We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cottage Lodge Hotel

Hotels.comUS$107*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$107*
US$107*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,011 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,005: English reviews
Start your review of Cottage Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Milton Keynes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a fantastic place to stay! A few days before our arrival we were sent an email giving us some essential details beforehand. On arrival we pulled into the car park to find our own personalised parking space (a great welcome!). The introduction to the hotel and service we received could not be faulted. Highly recommend staying at the Cottage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1968ajs
Norwich, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We booked this hotel due to the excellent trip advisor reviews. We hoped that these wouldn't then raise our expectations too much and be disappointed - definitely not! We can only re-iterate what all of the other positive reviews have written: room, location, staff, cleanliness, food - all excellent. We even received an email a week before providing brief details...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 789Kacey789
About Hotel's Favourite Review
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful and thorough review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was our pleasure to be able to assist you with local information so that you could have a real taste of what the New Forest has to offer. Hope to see you soon!

London
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff went out of their way to make sure that our party felt welcome and looked after. Food was excellent, fresh cooked breakfasts and superb evening food at Bruno's restaurant. Our room was spacioius and neat, no snags at all. Brockenhurst is a good base for the new forest, short drive to the coast, ponies, donkeys and cattle all over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesth
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Like most, I picked this place due to the reviews, and it certainly worthy. Location is perfect. Close to the local shops and restaurants but still kind of in the middle of nowhere. Which is perfect for a getaway trip. They have very low ceiling in most area, which will be tricky for some... 'Duck please' sign is definitely cute....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minibisceper
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very welcoming little hotel. Reserved parking space, tea and cake on arrival and friendly staff. Room was clean and well kept but not huge. However for £80 and including breakfast it was in my opinion excellent value. The cooked breakfast was very tasty and locally sourced. As a walking base it is just right! David L

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david L
NewForestFilly, Front Office Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you David for your great review. We are very happy that you thoroughly enjoyed what we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again and hope to see you try some of our other rooms.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's more of a B&B than a hotel really. Very cosy. Very friendly and obliging staff. Comfortable beds (ours was not one of the cutesy four posters). Allocated parking is a nice touch. Walkable to the village and station. Our room was to the front and I did find the traffic noisy in the morning. Didn't really rate the in-house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tripper43
NewForestFilly, Front Office Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy that you found our hotel spotless, cosy and welcoming. We do offer a wide range of rooms to choose from and ones at the back of the hotel are generally quieter. We have taken on board all of your comments and I know that Bruno's has too. We hope...

romford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped for a couple of nights. When I booked I was told of a six foot height restrictions in the shower of this room , as my husband and I are both under six foot we said that would be ok. But I weigh 8 stone and hubby 12 stone our room Little Alice was a squeeze any one larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romfordite
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Little Alice room. I am glad you thought the Cottage Lodge was clean, quirky and with helpful staff. If you are reading this review and are worried about the size of the rooms in general, then let me reassure you. The Little Alice is our smallest, and therefore our most reasonable priced room....

Colchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tea and cake on arrival was very appreciated as was the reserved parking space. The receptionist was very helpful and advised about the local restaurants. The in-house restaurant has now been renamed to Bruno's. We had the room named Foresters. This is directly above the snug which has an honesty bar. Unfortunately other guests choose to sit and chat until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1,480
NewForestFilly, Front Office Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy hat you enjoyed the little touches that we feel makes a stay with us a very lovely one. I do wish that you had contacted our on site night staff with a quick phone call as the disturbance you experienced could have been politely silenced to have aided your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Cottage Lodge for two nights in May for a first visit to the New Forest. On arrival, we found we had an allocated parking space in front of the hotel. We were greeted by a lovely lady called Kelly who ran us through where to find things in the hotel before showing us to our room. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire P
NewForestFilly, Front Office Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Claire for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you had a great first visit to the Cottage and indeed the New Forest and were able to enjoy great cycling. We hope that this will be the first of many visits!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent welcome and charming service throughout. The room we had was quirky but had all the necessary facilities. The restaurant serves brasseries style food and has a limited menu but good for the area. Good wine list.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prgblue
NewForestFilly, Front Office Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for for reviewing us, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed our quirky touches and our service at the cottage. Thank you for also writing about your meal in Bruno's restaurant, we will let them know of your feedback too.

428 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Accessible Four Poster (32)
Viewed
Four Poster (33)
Viewed
Four Poster 2 (29)
Viewed
Large Four Poster (33)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
8.8 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,132 reviews
6.0 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
11.0 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,568 reviews
9.3 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
390 reviews
8.8 km away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cottage Lodge has upgraded from a 5star B&B to a 2 star hotel over the last 12 months. So, if you decide to come to the Cottage Lodge in Brockenhurst you are choosing a clean and comfortable property, located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. All the en-suite rooms are individually designed. They all come with flat screen tv's, new mattresses, recently painted walls, tea and coffee making facilities (with real milk), and an in-room safe. Cake is available free of charge in the Snug Bar. We have: romantic rooms with hand made four poster beds: a room with a wood burning stove; ground floor rooms with showers;dog friendly rooms; family friendly rooms; rooms in the original building(C1650);simple rooms perfect for single occupancy or for a couple looking for somewhere simple to stay. There is one parking space at the front of Cottage Lodge for each room. We have won lots of awards for various things: excellence, environmentally friendly, best use of local produce, outstanding breakfast etc. Cottage Lodge is located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. Our very own Fallen Tree Restaurant is open six days a week (closed on Wednesdays). Book early because the restaurant is very popular. Our breakfast's are locally sourced. We assure you of a warm welcome. There are three lovely pubs, nine charming restaurants and tea shops, cycle hire, horse riding, open forest, mainline railway station, village shops, open forest all within ten minutes walk of Cottage Lodge. Twenty minutes drive to the coast, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens and the Lymington Ferry to the Isle of Wight. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Price Range: $119 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cottage Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
over a year ago
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
united kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Cottage Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If tall don't stay in small room”
A8716DKdavidl, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Comfortable”
swinia1981, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lot to choose from, we enjoyed Exbury.”
mike_at_shovelbarn, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at rear quieter due to main road to front”
689philj, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Tom Hayter room is excellent, comfortable and quiet.”
733peterl, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$107
PricelineUS$107
Booking.comUS$107
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates