We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Panoramas (27)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,448: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
 Click to rate
Saint-Guen, France
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have previously had breaks in Macdonald complexes. Admittedly the last one was about ten years ago. We expected what we paid for. We booked a two night break at this hotel in the New Forest to end our all too brief trip to England. It was expensive £464 for two nights, 2 adults and one child. Our arrival was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline b
New Forest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very relaxed breakfast room,man sat in his bath robe enjoying his breakfast.Called in for morning coffee,very nice,served by friendly staff with a shortbread biscuit.The room was sadly in need of refurbishment with a couple of huge wasps flying about and many cobwebs up on the triangular windows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
Surrey
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed in many MacDonald Hotels around the UK and found them to be really good in terms of overall experience. However the Elmers Court was a disappointment to us. Do not expect to stay in the Manor House which dominates the advertising and brochure as rooms are separated from the main building in chalet style blocks. Ours was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peroni_Lad
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were disappointed with our stay, grossly overpriced and definitely not 5 star. The room was spacious and comfortable but spoiled by the noise of people moving about in the room upstairs, not rowdy drunks just normal foot fall. The next issue was the dangerous over bath shower, totally unacceptable at this price. The excuse that it covers those who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
David K, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear David G, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us recently, clearly I was disappointed to read that your stay was anything less than perfect. You raise a valid point that we are not a 5 star property and neither do we market ourselves as such, I do apologise if...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel enjoys beautiful grounds. The main hotel is a delight with everything you would hope for. The swimming pool and changing rooms are clean and staff are very curtious. We stayed in a suite, removed from the main hotel. This was well decorated and very comfortable. However the hotel is a strange mix. One hand it's a manor house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank truecelt
David K, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Truecelt, Thank you for your balanced review of Elmers Court following your recent stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the team regarding the cleanliness and courteous nature of the staff here, thank you. we do market ourselves as a resort and do all we can to inform the wide range of guests that we entertain of...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

booked a 2 bed apartment which to be fair was a great size. the beds were too short!! my feet literally were off the bed and im just 5'7 in height. meant to stay for 2 nights but came home back to london the night before as we missed our home. lol. the Hotel is ok, the grounds is beaufitul...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
United kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a wedding paid £150 for a room with breakfast was expecting to stay in the house which is very old and historic but was disappointed to find out our room was in a butlins style chalet very basic considering the price breakfast was ok but understaffed so long wait for tea and toast which strangely was made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
David K, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sara H, Thank you for review of Elmers Court following your recent stay for a wedding. We feel that we do as much as we can to inform our guests prior to arrival that our hotel rooms are not in the manor house, we market ourselves as a resort and our purpose built courtyard rooms are very popular so...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed here using Tesco Club Card points. When i looked on line a room was about £140 per night. However, through Tesco we were only able to book a 'Feature' room which cost us £270 per night! Obviously, with club card points we didn't pay that sum. This room was quite large and well appointed but nothing particularly special....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuartmcl60
David K, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stuartmc160, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you made the most of you Tesco points, it's a great offer isn't it? I am also pleased you mention that great, waterfront location that we have, we are among a very limited number o hotels in the South that can boast a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's difficult to pin down a review for this Hotel because it actually has the ingredients to be an outstanding success, yet it left me quite disappointed. The Hotel is set in beautiful surroundings in Lymington, a charming Tudor main building with rooms. There are apartments,rooms the Spa and restaurant dotted around the complex . We were staying with 2...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Riz M
David K, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Riz M, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that your stay fell short of expectations, clearly this is never our intention. The Steak Club is a group wide restaurant brand and Im sorry that you felt this was not upto standard. The steaks that we serve are among the...

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been to this hotel several years ago and had such a lovely relaxing stay with my daughter I decided to treat all the family (8 of us in total - ranging from 23-81) to a return visit to celebrate my 50th birthday and my sons 24th birthday. I must admit I didn't read any reviews before booking as I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
Jonathan D, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lesley S Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel following your stay with us to celebrate your family birthdays. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the service from Anthony and the team, and your room. I appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you...

768 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (486)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
Executive Zip & Link (32)
Viewed
Feature Family (33)
Viewed
Feature Zip & Link (31)
Viewed
Holbein Apartment (59)
Viewed
Manor House Apartment (68)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
West Court Cottage Apartment (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
4.2 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
681 reviews
10.8 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,648 reviews
11.2 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
11.7 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,220 reviews
5.3 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Price Range: $168 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Tring, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid 22a. Noisy neighbor!”
439jacquelineb, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask to stay in the main house”
sarahhT2412KV, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No 7 Suite by the steak-club is so convenient for the pool, spa.”
819lesleys, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms”
hollieadducci, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from main house, ground floor lacked privacy.”
corao150, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5