We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ben Mhor Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ben Mhor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 84: English reviews
South Wales, UK
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We arrived here in the middle of a snowstorm - and that's the way it stayed for three days. Room was adequate, staff were lovely - especially the 'friend' who helped us dig our car out of the car park. As did 'the turn' - above and beyond the call of duty! Only downside was the lack of veggie stuff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie H
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your New Year break despite the excessive snow. Thanks for your breakfast comments, sorry we ran short on beans this shouldn't happen, mushrooms have now been added as a standard breakfast item available each day, we have also added potato scones to increase the vegetarian choice. Thanks again. Regards, Sean...

Aberdeen
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We have stayed over at the Ben Mhor Hotel quite a few times over the past couple of years and never failed to have an enjoyable stay. The staff are friendly and obliging and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Everytime we come back we notice another upgrade or improvement,whether it is public rooms,residents lounge or bedrooms. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnowmanAberdeen
Glasgow
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We arrived at the Ben Mhor hotel on the Friday for a three night break which was to be cut short after one night. Our first impression: the car park is at the back of the hotel which meant walking through a "dingy" corridor but once in the main reception everything appeared nice. The reception at check in was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Couple_from_Glasgow
Inverclyde
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We have just returned home today from a 2 night stay at the Ben Mhor and felt we had to comment in particular on the staff, the service and the extremely good value for money the hotel offers. We have stayed in every level and price of UK hotel over the years and found many things to complain about, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolInverclyde
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for submitting a review, all reviews good and bad can help us improve. Glad you had a great time and hope you can return sometime. Should you have any special requests or preferences let us know when you make your booking and we'll make sure these are met. Thanks again and kind regards, Sean Craig

Gartocharn
Reviewed 9 October 2009

my wife and myself spent one night in the hotel, Sat 3rd Oct., and a most enjoyable stay we had, our room was good and clean, the bed was huge, the food good, and the staff really good and helpful. The barman on duty that night was really nice, there were only 8 of us in the residents bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheAndersons_9
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2009

we as a couple stayed at the ben mhor hotel which was realy wonderful we have no complaints what so ever . all staff was the most pleasent that i have ever came across.the only problem was room 6 had no heating .but as i was there the people have been telling me tha tthey are going to spend lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nellchan
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs McCulloch Thanks for taking the time to make a review. I am delighted to hear your overall experience was excellent. We work very hard to ensure the service levels we offer are both very good and very friendly, great to hear you thought this was the case. Sorry about the heating in your room, I didn't...

Scotland
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed here for a family wedding which was fantastic. The service given by the hotel was superb. The room was a good size and the en-suite had a great shower. Pity that the electrical fan didnt' go off during the night. As it was a Saturday night, there was a fair bit of noise when the pubs came out, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScotchMissed
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, all feedback is welcome and helps us to improve what we are doing. Glad you enjoyed the wedding and the comfort of the room. All our bathroom fans are linked to the light switch and should cut off shortly after the light is turned out. It's now on our...

scotland
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My partner and i were awayfor two nights on the all incl package deal and we had a lovely time, we made use off the free bar the first night but not the second as we had to drive home the next day so iam not sure if it was value for money, food was good and there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tochuffedscots
Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Upon checking into the hotel, service was very good. Once we were in our room, we realized that we were directly above the pub which was really loud. The room seemed dirty and not well kept up. The bathroom floor was truly disgusting, something you didn't want to stand on with bare feet. The location was good and breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AIExpat
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, all feedback, good and bad is most helpful to us. We have identified from the review that your room was Room 1, a family room, and your stay was Saturday 12th September. I am very sorry the bathroom floor was not as clean as it should be, our housekeeping staff have deepcleaned the floor...

Dundee
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We were a bit worried as we had a phone call the day before we were due to leave to say the hotel had been overbooked. However the extra people were booked into hotels only a few minutes walk away and we all had dinner together in the evening. The food was excellent especially the puddings. We were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scottishgran

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.5 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
626 reviews
4.9 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
283 reviews
4.9 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
480 reviews
13.2 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Highland Hotel recently fully refurbished. All double rooms have King size beds, and all rooms have new flat screen TVs and power showers. Free high speed wifi throughout the hotel and private parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ben Mhor Hotel

Address: 53-57 High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $84 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Mhor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ben Mhor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Mhor
Ben Mhor Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ben Mhor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Ben Mhor loves music...so be warned and don't moan if it's loud. lol”
138bexj, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Beware that there is no elevator so if you aren't very good with stairs request something on the lowest floor.”
Solarcatt, 16 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Avoid room 12!”
bluescharm, 10 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Make a request!”
233MichaelS, 22 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Maybe request one that is not facing the main street to reduce the amount of noise.”
MontyBoris, 11 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5