We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Save
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (9)
Ratings and reviews
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“market square”(29 reviews)
“old building”(32 reviews)
“night porter”(12 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
Meeting Rooms
3 Star Hotel
This 17th-century coaching inn is in Oakham town centre, in the old market square. It has free parking and original features, including real log fires and ancient oak beams. The Brook Whipper-In Hotel is a traditional country hotel. It is less than 500 metres from Oakham Rail Station...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6DT, England
44.3 km to East Midlands Airport
48 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
161
214
95
53
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
161
214
95
53
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket squareold buildingnight porterlovely old hotelrutland watercurryfriendly hotelfriendly receptionistcreaking floorboardslots of characterfour posterpublic areastwo night staycooked breakfastwarm welcomelarge roomtown centre
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had afternoon tea for 8 adults and 2 children.Booked over phone with manager.explained 1 vegetarian and a diabetic.No problem food was tailored to suit. Really good price prosecco inluded and fantastic service from barman who also served afternoon tea(sorry cant remember name).Very quite sunday in...More

1  Thank rutland-7
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear rutland7 We are delighted that you all had such a wonderful and enjoyable afternoon with us and that Afternoon Tea was the perfect excuse for you all to sit, rest and enjoy each other’s company . Chef will be delighted that , everything from...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay to visit Rutland Water and the lovely old market town of Oakham. The hotel is in the centre of town, and has friendly and welcoming staff. Our room was huge with two comfy armchairs and a king size bed....More

Thank bluefrog147
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear blueftog147 We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Oakham and thank you for your positive feedback today. We are sorry that your booking details regarding breakfast did not match those on our system and can only suggest...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

You've all heard of the Fawlty Towers Hotel well we stayed there. We had booked a weekend way for my husbands birthday and our friends anniversary. When ever I book any accommodation I have two things I always ask. Do you have any ground floor...More

1  Thank Mars46
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mars46 We can only apologise that you were not happy with the facilities available to you at the Brook Whipper-In Hotel. The reception team is usually very clear about the accessibility of the rooms and bathrooms and we are sorry that on arrival you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped over in this hotel on the way down to Essex. It was a very hot day, the receptionist was very unfriendly & unhelpful. I heard her complaining loudly about being short staffed - anyone could hear her. It was a shame to have...More

1  Thank jackie1059
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear jackie1059 We are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In Hotel and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your concerns. I have noted your feedback and will run through all aspects...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Brook Whipper-In Hotel for dinner. First impressions were, a period property, good ambience,clean, but slightly tired. The Starters and Mains were well prepared, presented, and very flavoursome. Wine prices were reasonable, and good quality. Staff were friendly and helpful, therefore we will certainly...More

Thank AndyMcCutcheon
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AndyMcCutcheon Thank you for choosing to dine with us and for your lovely review today. I will, of course , pass your kind words on to Chef to share with his kitchen and the restaurant team and please let us know if you have...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room Service
Wheelchair Access
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$78 - US$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$78 - US$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (9)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Louise G
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from samummat2017 | Property representative |
Every room has newly acquired irons and ironing boards
0
Votes
LindaHL6443OU
16 June 2017|
Answer
Response from EssexYvonne | Reviewed this property |
There is only one room that does not have en suite. They will tell you this, but just ask for en suite
1
Vote
Sabrina E
30 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from niknak195 | Reviewed this property |
Our room was up a flight of stairs with no lift access
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try out Belvoir Room with it's four poster"
Read review
"Best hotel with friendly helpful staff"
Read review
"Book early"
Read review
"Go for a ground level room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing