We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Angel & Blue Pig

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Angel & Blue Pig
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Angel & Blue Pig
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2015

A weekend away which was a gift from our daughter. The room was large and modern with a balcony and quirky complimentary snacks and nice toiletries. We dined in the restaurant on the Friday evening, both the food and the service were excellent. Breakfast was also delicious. From the minute we arrived we felt very well looked after and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holiday-queen74
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Holiday-queen74" Thank you so much for the fab review and 5 stars, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us expecially on such a nice occasion for you and your husband. We are glad our hard working staff lived up to your expectations and we do hope you pass on the recommendations to your friends. See you...

Reviewed 18 October 2015

Visited for our 1st anniversary at the end of September for 2 nights. Nice location and lovely pub. Unfortunately very noisy on Saturday morning as the market is being set up. We were at the front of the hotel so found that morning an early awakening - though there is not much the hotel can do about that. Biggest gripe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DyanCaroline
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "DyanCaroline" Thanks for the review and indeed the other one on our restaurant. You're right in the fact that the market traders occasionally are a bit sneeky and set up early when they shouldn't however we tried to combat this by installing a secondary layer og glazing on the front windows. For light sleepers, a higher floored room or...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We stayed here for one night and room was a very good size for two adults and one child as was bathroom. Every member of staff we came across was efficient and friendly during our stay aswell as afterwards sending my daughters reading books back to her which she had left in the room. The staff also kindly stored our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerrie h
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "kerrie h" Wow thank you for the 5 stars! We all enjoyed having you and your family with us and the little extras we did such as the bike storage and returning the books are just anything to make your experience better, it is the least we can do! Do recommend us and drop by again in the future!...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

This is a very pleasant little hotel, well, more of classy pub with an excellent restaurant and cosy rooms above. Its well located on the high street and there is good parking behind. Of course I have a couple of niggles, nothing dire and they would not stop me from staying there again. The net curtain in room 7 needs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BradBourne07
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "BradBourne07" Great, thanks for the review and giving us 4 (and a half!) stars. I will pass on the kind words regarding the service standards on to the team, it is important for them to hear when they do things well! I am sorry about the state of the net curtains in room 7, I will see to these...

Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

A great location in lymington for local restaurants and shops. The pub itself was great, good friendly service, great breakfast and evening meal (the steak was fab). The bedroom was great, clean and comfortable. The only area of feedback was the bathroom. Having no Windows it should have had a extractor fan - it didnt with resulting lingering smells and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Ian C" Thanks ever so much for staying with us and for your kind comments on service and food. I apologize for the state of the shower cubicle in room 5. This as it happens is already scheduled to be replaced. We recently had a small refurbishment and that particular job was the last on the list so haste...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Overall experience ok. On checking out we had a sum of £75.00 added to the room for food which was eaten at 2.00 p.m on number where the groom and best man stayed in on Friday. The wedding was at 1.20 in Southampton. When we advised that this was not our bill we were treated like we were telling lies....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Sue M" Thanks for staying with us last weekend however I am really dissapointed that you have taken to the internet to accuse my staff and I of falsifying bills on purpouse. In this case, this was a simple mistake by another guest giving the wrong room name when asking for the bill to be transferred. We keep all...

Reviewed 4 October 2015

Me & my partner booked this accommodation for a 1 night stay as we were attending a wedding nearby. I contacted them in august via email to ask if it was possible if we were able to access our room a little earlier than 2pm as the wedding took place at the same time. I was told they would put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie M
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Kerrie M" Thanks for staying with us and for your thoughts. With regards to early check-ins, we do try our best to accompany as many requests as possible and your booking did note that we would get to your rooms first. On this particular day, 11 of the 14 rooms we had were taken by two wedidng parties, all...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Love history, and place has it all, lovely room, very comfortable and so clean, staff in restaurant and bar most helpful. Lymington, the quay is super and so many different shops. Also it is a lovely area the New Forest. If you like History, then go get your books out, so much to see, so much to explore, get off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kentucky69
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "kentucky69" Wow, great thank you! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are thrilled you enjoyed the lovely surrounding countryside too. Do come back and stay again another itme. Kind regards, Matt E - GM

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

When we arrived there were painters decorating everywhere. So WET PAINT TERRIBLE SMELL OF PAINT. We got it on our hands and clothes. The room was pleasant but no light over the mirror, the toilet seat did not fit and terrible noise from the market, setting up at 5.00a.m in the morning, so windows had to be kept closed. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman A
Matt E, Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Hello Firstly i would like to apologise that the hotel did not meet your standards. We would be very interested in talking to you further either via email or over the phone as we take comments such as this very seriously. please do call us on 01590672050 or email us at info@angel-lymington.com Thank you for your time in advance The...

Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Genuinely clean and comfortable accommodation, bright and clean but maintaining the traditional ambiance. Very central for Lymington, Saturday market right outside front door which was a bonus, Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 90buffy
Matt E, Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Hello 90buffy Thanks for your comments. It's always nice to know we are doing a good job and people are leaving us happy. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team and hopefully if you're in the area again you will stop in to see us. Thanks again The Angel and Blue pig team

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.4 km away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lymington
1,413 reviews
0.8 km away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.5 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
620 reviews
7.5 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
937 reviews
13.3 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of picturesque Lymington, the Angel and Blue Pig dates back to the 13th century when it was a coaching inn. With a homely and welcoming pub atmosphere and featuring 14 newly re-furbished en-suite hotel rooms, "The Angel" is the perfect place to visit. Conveniently situated in the on the coastal boarder of the New Forest National Park,it sits in one of the most beautiful landscapes in the South of England. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel & Blue Pig

Address: 108 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Price Range: $149 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel & Blue Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Lymington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel & Blue Pig staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Andover, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel & Blue Pig staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room overlooked the high street - Christmas lights were lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 389suet, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are well appointed and clean,if u stay Fri night ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the market sets up very early...”
 of 5 bubbles blondfish, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back of hotel are smaller but quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Ems920, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles 49robind, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“So long as you are reasonably fit, ask for the top floor rooms overlooking the street.”
 of 5 bubbles JRD32, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay