We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Craiglynne Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglynne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Thurso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a three night dinner bed and breakfast break in April. The room was quite large with a lovely big bathroom, all very clean and presentable. The food was of a very high standard, in particular my husband enjoyed the Finnan Haddie at breakfast. There was a good choice at dinner and breakfast and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janette s
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your break with us, and I have passed on your kind comments to the staff here at the hotel, and the chef was delighted...

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in room 216, which was a single in area with a large double bed in it! Toilet very, very small no extracter so room ran with condensation! Toilet door did not close. Dinner below average, breakfast good.ø

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Glasgow01
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly I must apologise that you were unhappy with your choice of room, I can confirm that room 216 is a standard sized rooms which hold a king sized bed, unfortunately you did not mention anything at the time, as we would have been more...

Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Craiglynne Hotel in Grantown-on-Spey though we have passed the hotel many, many times and always noted we were keen to stay there in the wonderful area it is situated in. Circumstances meant it was a truly last-minute booking – the night before we went for a two night stay. I booked through easy-breaks,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larsonsmummy
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Firstly let me apologise you were not happy with your choice...

Thurso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are just back from a 4 night stay at the Craiglynne hotel. I must say we had a absolute blast at this hotel! the staff are really great and made our stay very stress free and relaxing, especially the reception team. They girls deserve a big mention, especially Jennifer and Louise, extremely helpful and very patient with tricky guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team. We really do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at craiglynne, the staff were very attentive from the time we arrived until our departure. Our room was small but nice, the food also was lovely, great hotel with character. Good value and we will return. Don't listen to all the negative reviews try for yourself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaxmax59
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and we have passed your kind comments on to the staff here at the hotel. Once again...

scotland
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our 2 night break at this hotel. We find all crerar hotels are very good value. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Rooms are a bit dated but clean. Food was good. dog friendly hotel which was good for us. Would return again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daisyscotland12
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your break with us, and I have passed on your kind comments to the staff here at the hotel. Once again many thanks and...

Reviewed 25 April 2014

★★I would just like to say what a fantastic night out we had at the craiglynne hotel.🍹🍹 Possibly one of the best nights out we have had in a long time.The entertainment was absolutely fabulous we had a Freddie Mercury/Queen tribute ..he was very entertaining and all the guest seem to be having a great time...I must say this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra M
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. All of us here at the hotel were delighted to read you enjoyed your entertainment break with us and please do keep in touch for further entertainment breaks up and coming in the near future, once again many thanks and we very much...

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a double bedroom for my partner and I over the easter weekend only to find out we were getting a twin room because they had double booked. They never told me this at check in so i had payed before i got the key to the room so they're was no going back. The tv did not work either....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Firstly allow me to apologise that the room you had booked...

Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at the Craiglynne in March 2014 and loved it! The place is like something out of the history or literature books. The staff was wonderful and made my stay very pleasant! The room was clean and the atmosphere peaceful and pastoral. You'll probably not find anything like this in the USA!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandLover2014
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We are delighted to read your comments about our hotel and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Once again many thanks and we hope we...

Coleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Upon arrival in the evening we were very disappointed to find that despite prior confirmation from the hotel that our rooms would be close together, our rooms were situated very far apart and on different floors. One of our rooms on the first floor had a very unpleasant and claustrophobic outlook of a small flat roof and walls. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly I must apologise that your rooms were not as close as they should have been, I have discussed this with our reception team to establish what went wrong. I was informed that your rooms were close to one another which were rooms 101, 104...

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
40.1 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
33.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
462 reviews
7.1 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $110 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“South side faces the road, and it is on the Malt Whisky trail - but quiet at night anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles jimibob, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor at the rear. Quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles richardinnes27, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel 107 and 108”
 of 5 bubbles hendy55, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 104 was absolutely tiny!”
 of 5 bubbles lydias633, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room three with ground floor access and a good view out the front!!”
 of 5 bubbles Echt, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5