We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Craiglynne Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglynne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Southampton
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel. Wonderful scenery. Large bedroom in the tower with magnificent views. Pleasant and attentive staff. The only downside is that being an old building the floors creak and groan. Sometimes a problem if people move about late at night.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YaYaSouthampton
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We are delighted to read your comments about our hotel and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again many thanks and we hope we...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

food good staff lovely but room dismal cracked sink in bathroom bathroom floor dirty.Our dining experience was mixed menu pricing not ex plained to us,coffee instead of tea at breakfast,my husband asked for bacon and egg and received literally that 1 egg 1 slice of bacon !The lady on the next table had a good laugh.My husband asked for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary g
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies that your bathroom floor was...

Banchory
Reviewed 2 June 2014

ust returned from a lovely weekend at Craiglynne. The dinners and Breakfasts were excellent and staff all very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately the experience was let down by room 131. This room was far too small for 2 friends to share, no room to move around had to take it in turns to vacate room so that other person could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mgscm
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback from our guests and hope to work upon it to improve our standards and service. Firstly please accept my apologies that the room wasn’t to our usual standards, we have had our maintenance team look at the window and it does in fact need a new...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked this place on easy breaks for two nights for a bargain price but was a little apprehensive about going after reading some of the reviews on here. Have to say I needn't have worried as it was great. We had a nice quiet and spacious twin room on the second floor at the front of the hotel. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca V
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. I am terribly sorry your room wasn’t made up for your...

Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at the Craiglynne Hotel. Staff were great, in particular the head waiter (restaurant manager) Ian. There was a party of French tourists who complained about everything, they were at the table next to us and they had nothing to complain about. Food was superb. We requested 3 rooms together and we were allocated 206,207 &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carolmcalpine
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The room was quite dated and small. There was no air conditioning but there was a window that opened and due to the time of year, this kept the room cool enough. There was free wireless but Internet was slow. The bed was OK. The bathroom was very basic. There is a bar with a decent selection of beer and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seafoodtraveler
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us, I must apologise that the room was not to your liking, should you re-book with us please do not hesitate to give us a call and we can organise an upgrade free of charge. Many...

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had made reservations at this hotel and on arrival found 3 coaches arriving at the same time. This was the second Crerar hotel in as many nights - the other being the Ben Wyvis in Strathpeffer. After an awful experience at the Ben Wyvis we hoped this one would be better. What a difference a day makes. No complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George D
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

fort-william
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed at the craiglynne in grantown a lot of times over the years and happened to be looking to go away for my friends birthday last month when I seen they were having the Rod Stewart tribute night on we booked for two night (2couples) we can really say we had a brilliant night the dinner before the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gran210
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and the entertainment we had organised, I have pass your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel. Please keep in touch with us direct to find out about our up...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the whisky festival. Had dinner on the 1st night, really nice and staff very attentive. Breakfast good. Only problem I had was because I had my dog with me obviously only select rooms, the room I got was so small I had to put the chair in the wardrobe to make room for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback from our guests and hope to work upon it to improve our standards and service. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and all the staff here are very appreciative of your kind comments regarding the service. I must apologise that the room...

Balfron, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having stayed in several Crerar Hotels I found this one above average. Fairly large hotel with imposing frontage set back from the main road with gardens and private road providing limited car parking but no real problem as a lot of users are bus parties. Rooms seem to vary but we were lucky and had no problems. The large dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RHB711
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
40.1 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
33.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
461 reviews
7.1 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $110 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“South side faces the road, and it is on the Malt Whisky trail - but quiet at night anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles jimibob, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor at the rear. Quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles richardinnes27, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel 107 and 108”
 of 5 bubbles hendy55, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 104 was absolutely tiny!”
 of 5 bubbles lydias633, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room three with ground floor access and a good view out the front!!”
 of 5 bubbles Echt, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5