a night’s stay to put up with the miserable light from 9W...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daruched
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Banbury Whately Hall, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is...

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
496 reviews
5.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
388 reviews
8.9 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If its hot, look for a fan ASAP!”
 of 5 bubbles domenequed, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room overlooking garden”
 of 5 bubbles poppyblue771, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“pay a little more for a suite”
 of 5 bubbles theblueboyy, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go into what they call the new wing corridors and rooms very cold”
 of 5 bubbles 659MichaelB659, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden Suite rooms at rear are very quiet, but a walk from reception.”
 of 5 bubbles ianofsec, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay