We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Romany Rye Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Romany Rye Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Romany Rye Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 301: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

The rooms are very clean and standard layoutn. The staff were very helpful but thought the food could have been better. It was just for an overnight stay as their was a family function on nearby but just average really.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherrypotts
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food, did you have the oppurtinty to speak to a member of staff about it at the time? We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Very welcoming helpful lady at reception. Good size, clean room and bathroom. However, very hard lumpy mattress, also a personal dislike fixed head shower. Finally water not suitable to drink from the tap?? But bottled water supplied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal W
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you found your bed uncomfortable. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

great accomadation,staff very friendly and helpful,2minor gripes,bedside lamps not bright enough to read,we also had a room on the back of the hotel room 105,the extractors were very noisey and disturbed our sleep

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliegreen104
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us. If you wish to stay with us again please call us directly so we can allocate you a more suitable room. We hope to see you again soon.

Cold Norton, Essex
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The rooms are very clean and are to the standard layout. They are good value especially if there are two of you as paying for the room. I don't know if it's because of the town center location but the bin lorries tend to wake you up about 6 in the morning. There is loads of parking around the hotel...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidgholden
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Here at The Romany Rye we pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service alongside fantastic facilities so we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable with good selection of food and ideally located for centre of town. Restaurant is a Wetherspoons which means nice selection of good priced beers. Parking bit of problem if you arrive in afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottie31750
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have our own car park, but if this is full there is free parking available within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The room was well appointed. It was clean. The tea tray was well stocked although I bought a pint of milk,as we don't like uht. I am sure if we had asked they would have supplied fresh milk. It was a lovely atmosphere in the bar.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peru797
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Hayling Island
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Just got back from a short weekend break at the Romany Rye hotel in dereham. Staff very friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. The Aberdeen Angus steak I had on both the nights we stayed there was cooked to perfection and I have to say also better quality than I have paid top doller for in more expensive restaurants....

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyarnoldnineball
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are sorry to hear that you found your room an uncomfortable temperature. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel was very clean and tidy with all the expectations but only thing was that bed wasn't very comfy also car park was full at back of hotel as had to park round the other side of town with under 10 mins walk back to hotel

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you found your bed uncomfortable. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights Saturday to Monday inclusive and really enjoyed our stay at the Romany Rye Wetherspoons. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable, rooms cleaned every day, fresh towels, water provided, tea, coffee biscuits milk also with a kettle. Shower good, always hot water and heated towel rail also. We had a room at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vbp516
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Here at The Romany Rye we pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service alongside fantastic facilities so we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Littleborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The hotel is located in the centre of the town next to the bar and eatery.The room was clean and very comfortable.check in was very easy with a helpful receptionist who explained the location of the car park which can be accessed through the bar.In a town with very little accommodation this is a good place to stay with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonh C
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Here at The Romany Rye we pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service alongside fantastic facilities so we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
215 reviews
37.8 km away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
669 reviews
17.3 km away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 km away
Yaxham Mill
Yaxham Mill
#5 of 8 in Dereham
149 reviews
0.4 km away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 8 in Dereham
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 22 en-suite rooms; all have tea & coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV, hairdryer, bath and shower. All rooms have wifi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Romany Rye Hotel

Address: Church Street, Dereham NR19 1DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Price Range: $74 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Romany Rye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Romany Rye Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Leicester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Romany Rye Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check out room configuration first”
  • Tea, coffee & biscuits
  • Emergency light 1
  • Twin beds zipped together to make a double bed
  • Emergency light 2
 of 5 bubbles wighttraveller1953, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back may be a bit less noise, but we did not find it a problem at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles vbp516, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel will probable be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles welshhillbilly, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Back is best”
 of 5 bubbles 298carlyw, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are pretty much the same either side and or floor”
 of 5 bubbles spinerkop, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay