We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Newtown House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Newtown House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 245: English reviews
carmarthen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room not clean on arrival, black hairs found on sheets of one bed and dry small blood stains on the sheet on second bed, suspect bedding may not have been changed from last guest. Beds poorly made and bed linen unchanged during stay. Carpet dirty especially under the beds, where hair clips, dust and Condom packet was found!! it remained... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin b
Events1975, General Manager at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apology regarding your recent poor experience whilst staying at the hotel. I have checked with the housekeeping team and whilst the room was cleaned it was not to the normal high standard expected and the matter has been addressed with the staff concerned. As your stay consisted of two nights the room would only have had... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We walked into the hotel by off chance that they were serving Sunday lunch. As luck would have it, they had a table for 2 available. We were served an exquisite 3 course lunch. We eat out a lot, but found this to be the best ever in the area. A nice choice of starters and roasts, with a specials... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken P
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us. We are extremely proud of our Kitchen and Restaurant Teams and are immensely proud of the food our Chefs Create. I really hope that you do visit us again soon. Kindest Regards Newtown House Hotel More 

Ware, Herts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Booked in and was really surprised a really pleasant and lovely hotel, Robert m was very clean, nice laid out and great presentation. Our stay was nice, slept very well in comfortable beds and a really nice shower in the morning. Breakfast was great, all home cooked and to order, lovely dining room and staff were very welcoming, loved this... More 

Helpful?
Thank iainmcg
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor. I have circulated your comments to all of our staff. we really look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The hotel is lovely and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable in particular James the Bar Manager was very helpful and he had a great 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude. Lily served us in the restaurant and she and the food were fantastic. Can't recommend it enough!

Helpful?
Thank lewisbrooker
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel. I have circulated your comments and particularly to the staff member mentioned. your feedback was gratefully received. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

6 of us had roast beef and we were all very disappointed. The beef was very tough and dry. I could not cut through mine or my kids and left it. Yorkshire pud was hard and dry. Wet and soggy broccoli. Shame as it came recommended. I complained and waitress did say she was sorry we had not enjoyed our... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ptj100
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately we don't appear to have a record of you. Would you please contact the hotel to speak to the General Manager about your experience further on 02392 466131. Regards Newtown House Hotel More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Four of us stayed here to attend a family wedding we were given rooms 1 and 2 both rooms were really well appointed our room (1) had a corner bath and a flashing light shower head. Beds were very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and very helpful giving us taxi numbers of a local firm, breakfast was very nice indeed.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian724
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

A friend and I attended a conference near by and booked 2 nights stay at Newton House. We received a warm and inviting welcome from Sharon who turned out to be the receptionist but she does go over and above the call of duty. When we returned late having had no food at out our meeting she offered to make... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Y
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I have passed your comments on to Both Sharon and our General Manager who was very appreciative of your comments. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Newtown House Hotel More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived at 8.15am in the morning, well before the 2pm check in due to us going to a nearby event we needed to collect a key early. The receptionist was more than welcoming and very accommodating and informed us that if the room had been cleaned we were welcome to leave our belongings in it. It had and we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rozbarnden
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to our Staff to ensure they receive your good comments. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Newtown House Hotel More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The steak was excellent and the salmon good although we had to ask for a cajun sauce as it was a little dry. The kale unfortunately was chewy but overall excellent food and good value. Dave, the manager is a good host.

Helpful?
1 Thank Therearesomany
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal here with us. Your comments have been passed to the Kitchen and to our general manager Dave. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Warm Regards Newtown House Hotel. More 

Merseyside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely welcoming Hotel and reasonably priced. Also lovely freshly cooked breakfast. My only request would be that the rooms be checked thoroughly on servicing as the plug in our bath was stuck in, so that we could not use it and we had to move rooms. This caused us some inconvenience and we were late for our evening outing. In... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue K
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments for us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. When you notified us of the issue with the room we were more than happy to move you to a functioning room. Unfortunately we had not been notified previously of the issue with the Plug however this has now been... More 

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
4.3 km away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,449 reviews
6.5 km away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
429 reviews
10.0 km away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
542 reviews
6.5 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newtown House Hotel

Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Price Range: $106 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newtown House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Newtown House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newtown House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Newtown House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See James the bar manager.”
 of 5 bubbles lewisbrooker, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go when there's a function on.”
 of 5 bubbles ewand2014, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't order breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 72stev_s, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not sure as we only visited the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 62RichardP, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if there is a event on in the rear annex. Rooms surround it, could be better to choose a room facing the road.”
 of 5 bubbles pnc80, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay