We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Post Office

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Post Office
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
kent
Level Contributor
510 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I paid £27 and got a tiny room with a sloping roof. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a t.v. As said by a previous report, this is a building with small rooms and not a hotel. Sadly there was no breakfast. There was however free parking behind the building and it is VERY well located for... More 

Helpful?
Thank sabatinitennis
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This is a pub with rooms rather than a traditional hotel and is situated at the edge of the vibrant town centre which has quite lively night life. Small car park (free) behind the property. The pub is midway between the railway station and the bus station. Clean and fairly comfortable bedroom with limited facilities but plenty of hot water.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lancstraveller2000
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Disabled access room?! There is no way a wheelchair could be manouevred around this room. The large chest of drawers behind the bathroom door (see picture) prevented it opening any further.Carparking left a lot to be desired with locals constantly dble parking and blocking you in.Supposed to be free wifi but no password provided,doorstop to room entrance does not provide... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W

Travellers are raving about these Halifax hotels

Hampton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Spent a Saturday night here in a single room when the establishment was fully booked. Room in attic clean and warm, bed linen nice and fresh, had a TV and basin, soap gel towel provided, hot & cold water, velux window in roof for ventilation, didn't need owt else! Good clean kitchen to prepare your own food, never like paying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hamptonbeaver
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The OPO is situated in the centre of Halifax - handy for trains,buses and shops. Access to the bedrooms are by a rear door off the car par, which is a bit impersonal! i booked single occupancy of a double room, which was a good idea having seen the size of the single rooms. The room was clean and tidy.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pidge54
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Well I stayed at the old post office in Halifax this month the staff was really nice and helpful the room I was given was nice and warm lots of room and very clean I would stay here again was perfect for the price every thing was great I would recommend this place to all

Helpful?
Thank kellywaterworth
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Hit, bed sink and tv. no facilities, no kettle, no anything in rooms, no where to put clothes. freezing cold, shabby rooms. shared toilet/shower between several rooms, constant music banging through floor until midnight makes rooms useless bins not emptied at all, one towel never changed, towels and bed smell like mildew. garbage location. this place is the worst place... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
351thomasw, Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Kyle. I am very sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your stay with us. We wasn't aware that you didn't enjoy your stay at the time as none of this was brought to our attention. We have different types of rooms which are different prices.. £25 for a single room with shared bathroom and a shared kitchen with... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

nice b+b ideal for contractors with clean rooms a nice pint and cheap meals, they also provide a well equipped kitchen for there guests to prepare there own food. another good point about this hotel is its location, right in the centre of halifax, near loads of shops.

Helpful?
Thank william g
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

On the wall outside they advertised luxury rooms and bed and breakfast We were met in the bar by a friendly barmaid. Who informed us they didn't do breakfast and she couldn't really recommend anywhere .she gave us the keys and said we had to vacate the room by 10am and if we left before this to put the keys... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank happyeater262
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

I was made to feel welcome from the first second I entered the place. The staff are exceptionally friendly and make you feel more than welcome and in fact with in hours I felt like I had always been here! One issue was a male member of staff I believe named pav. He is far more interested in cleaning, even... More 

Helpful?
Thank deano26575

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.2 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#7 of 10 in Halifax
288 reviews
0.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
0.9 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#8 of 10 in Halifax
176 reviews
2.3 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Halifax
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Address: 55 Winding Road, Halifax HX1 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: $80 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Post Office 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Post Office staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“22 is near the kitchen, 17 next to a toilet, convenient but can be noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles Hamptonbeaver, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 5 if there is a function on.”
 of 5 bubbles Pidge54, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“dont go here!”
 of 5 bubbles 987kyleh, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Not able to”
 of 5 bubbles happyeater262, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a bathroom....only a sink in some rooms! :(”
 of 5 bubbles AGourmetvegetarian, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay