We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LA Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$90
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (1)
View from Room (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 05/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Brooklynn Guest House
Updated 05/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Brooklynn B&B is a family owned beautiful late Victorian home situated in the attractive Scottish Highlands town of Grantown-on-Spey which is in The Cairngorms National Park. All the rooms are en-suite, they all have easy access to free Wi-Fi and have a flat screen TV. In addition Brooklynn offers free traditional or vegetarian breakfasts with locally sourced produce giving our guests a nourishing start to the day. There is a lovely cottage garden in the back growing our own produce
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, German
18Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christine D wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at Broolynn two days as a stopover. The host is very kind, welcoming and helpfull. The house is picturesque , charming located in a nice area allowing to visit the Cairngorms . We had wonderfull home made breakfasts.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
WallyHolland wrote a review Aug 2022
Voorburg, The Netherlands407 contributions146 helpful votes
Wonderful B&B with enthousiast host that can give you valuable tips of things to do in the neighborhood. The accommodation has spacious good clean rooms with good bedding and a bathroom in good working order. The marvelous breakfast can be personalized on request. Very recommendable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CharlesA wrote a review Aug 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
Charming traditional villa on a quiet back street. This comfortable guest house has all the ingredients for an enjoyable stay. The bedrooms have en-suites and large comfortable double beds. TV and wifi “on tap”, if you have any spare time after a busy day’s exploring. Shona and Torsten have great plans for improvements to the charm and sustainability of their home. Hopefully, this will help extend their letting calendar to offer winter breaks. Breakfast was a delight with a range of delicious locally sourced goodies. Fresh baking also featured. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ClarkieMJ wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions4 helpful votes
Fantastic B&B, Shona made us so welcome throughout our stay. Very comfortable room, brilliant homegrown breakfast especially the granola and fruit compote … delicious! Easy access to lots of places within a short distance and only a couple of minutes walk to Main Street and lots of eating options. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scott B wrote a review Jul 2022
Paris, France34 contributions7 helpful votes
Very friendly hosts. We liked the system for ordering breakfast in advance so as to avoid food waste,. The breakfast room and lounge were large and bright,. The food was fresh, high quality and copious! The room was large and comfortable. The owners are still in the process of upgrading the facilities, so the bathroom lighting was a bit dim. We prefer a hard surface bathroom floor, but that may just be our personal preference. The front garden was amazing - completely filled with beautiful flowers. The location is quiet, but just a few blocks from the very nice and not too tourist-filled main street
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ann123 wrote a review Jun 2022
Belgium6 contributions8 helpful votes
Shona made our stay very welcome. Essential information was mostly contained in a handy folder, including restaurants in the area. Lots of interesting books to read in the living room about walks and Scotland. Bedroom was big and beds comfy. Not used to having carpet in the bathroom, was afraid to get water onto it. Nice toiletries provided, couldn’t figure which one was the soap for the shower. Breakfast was delicious, I like that we are asked what we wanted specifically the evening before so as not to waste food. Takeaway raspberry muffins from breakfast was a fantastic idea!! A great start to our exploration of the Scottish highlands.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jackie S wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
Stayed at Brooklyn Guest House, Grantown on Spey for 2 nights. Was very disappointed with our stay. We booked a king size deluxe room and hard to say what was deluxe about the room other than the large bed. Tea and coffee facilities limited. We ran out of tea and coffee in the room. This was not replaced when it ran out despite our requesting more . Breakfast had to be ordered the night before by email. No cereals available because we hadn't ordered them. No running hot water at tea time or in the morning in the room on both days despite us letting the owner know about this. Location was great and the staff member ( Neighbour) who served our breakfast on both days was very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shona Fraser, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House
Responded 18 Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very upset to hear you had a disappointing stay. You booked a superior King bed, which many of our guests have reported as extremely comfortable, the size of the bed is larger than a King, we do not advertise King deluxe, though I hope you enjoyed our organic toiletries in your room. Since you left I have checked with the staff who came to your room twice during your stay to service you room and you were still in the room, the staff were not comfortable disturbing you. Tea and coffee was left outside your room. We already explained to you when you were shouting in the dining room that I did not realise the hot water had stopped working, but when we did we dealt with this immediately by having an emergency boiler repair. The hot water was back working within an hour and I thanked your for letting us know as the hot water network is different downstairs. We did our best to please you and your husband, allowing you early access to your room (3pm), also asking if there was anything you needed , no one was unpleasant or unkind to you, anything you asked for was given. We work with Green tourism guidelines asking our guests what they would like to eat for breakfast the evening before, this is to prevent food waste and also to allow us to serve your food fresh and on time. Our guests don't tend to eat cereals as they enjoy our fresh fruits from the garden, I am sorry you missed out on this opportunity, our guests enjoy the fresh morning home bakes as our ethos is to allow our guests to enjoy home cooked food rather than supermarket processed food, it takes a little longer to prepare but thoroughly enjoyed. If you had ordered your breakfast like we asked you would have had cornflakes with your breakfast. This was all explained to you and your husband at the time of check -in and explained again on the breakfast menu. We are extremely lucky to have such lovely staff, thank you for acknowledging this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eileen D wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 1 night on a family trip around the highlands. Great spot, the room was very comfortable with a nice Scottish touch. Shower was lovely and warm and nice toiletries were provided. Breakfast was very tasty and we were able to take away some homemade muffins for morning tea 😍. The staff were very friendly and made us feel most welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shona Fraser, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House
Responded 23 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the muffins were appreciated. We hope you had a good trip around the Cairngorms and the weather was kind during the rest of your trip and flight home. We look foward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Shona and Thorsten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camille C wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
What to say about Brooklynn in Grantown-on-Spey; in one word, unforgettable. Shona provides first-class service from the manicured garden to the cozy bedrooms to the sprawling dining room. We felt right at home at Brooklynn. Check-in was a breeze, we arrived timely and a little damp from the rain; had the opportunity to chat with Shona and hear all about the Brooklynn, town and her local recommendations. She made our stay memorable! We shared breakfast in the dining room, overlooking the garden with the fireplace roaring, and it made me feel like I was a local. The food was delicious; we had homemade muffins with yogurt and fresh fruit, followed by a FULL Scottish breakfast that put all our other breakfasts to shame. The black pudding was prepared to perfection, the sausage and bacon paired perfectly to the local fresh eggs. In all, our experience was top notch and we will very much be returning to visit Shona, and the Brooklynn!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shona Fraser, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you had a memorable and comfortable stay in Brooklynn. Thorsten takes great pride in the garden and pleased you appreciated it, he is already preparing for next years burst of colour. We look forward to welcoming you back, best wishes Shona and Thorsten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosie J wrote a review Sep 2021
11 contributions4 helpful votes
Brooklynn was a delightful guest house where we received a very warm welcome after a long day's walking. The room was lovely and clean with an incredibly comfy bed and everything you might need. The breakfast was just astonishing – fresh fruit from the garden, delicious homemade muffins and very generous portions which well and truly set us up for the day. We felt so well looked after and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Brooklyn to anyone visiting Grantown.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shona Fraser, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House
Responded 26 Sep 2021
Thank you so much Rosie for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk and the weather OK for lovely photos, we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Shona and Thorsten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsAviemore and the CairngormsGrantown-on-Spey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Brooklynn Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Brooklynn Guest House?
Nearby attractions include The Bookmark Bookshop (0.4 km), The High St. Merchants (0.2 km), and Smarty Art (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Brooklynn Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Brooklynn Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Brooklynn Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Brooklynn Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include High St. Merchants, The Wee Puffin, and The Craig Bar.
Is Brooklynn Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Grantown-on-Spey.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Brooklynn Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Brooklynn Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Packhorse Bridge (13.4 km).