We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Durrant House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Durrant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 670: English reviews
Start your review of Durrant House
 Click to rate
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Myself and my wife have just stayed at the Durrant for 4 nights on a self drive holiday. We may of been one of the youngest couples there but we had a great time. The hotel is quite quant and little dated but I really liked the decor and wood panelling. The staff at the Durrant are exceptional, nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my husband came 17th April for a 4 day stay. Silly me read reviews first before coming which was a bad idea me thinking it was going to be horrible!! Which it WAS NOT. This holiday was amazing from the time we stepped into the place we had a lovely room staff was amazing food was all amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodey83
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a fantastic easter weekend at the Durrant Hotel. It tottally surpassed our expectations. Great customer service, food and rooms. Would visit again. Great location - walking distance to Westward Ho!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKP19
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments on your Easter weekend spent with us here at the Durrant House Hotel. We are delighted to hear that we surpassed your expectations with our customer service, food and rooms and will of course pass on your comments to all of our staff. Thank you very much...

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Of all the most cynical tricks a bad business can pull, perhaps the most heinous is to blatantly lie about what is on offer, knowing full well people place their trust and part with their hard-earned cash in the hope of receiving something the business promises to be 'Superior'. This hotel is a shambles. We booked in for three nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RoRoBags
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your thoughts, I am saddened to read your comments regarding the hotel, I can assure you that our room standards are as described and comfortably meet those required for our 3 star rating as recently confirmed by inspection from Quality in Tourism. At the hotel if any of our guests...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice lovely friendly hotel in a perfect location. Could do with a paint touch up and a few leather item were torn. Was also very busy as there was a ballroom dancing event on but everything was catered for. Breakfast was lovely and a good variety of choice. Didn't have an evening meal there but saw others eating and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to leave you thoughts from your recent stay with us at The Durrant House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback with regards to the hotel and the food available in our restaurant. Your comments are very much appreciated and the details you have provided will of course be...

Carmarthen
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel last week.Excellent value with B&B and evening meal.Food was delicious, hot and a good selection to choose from.We shared a table with three other couples,all strangers but left good friends.We even won the Fancy Dress on our last night as a group,hence the reference to Tigers.ALL the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stonewakely
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, Thank you very much for visiting The Durrant House Hotel and taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We strive to ensure that all our guests’ requirements are catered for and am so pleased that all our staff ensured that you were well looked after. Our team will be so happy to read that you...

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We visit annually as part of a very large group. Although we had a small room this time the view was magnificent over the river. Previously we have had rooms of good size (and on one occasion, a four poster bed!) Some rooms are decorated beautifully but others look a little tired. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrissieb94
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, at the hotel we strive to provide a high quality of food and service and am so pleased that you have had many enjoyable stays with us at The Durrant House Hotel. It’s lovely to hear that you will be returning again next year, we look forward...

Appledore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We booked and were required to pay in advance to stay here for one night in December 2016. We were travelling to the area to visit my Partners terminally ill Uncle. On the morning of our intended trip, we received a call to advise that we were too late, as my Partners Uncle had passed away. We decided to cancel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Terry B
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your thoughts, your comments are very valuable as they help us improve our quality and services. We provide a range of rates including those that allow for cancellation and amendment as well as non-refundable rates to enable guests to make the best choice for their circumstance. I understand on hearing...

PORTLAND
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Had a great weekend. Can't fault the staff who are so hard working and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble if asked for assistance. The food has been outstanding. It's a great shame that the rooms need some TLC! But will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank modan45
DHhotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Customer, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we always aim to promote a high standard of welcome friendliness and I am so pleased that our team achieved this and ensured that you had a fabulous stay. We look forward to welcoming you to back to The Durrant House Hotel very soon.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Friends of ours came last year and were so impressed asked if we could join them for a self drive 5 day break. So impressed from the minute we stepped inside the door. We had a super room, very airy, very soundproof, super view across to the fields and river. Then came the meals, fantastic value with 3 courses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiV0n
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback, I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, your comments are gratefully received and I will ensure that these are passed on to all the staff. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
0.7 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
355 reviews
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
40 reviews
2.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
489 reviews
0.8 km away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#5 of 12 in Bideford
189 reviews
23.0 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Durrant House

Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Price Range: $131 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Durrant House staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Durrant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Disabled rooms are available. Lift is small ,not suitable for a disabled scooter.”
stonewakely, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book somewhere else!”
terrybT8095DJ, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Estuary view room”
LibraryMike, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 101. Quiet , nice out look and this room is large, nice modern bathroom.”
ValW231, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 127 is Suitable for Disabled Guests (NB: Bring your own shower stool if needed!)”
KaelaLee, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5