We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Comfort Guest House

Save
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (3)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Multilingual Staff
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
30
14
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
30
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkfull englishroom was a decent sizestayed herefriendly hostsroom was spotlesshigh streethome from homeneilbreakfastbedding
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Reading that this guest house was under new ownership and had been completely refurbished, we decided to give it a go for our 3 night break in Christchurch. We certainly weren't disappointed. Louise & Mark are very welcoming, friendly and have lots of local info....More

Thank 11quantum11
Response from Louise S, Owner at Southern Comfort Guest HouseResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for this lovely review. Much appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again here in the future. warm regards Louise and Mark

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just wanted to say what a little gem tho place is. We arrived late after an epic trip to find a friendly patient (we were delayed for four hours) Louise waiting for us. Upon checking into room one we were more than pleased to...More

Thank KEN79
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my partner stayed at Southern Comfort for 4 nights during the recent school holidays. The Guest House was fabulous and recently refurbished - wonderfully decorated, comfortable rooms and brilliantly attentive owners. The location is perfect for walking in to Christchurch town centre and...More

Thank Ceri H
Response from Louise S, Owner at Southern Comfort Guest HouseResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your kind review Ceri, its very much appreciated! We really hope you'll come back and visit us again in the future. Warm regards Louise and Mark

Reviewed 1 week ago

There used to be much criticism of this B&B, but it's new owners have transformed it. Louise and Mark give a great welcome (and if they happen to be out when you arrive, they make it clear how you can contact them). All the rooms...More

Thank AlpineGoat
Response from Louise S, Owner at Southern Comfort Guest HouseResponded 1 week ago

Wow thank you so much for your kind words, much appreciated, it was a pleasure to host you both and hope we'll see you here again in the future. Warm regards Louise and Mark

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having spent a fare few nights and pounds in B&B’s around lyndhurst, my wife and I fancied going somewhere different. I AM TAKING FULL RESPONSIBILITY for the decision of choosing the southern comfort guest house. As my wife loved the stay that we had there....More

Thank Baldcarper
Response from Louise S, Owner at Southern Comfort Guest HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow thank you for such a great review we really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you here again. This is everything we strive for so I’m glad we’re achieving our aim. We truly love meeting and hosting guests and are passionate about...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Details
Price range
US$101 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$101 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Choccielover2006
24 October 2015|
Answer
Response from yetti24 | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your question. We have six rooms and only the single room and the large family room face the road, so the rooms facing the garden are very quiet, we are also near a traffic light junction so although it is a... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The attic room is airey and spacious - just a bit of a climb to get to."
Read review
"Check the shower works!"
Read review
"We can't really help with this question."
Read review
"Room 1 was quiet and peaceful."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing