We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Hotels.comUS$70*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2014

A really charming hotel, loads of character and an Olde style. Excellent location, very central. Very comfortable room, clean and fresh and very spacious, perfect for a weekend break. Breakfast was wonderful, all freshly prepared to taste. I can recommend Eggs Benedict. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. On the downsidem the bar needs a shot of atmosphere,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. I really appreciate your 5 out of 5 review follwoing your stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am very happy to read how much you enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast and in particular your lovely comments regarding the team. I note what you say about our bar and will certainly have a look at...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Stayed in room 50 in the old section on the second floor for a couple of nights the second of which coincided with a wedding the reception for which was held in the room just below us. This is a very nice hotel with comfortable and well appointed rooms although if you are requiring double glazing you will be disappointed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your 5 out of 5 review following your recent stay here. I am very happy to read how happy you were with your stay here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I understand your comments regarding the double glazing and this is hopefully something we will be able to address. Should you choose to come and...

Reviewed 28 October 2014

This is a rather small hotel with a lot of charm. The staff is helpful and accommodating. We checked in after our non-stop flight included a 4 hr layover at JFK after being diverted after control panel issues on our plane. There were 2 weddings going on at our hotel with many guests staying over and filling the hotel, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Connie B
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review your stay here. I am really happy to read your lovely comments regarding the team here. Naturally I am disppointed to see that you did not sleep well due to the mattress. We recently replaced most of our mattresses and are continuing to do so. I hope...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I checked into the hotel on a day when I had forgotten my wallet!! No credit cards but luckily I had paid for the stay in advance or so I thought! When checking in I found to my dismay that the booking was for the next weekend by mistake but the staff at the reception was kind enough to change...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nomadBangalore
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very happy to read that what could have turned into problem was quickly sorted out by the team here and that it did not impact on you having a great stay with us. I am glad that you found your accommodation comfortable and that, as you note, we are in a great location in Banbury. I...

Reviewed 14 October 2014

I stayed in this hotel on the 11/10/14 in an executive room. The room was of an excellent standard and was large and very clean and well presented and furnished. The bathroom was also large and well equiped with everything you could need from body lotion to heated towel rail. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so pleased to read your 5 out 5 review following your stay with us here at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable room and I will be certain to pass on your kind comments regarding the hotel Team to them as it very important for the them...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Have just com back from a weekend break at this hotel. It's is in a great location so we did not need the car all weekend which is a nice change. It is a lovely old place but looks a bit tried in places . Our room was ok but I think the heating is on a time so felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 567janetc
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay with us. I am happy to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your comments regarding the decoration and am pleased to say work commences at the end of this month on more decoration. I am sorry that the room was...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times over the past couple of months and in many ways it is ideally placed but it has to be said that the place suffers from chronic under investment. Yes it's an old building which brings with it quirky corridors and odd shaped rooms but that's no excuse for drab decor and poor lighting in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martinw034
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dea Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post you comments following your stays with us. I am very happy to read your kind words about the team we have here and that you enjoy the food that we serve. I understand and can only agree with your comments regarding the decoration of some of the bedrooms, we have...

Banbury
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Afternoon tea as a birthday treat gift from friends: very pleasant. Felt very personal: our places were set ready for our arrival and we were greated with a glass of Prosecco. Delicious sandwiches, cakes and scones in a relaxing setting with attentive service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wheeley64
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your 5 out of 5 review for the Afternoon Tea you took with us. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us and received such good service and a delicious Afternoon Tea. Once again many thanks and I hope to have the pleaure of welcoming you...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Our two night stay at the what looked like a very stylish traditional hotel was completely ruined with the church bell's opposite the hotel ringing every 15 minutes day and night throughout the stay. Unfortunately the traditional rooms have only secondary glassing which is not sound proof hence very little sleep. The hotel is in a very central location but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BOB W
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thank you for posting your comments following your stay here and naturally I am very sorry to hear about how disturbed your stay was due to the Church Bells. I am not sure if we were unable to move your rooms if you requested a move or not to a quieter part of the hotel, if you...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

Whatley Hall was very nice it was quiet dispite there being a wedding reception on the grounds. The room was large and well laid out and the bed was very big but that came from two singles being pushed together, on first glance the room was clean, but then the cracks started to show, firstly the windows hadn't been cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall. I am very happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room which is clearly unacceptable and I am very...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
8.9 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
5.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $110 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms facing the main road - regrettably that means some of these in the hall”
Dwatkinsuk, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a quieter room at the back overlooking their lovely garden.”
sheppard-andy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“second Floor New building”
rocketron, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the new block have a lot of corridors and fire doors to be negotiated to get back to the front of the hotel.”
F1072JBdavida, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the newer part of the building and was very quiet”
Shirbaz, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$70* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$100
Orbitz.comUS$70
MercureUS$70
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates