We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Save
Share
Marconi Way Metrocentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Marriott Hotels
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (189)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle, United Kingdom. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1187Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 547
  • 432
  • 134
  • 34
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Yvonne D wrote a review Dec 2021
Sunderland, United Kingdom26 contributions7 helpful votes
Just got back from from a lovely christmas break all the staff were very friendly and professional they let us check-in early which was great but was disappionted that the pool was not open that day when they emailed e to say it would be open during my stay the rooms were clean and very spacious,bed very large and comfy the wifi excellent very fast,loved the pool and sauna,breakfast nice with plenty of choice excellent location 5 ins walk to metro centre found the staff throughout the hotel to be very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Teresa R wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
Just come back after a two night stay can't fault this hotel at all really friendly staff the man in the leisure centre was very nice and helpful the breakfast was excellent sorry our little one made so much mess but was busy interacting with the staff and dropping everything beds were very nice we always stay here when visiting so would definitely recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
JaniHam wrote a review Dec 2021
Banbury, United Kingdom33 contributions4 helpful votes
Love this hotel which is why we stay here every time we come to the North East. It is extremely comfortable and clean with great amenities. The restaurant and bar offer delicious food and is very Covid safe. In addition the hotel offers a very warm welcome and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Nothing is too much trouble! Excellent parking facilities. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Paddy M wrote a review Nov 2021
Mayerling, Austria42 contributions59 helpful votes
When we booked this hotel we asked to have adjoining rooms we were told it was done so when we got to hotel we were about 20 rooms from each other.The hotel is very dated it is ok definitely not 4*. Coming from Scotland I could not believe the amount of guests and some staff not wearing face coverings.The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are very comfy,the showers are very dated but do the job.Breakfast was pretty average I was expecting table service in this COVID-19 age to minimize contact but it was self service.In general this hotel was ok it is close to great shopping if that's what you want.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Show respect to one another and wear face covering.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Mather , Guest Services / Front Office at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Responded 28 Nov 2021
Dear 908paddym, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for your experience here with us at the MetroCentre Marriott. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. We are closely following our government guidelines concerning Covid-19 here at the hotel and will continue to do so in the coming months. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us when your travels bring you back to Gateshead. Kindest Regards Laura Mather Front Office Manager
Read more
GAD wrote a review Nov 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom25 contributions10 helpful votes
Checked in with the family last night at 18:45, used the leisure facilities at checked out at 20:30, what a terrible hotel, I last visited this hotel in 1994, and to be fair it wasn’t great then so not sure what I expected. Best idea Marriott, demolish it and sell the land, wasting your money doing anything with that, especially now the metro centre is also finished..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Mather , Guest Services / Front Office at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Dear freyamila, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Newcastle Gateshead Marriott MetroCentre. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here at the hotel. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I will pass on your feedback to each department and we thank you for your feedback. Kindest Regards Laura Mather Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
newcastle marriott metrocentre, marriott newcastle upon tyne, marriott gateshead
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearGateshead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Which popular attractions are close to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Nearby attractions include MetroCentre (0.5 km), TeamSport Indoor Go Karting Newcastle (0.9 km), and Jump Arena Gateshead (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jashn Restaurant, The Skiff Inn, and Pedalling Squares.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (5.7 km), Quayside (4.9 km), and Newcastle Castle (4.4 km).
Is Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.