We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Runnymede on Thames

Hotels.comUS$154*
View Deal
#2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$302*
US$154*
US$302*
US$154*
US$159*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Runnymede on Thames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,548: English reviews
Start your review of The Runnymede on Thames
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had lunch here with my daughter, great by the river but you pay for that, not the cheapest of hotels but a fantastic area by the river in the sun for I drink also very expensive to stay overnight. Car parking was free!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank treacynorman
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for the weekend, Saturday through to Monday as a solo, female traveller. Extremely busy, which is good as it gave atmosphere and didn't impact on service or booking a table for supper. The buffet style of both the evening meal and breakfast was a good idea - I felt as if I was on holiday! Selections were superb, choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan M
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely afternoon tea today, all of the staff were excellent they could not have been more pleasant and helpful. The sandwiches were very tasty and delicate, the smoked salmon was to die for. The cakes and scones were equally as tasty and so well presented - and plentiful. Very good value but also very special, will definitely visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueba-1966
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede~on~thames. I am delighted you truly enjoyed the afternoon tea experience and you thought it was good value for money. It is pleasing to hear you found the sandwiches very tasty, smoked salmon you can die for and cakes and scones well presented. Thank you for commenting about the staff being excellent....

Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Eaten here many times before, Sunday lunch is easily the best but you do have to book a fair bit in advance, not cheap at £27 a head but the choice is huge & the standard is excellent, very comfortable & on top of the river Thames, daily lunch is good as well with a huge choice, today we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GORDON E
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed the Sunday lunch in Leftbank at the runnymede-on-thames finding the location and food up to standard. I am also glad that you found plenty of choice at the midweek lunch offering which is priced at £25.00 and Sunday lunch is priced at £32.00 per person. We look...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have just visited this hotel having booked for a friends birthday celebration, because it had a 'Hot Tug' boat. Unfortunately the boat had been vandalised a few days before so we were offered an hour in the riverside hot tub and a glass of complimentary prosecco each (plus refund of boat). Havingbeen told we could use the faciltities before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane s
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your overall positive review of the runnymede and I can only apologise that the HotTug was not available due to the actions of others. I am however pleased that you were able to use the HotTub instead. We do unfortunately only allow an hour for each use as this is not an automatically dosed hottub and therefore...

surrey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We used the Runnymede for an informal wake, following the funeral. Only a small party but an intermate gathering. Lovely setting and cakes. Not too keen on the sandwiches as a bit fussy had had Mayonaise in. I hate Mayonaise!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eghamcb
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the runnymede and I am delighted that despite the sombre occasion you found the location on the banks of the River Thames lovely. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the cakes but I am sorry that you didn’t like the mayonnaise in some of the sandwiches. We look forward to welcoming you...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A very well presented hotel. I have been on a number of training courses here. The bedroom facilities are clean and functional. The staff are very attentive and helpful. Easy to park. The meals are very enjoyable and the lunch buffet is amazing. The only downfall for me was finding the Hotel which my satnav did not recognise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleymilton
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback and I am delighted that you enjoy your training courses at the runnymede finding the rooms clean and functional. I am also pleased that you find the team helpful and attentive and the buffet lunch amazing. I am, however, sorry that you were unable to find the hotel in your Sat Nav but am...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I will never tire of saying that 'nobody does it better' than the Runnymede Hotel team for meetings and events. The service that they deliver is 'uniformed and sharp'. Every member of their food chain is 'on board' when it comes to 'customer satisfaction' and delivery of an excellent service. The fantastic Runnymede Hotel Army that assisted in supported our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jules R
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the runnymede~on~thames I am delighted you feel “nobody does it better” than ourselves. I am so glad that the team were able to cater for your every need and ensured no stone was left unturned to ensure a successful 3 day event. Thank you for highlighting all the helpful members of the team...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is sat on the bank of the river Thames, though the building itself is lacking compared to its setting. Stayed here for one night in early May, overall a relatively basic and uninspiring hotel property (if not shabby in some areas). The food at the lunch time buffet is edible, but the quality is low and the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil K
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the runnymede~on~thames albeit a negative experience. I am sorry that the aesthetics of the hotel exterior wasn’t to your liking and the hotel décor uninspiring. I am also sorry you didn’t enjoy the buffet and found the food to be of poor quality as well as experiencing inexperienced staff throughout the hotel. We pride...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of a conference group for my husband's work. Lovely large rooms and extremely comfortable beds and very impressed with the food overall, really nice. Close to Windsor but also right on the river. We were unlucky with the weather but had it been dry we'd have spent more time in the grounds which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Little_Bridezilla
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the runnymede~on~thames and I am glad you had a good stay overall and found the rooms large and extremely comfortable. I’m glad you liked the location and hopefully, if you visit us again, the weather will be nicer so you can enjoy the grounds and river walks. I am however sorry you weren’t...

435 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (394)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (190)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
2.3 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,025 reviews
3.6 km away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
15.0 km away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,508 reviews
35.5 km away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
11.0 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Price Range: $233 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Runnymede on Thames staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Runnymede on Thames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a river view”
GORDONE198, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 156, was a fab size and looked out over the river”
JulesR171, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor may have better views I was in room 252 which overlooked the River Thames.”
sonnyj704, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some of the Standard rooms are very small, so if you need space, book a deluxe room”
Starrywander, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cannot help with rooms, did not stay overnight”
harryd366, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$154* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$154
Booking.comUS$159
AMOMAUS$302
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates