We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salcombe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments
 Click to rate
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I absolutely love the Sunny Cliff Apartments - laid back beach chic! The location is perfect and the view - well what can I say?! Stunning views over the estuary and out to sea. The place just makes you happy 😀 And they love dogs!! Parking is also a big bonus in busy Salcombe. I've never had a problem booking,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
oliver m, Manager at The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much Julia F for your review, we love to hear from our guests with their comments and constructive suggestions too, It all helps us. We are pleased to be able to let you know that Smugglers Cove is scheduled for refurbishment, nest week in fact. We really hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This is not a member of the hospitality trade but rather a property letting business, and a rather hard-nosed, poorly run one at that. So don't expect the courtesies that I expect when I see the word "hotel". Room servicing, if required, is extra and you are required to strip your beds and empty the bins at the end of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAJMcK
oliver m, Manager at The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that you feel unhappy. This is very unusual as you will see from all our other reviews which are quite to the contrary. It seems you have misunderstood what we offer, which is a great shame. For the record we accept all credit and debit cards with the exception of Amex. We always encourage our guests...

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the gorgeous Beach Suite for 2 nights. It was perfect for what we needed - a studio apartment with a living area, kitchen area, bed and bathroom. Decorated in a lovely style with absolutely beautiful views of the estuary with nice outdoor chairs to sit in and we were lucky enough to be able to enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HMoiz
oliver m, Manager at The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We love Trip Advisor, and when we get great reviews like yours it helps reward all our hard work behind the scenes here.

Cranham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Interesting place. Oli the nanager upgraded us to an apartment with stunning views. The pool was not ready and the gardens were just tidy. We felt that they really needed more staff.I felt sorry for Oli.The rooms were immaculate.The weather was stunning and to top it all my now husband proposed to me in Hope cove

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hillcrest1996
oliver m, Manager at The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Congratulations! And thank you for your belated review. You will be pleased to hear that we now have reinforced our staffing arrangements in what has been a very busy summer. Best wishes to you for the future & we would love to see you again!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Had a fantastic couple of days with our little one and dog in one of the apartments. The view and location was excellent and a perfect set up for a dog and baby which is not always easy. Could not recommend it more highly and look forward to our next trip there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roryodell
oliver m, Manager at The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. We do try hard to make a short stay relaxing (for all the family), August is our busiest month and tests our standards to the full. So pleased we made your stay so good. We look forward to your next visit too, from all of us here!

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We luckily stumbled across the apartments late Friday evening with 7 of us looking for somewhere to stay due to problems with our original booked accomodation. Thankfully a 3 bedroom apartment was available. It was immaculate. Lovely and spacious with the most amazing views. It has all the facilities you could possibly need with parking included. Only a 5 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
oliver m, Manager at The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Sarah, thank you so much for writing this review, 'so glad we has a spare apartment for you and your group. We think the views are pretty special too. Please do come and see us again, we look forward to making you most welcome.

Lewes, UK
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed on a room only basis. The room was exceptionally clean. The view was fantastic. The room was not serviced every day. In that respect more akin to their self-catering flats. Sunny cliff has lovely shared areas inside - beautiful lounge and breakfast room and a really lovely heated outdoor pool with a view down the river to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoppetlewes
oliver m, Manager at The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we are always so happy when our guests tell us that their stay has been lovely, as you may have guessed we run the Sunnycliff as a home from home. You would be most welcome here at any time in the future.

London
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We were staying in the Cuckoo's Nest apartment but only using one of the ensuite bedrooms and the living area and kitchen for £175 per night. It has two more bedrooms if you are a group of six people. The apartment also has a large balcony with wonderful views over the estuary. Sunny Cliff was perfectly positioned for us, being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LillianLondon
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Our second visit staying at Puffins Place at the Sunny Cliff apartments. We enjoyed so much the first time we ventured back and even better the second time.. Fabulous views from the apartment ie watching the full moon gleaming over the estuary (Ria)at night and by day watching the life of the river glide by. Fab apartment with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finediner888
Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We originally booked the Smuggler's Cover studio apartment as there were only two of us staying for three nights. When we arrived and were chatting to Oliver, the very friendly Manager and he found out that the stay was actually an early 60th birthday present for me, he immediately suggested he upgrade us to the Beach Suite at no extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
oliver m, Manager at The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we all appreciate how much our guests enjoy the Sunnycliff. Hoping your 60th was special, the Sunnycliff Team x

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
0.5 km away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.3 km away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
711 reviews
1.0 km away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
384 reviews
6.3 km away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
160 reviews
19.8 km away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perched on a cliff overlooking the Salcombe Harbour, this hotel with apartments is a 9-minute walk from the Salcombe North Sands beach and a 10-minute walk from the East Portlemouth ferry. Bright rooms with harbour views have complimentary WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee making equipment. Suites add balconies, DVD players and lounge areas. Apartments offer balconies and up to 3 bedrooms, plus kitchens or kitchenettes. There's a 2-night minimum booking for all accommodations. Organic cooked breakfast is available in a restaurant. Other amenities include free parking, patio seating, BBQs and a heated outdoor pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments

Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Puffins Place which is situated on ground floor and fab views and location.”
 of 5 bubbles Finediner888, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have views of Salcombe harbour/esturary”
 of 5 bubbles 296SueR296, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles cherylmU254HK, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Over look the estuary”
 of 5 bubbles boarder_12, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“They sll have wonderful views.”
 of 5 bubbles Finediner888, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5