We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newbegin House

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Newbegin House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Newbegin House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 279: English reviews
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We wanted somewhere special to stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Newbegin House was just perfect in every respect. On arrival we were made very welcome by Walter and treated to coffee and biscuits in the privacy of the house's sunny and spacious garden. The guided tour and history of the place added a further interesting dimension. The Appleton room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scarboroughlass1949
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with a stay at Newbegin House, and wish you many more years of happiness together. Best wishes, Walter and Nuala

Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at Newbegin House, which sums up everything that is good about our B&B's. This wonderful old house is tucked away just off the town centre of Beverley, is full of character and has off-road parking. Guests are made to feel immediately welcome by the charming and friendly hosts, Walter and Nuala. Bedrooms are very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric_n_Gill
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for staying with us and for such a brilliant review. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Beverley. Regards, Walter and Nuala

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I am reluctant to give this bed and breakfast the excellent review it deserves in fear of not being able to get in next time we wish to visit Beverley ! What an absolute gem of a place ... so full of character and charm and with Walter and Nuala the perfect hosts. The Iveson room was delightful and provided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mumoftwo1974_13
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your eulogistic comments, which are very gratifying. We love running Newbegin House and welcoming people like you to our home. We were thrilled to note that, after repeated visits, you are already looking ahead with a view to coming to Beverley again. Regards, Walter and Nuala

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

My husband and I went to Newbegin House for our wedding anniversary, what a great choice we made, the welcome we received was so different to anywhere else we have been (and we go away a lot), Our room had everything you could possibly need, the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up on a morning (normally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stokereileen
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the trouble to write about "the best sleep for many years". We are thrilled to be able to provide at least a temporary cure for insomniacs. The secret lies in providing mattresses with a vast number of pocket springs with natural top quality coverings, crisp cotton sheets and duvets...

Cheltenham
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Having spent years looking for somewhere 'original' in Beverley, Newbegin came up on Tripadvisor as #1 B&B - and well deserved it is. Walter is a delightful character and host, full of wit and wisdom and although a professional man he is also an excellent cook and Nuala's porridge was superb - especially with the whisky. Newbegin House is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HanoverCheltenham
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. "Old fashioned perfection" really sums up our values, and we are delighted that, on this occasion at least, we measured up. We very much look forward to welcoming you to Newbegin again. Regards, Walter and Nuala

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Had expectations of high-class accommodation from reading other reviews.Somewhat disappointed to find a property in rather less than top-notch condition, though our room was comfortable enough, whilst somewhat overdressed. Comfortable bed, acceptable bathroom, though no shower. Good central location, it must be said, and good breakfast, though not rave-worthy. This may be enough to persuade many travellers to book. You...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank christine s
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed in the condition of Newbegin House. I estimate we have spent around £500,000 on renovations and improvements. It will never be like new, as it is a 270 years old listed Georgian house. We would welcome ideas on how it could be further improved. You stayed in the Iveson...

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

On arrival we were warmly welcomed and helped by Kayleigh. Walter and Nuala are charming hosts who ensure your stay is as comfortable as is possible. The very large drawing room was spacious and comfortable with some delightful finishing touches (sherry decanter, biscuits, chocolate sweets and various toiletries. Breakfast was delightful with a good selection of hot - cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chuff2
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind and appreciative review. It was a pleasure to have you staying at Newbegin House. Regards, Walter and Nuala

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

One of the finest breakfasts you will be likely to experience. The porridge - with a splash of fine Malt Whisky, if you wish - will set you up for the day. Comfortable beds, an interesting Georgian house, within walking distance of excellent restaurants and places of interest, on site parking. What more do you want?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank De-novo
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you for your eulogistic comments about our B&B, despite which we note that you decided to give us only 4 stars overall. Regards, Walter and |Nuala

South Yorkshire
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Newbegin house overnight when going to Beverley races. The guesthouse is about a 20 min walk from the racecourse itself. We had a great night, the rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was a delight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lozza020
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your pithy review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Newbegin House while attending Beverley Races. Regards, Walter and Nuala

Lancashire England
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed for a long weekend in this rather grand Georgian house which is so full of character. We were made very welcome by our hosts Walter and Nuala. And yes, as other guests have already mentioned the breakfasts are something special. Walter takes great pride in championing local producers. It all makes for a friendly relaxed stay in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ludworth
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Beverley and your stay at Newbegin House. Regards, Walter and Nuala

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
5.2 km away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
671 reviews
0.6 km away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#2 of 15 in Beverley
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Price Range: $90 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newbegin House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Newbegin House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent and very different.”
bkescape, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“"The Drawing Room" could easily sleep a family of 4, and has bath & shower”
Jennylmooney, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All of them looked good”
timssailing, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Iverson room overlooks the lovely garden”
ReaderAnne, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are excellent”
887denisej, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5