We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wool Merchant Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wool Merchant Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wool Merchant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Newcastle
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

If it were not for the fantastic receptionist this would be a zero star rating. I guess I only have myself to blame as I have stopped here many times over the years because it's convenient so I sort of knew what I was coming to. Each stay has had something wrong with it but now I have had enough....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMW1970
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

room 306 the carpets are dirty and badly stained. no dressing table no chairs when spoke about these things we were told this room was let for workmen but we are two elderly women and disabled. Breakfast well they need to put some fruit out not everybody wants a cooked breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sreid73
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely breakfast, very helpful staff. Nice room and good location. Close to the Minster. Parking across the road was close and easy to access. We had a minor issue with the room but the staff was so helpful and insisted we move to a better room. Excellent customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ravensoak
babyshek, General Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Room was excellent in every way apart from young lady on reception all other staff were very unhelpful breakfast was ok as far as buffet breakfast goes very clean and well looked after hotel lift to all floors which is a great help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

hertford
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We stayed 2 night in this conveniently situated hotel converted from a mill near the centre of Halifax. The room was adequately furnished if a little spartan and homespun. It looked like the owner had done the decorating! There was parking in a plot next door. The service was friendly and staff helpful when we needed taxis etc. However there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inforep
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Hednesford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stayed here last weekend, unsure of what to expect following mixed reviews on here. I had tried to cancel our booking within 24 hours of making it, but was told that I would have to pay in full, so kept the booking. I had booked a suite with breakfast for two nights. Upon arrival we made enquiries about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rockysgirl38
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very mcuh for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stayed one night on business. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean but quite small, although the bed was comfortable. I was one of only two guests within the restaurant for an evening meal and the waiter/barman (presumably under instruction) informed me that if I were staying again that I should book a table.!! I'm assuming that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very mcuh for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Dorset
Reviewed 3 December 2016

A large party of us stayed here. Everyone was pleased with the hotel. The breakfast here is a buffet with high quality ingredients and a good choice. The rooms are very comfortable and finished to a high standard. Service is very good here and nothing is too much trouble. Some of the furniture in the public rooms is impressive to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BensonDorset
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

How many hotels these days gives you biscuits, chocolate, water and free toiletries Very few. Except the woolmerchants. Well done !!! A lovely touch. Paid £200 for one night in a Hilton. No water, biscuits or chocolate. Worrying about the vans in car park being broken into but it's no fault of the hotel Although they did point out the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pamela T
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Wifi is sporadic in lot of rooms,heating is poor been here a couple of months working wouldn't use it for anything else,rooms at top left 16 17 18 are OK,triple rooms are spacious but cold with no wifi breakfast is edible

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank staff66
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very mcuh for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.5 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#8 of 10 in Halifax
195 reviews
3.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#5 of 10 in Halifax
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Wool Merchant Hotel

Address: 5 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax HX1 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: $65 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wool Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wool Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wool Merchant Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wool Merchant Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not choose 204- view of smoking area from window. humming fan and lift right outside the door!”
 of 5 bubbles ruby186317, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles sreid73, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All room are very good”
 of 5 bubbles tonyhC9850ZE, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms seem to vary a lot unfortunately.”
 of 5 bubbles Hamptonbeaver, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Twin rooms are more spacious but also more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles helenholmes50, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5