We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 513: English reviews
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We were signed in promptly and politely on the Friday. We were allocated a ground floor room beside a marque where a wedding was going on. Room clean and very comfortable. The bed especially, as always with Old English Inns. Later in the afternoon my husband heard that a disco was going on until 11.30 p.m Which we were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Maureen. We are so glad that you enjoyed your break in Banbury at the Cromwell Lodge, and that you found our staff to be welcoming and attentive. They will be most thrilled to hear your comments.

Carlton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Where Not To Stay In Banbury!! We were attending a very special Yamaha Piano & Keyboard Launch event at Wroxton Hotel in Oxfordshire but due to our late booking for the event they had no rooms left so we chose to stay (thankfully for one night only!) in the nearby ‘Cromwell Lodge Hotel’ Our experience was so dreadful that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nessapiano
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

I’m sorry that you were disappointed during your recent stay here. Thank you for bringing to our attention several specific concerns with your room; in an effort to rectify these issues we have put the room out of service to carry out necessary maintenance work. I do hope that you will give us an opportunity in the future to provide...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Nice hotel in an ideal location for exploring the midlands. Stayed for a weekend with friends. Reception and check-in/out was fast and efficient, and the room was clean and well presented, if in need of a little updating. The bed however was very comfortable. Service at breakfast was slow, probably due to a lack of staff, but the food when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review John. We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend break at the Cromwell Lodge, and had a comfortable night’s sleep and enjoyable breakfast. We hope you will book with us again soon.

Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

Tiny poky room, nowhere to hang clothes. Noisy radiator in the middle of the night. Tatty old furniture in bedroom, bathroom small but clean. Public rooms are fine but they are not matched by the bedrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank balanceddiet
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

I apologise that you were disappointed by your bedroom during your recent visit. We do take feedback seriously and welcome comments from guests so that we can plan our maintenance accordingly. We hope to welcome you back at the Cromwell Lodge soon.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

If you are looking for relaxed, calm and enjoyable environment then this ISNT the place for you. The venue itself is beautiful with an traditional feel attached to it, however the attitude of the staff and the manager herself leads me to question why anyone would choose to spend a single minute of their time there. First hand experience with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra R
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

I’m disappointed that your event at the Cromwell Lodge was not as successful as planned. We would appreciate if you could give us a call directly to discuss this further 01295 259781.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We live locally, so can't comment on the rooms. However we do eat here on a regular basis as the prices are reasonable and the food well prepared. We particularly like the fish and chips and the soup of the day, which has never disappointed. It's dog friendly and also has a lovely safe enclosed garden. We recently held our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so glad you have enjoyed dining with us for 22 years! Our waiting and kitchen staff are so happy to hear your feedback with regards to the food and service you have received over the years and during your son's birthday party recently. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Well, on the outside it looks great and parts of it are inside, but I have stayed here a few times, over the years, and its rooms are really on adequate and often too noisy, if you face the road or are above the bar. So my suggestion is always say, ''Quiet room, away from bar and road and NOT...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona R
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our historic building but we are disappointed to hear that some elements of your stay were unsatisfactory. Should you stay with us again we will do our utmost to allocate you a room located at the rear of the property, well away from any street or bar noise....

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

The young hard working team made our weekend. This classic building is charming. Our group dinner was well presented. The wine served was excellent and good value. We had a room on the top floor, which would have been difficult for those lacking mobility, but the hotel has ground floor rooms for guests who need them

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing comments. We are proud of our historic building and we are glad that you enjoyed its charms during your recent stay with us. I’m also happy to hear that you were impressed with the food, wine and service in our restaurant. Thank you for highlighting our ground-floor rooms which are more easily accessible for guests...

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

we spent four nights at the lodge in Banbury we had a very pleasant stay the lodge is situated in a prime spot a 100 yard walk and you are in the town the food in the lodge was very good a nice selection cooked and presented well the only complaint our room although spotlessly clean could have done with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weller544
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for your lovely feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your food and room and the Cromwell Lodge’s location whilst here with us on your short break. We are disappointed that you found your room’s décor not to be up to standard and we will use this feedback to inform our ongoing maintenance plan

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Nice hotel... although it is extremely dated, the rooms are all on a slant, Its pot look on the type of room you.... if you are near the kitche be prepared for 11pm music and a 6am musical wake up from the chefs. ALthough most fo the staff are nice.... they are shockingly untrained; An Example... I had to tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R S
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this useful feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay, in particular your breakfast, at the Cromwell Lodge hotel. I apologise that you were disturbed by noise during your stay – this point has been raised to our kitchen staff and we will be paying closer attention to noise levels...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
413 reviews
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
 of 5 bubbles WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms available for those with mobility issues who cannot manage stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles patw523, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the room over the function room or bar”
 of 5 bubbles 41lesg, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No wifi worked not suitable for business”
 of 5 bubbles Lainie-Bramerton, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 15”
 of 5 bubbles jimhI4082SW, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5