We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel

Save
Share
Derwenthaugh Road Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
PremierInn.com
StayForLong
FindHotel
Etrip
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (99)
Dining (30)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just a short drive from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre. You'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle within driving distance. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy kingsize Hypnos beds.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Indoor play area for children
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Car park
Wifi
Paid internet
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
865Reviews14Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 400
  • 266
  • 112
  • 42
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Les wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Been staying here a while and can't fault the service i have recieved. Very helpful/lovely staff especially shauna who will go above and beyond to satisfy her customers needs. Will definitely be staying here again highly recommend staying here. Les
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from James Roberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your 5-Star review with us. I’ve made sure to share your feedback with Shauna. We look forward to seeing you again soon. James Roberts, Hotel Manager
Read more
konrad s wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We arrived Thursday 14th October for 3 nights, we arrived earlier than our check in time staff was friendly and helpful, made mine and my family stay absolutely amazing, anything we needed there was no hesitation to help us, phenomenal service throughout our stay. Got to say Emma and shauna was amazing they went above and beyond. They where friendly and you could have a proper laugh with them. They are absolutely a credit to the company.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from James Roberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2021
Thanks so much for sharing your 5-Star experience with us. The team were really pleased to read such positive feedback about Emma and Shauna, your not wrong you can have a laugh with them! We hope to see you again soon. James Roberts, Hotel Manager
Read more
Steph wrote a review Nov 2021
Rawmarsh, United Kingdom385 contributions164 helpful votes
Stayed here the night before travelling to Amsterdam by ferry, check in was quick and efficient. All the staff were great but a big thanks to Emma for printing out the documents we needed for our onward trip. The room was clean and very quiet. All in all an excellent stay for £36.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from James Roberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel
Responded 4 Dec 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review. I will let Emma know her help was appreciated. We really hope to welcome you back soon. James Roberts, Hotel Manager
Read more
Korben P wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
we was excited to say here for the first time. Apon arrival staff were not at the reception we had to wait for them to arrive, we dusted that and off as they could of been busy.. as we opened the door of the room we hopped straight into bed to wake up the next morning to find the room was DIRTY there was suspicious stains upon the bed more than one thick dust on the head board bed side tables where dirty the drink tray was dirty the floor had brown stains there was mold on the windows from the condensation that hadn’t been wiped.. the list goes on we had very little sleep the next night with the room above being to loud and the constant feeling of not being clean.. very disappointed as we have stayed in premier inns 100s of times.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lctaylor83 wrote a review Oct 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom31 contributions6 helpful votes
Fab visit very comfortable clean rooms. Matthew on reception was very polite and helpful. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant next door was lovely. Very good location for visiting Newcastle .. will be back soon
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Roberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Thank you for the 5 star rating the team were really pleased to receive such great feedback. James Roberts, Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$36 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn newcastle (metro centre) hotel gateshead, premier inn gateshead
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearGateshead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel?
Nearby attractions include TeamSport Indoor Go Karting Newcastle (0.8 km), Buzz Bingo (0.8 km), and Namco Funscape (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jashn Restaurant, The Skiff Inn, and Pedalling Squares.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (6.2 km), Quayside (5.4 km), and Newcastle Castle (4.9 km).
Is Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.