We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Midland Hotel

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Start your review of The Midland Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and 3 others were traveling on Tornado, the Steam Train and as one member of our party is disabled, it was only prudent that we find somewhere close to the Railway Station for Lunch. The Midland Hotel was that choice, it is only a hundred yards or so from the Platform, so is ideally situated. I made the Table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
Manchester
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Wow!!! I wanted a friendly hotel with a warm ambience and good home cooking. The Midland met my needs and more. A great location for exploring the area. We were in Room 4, the larger of the rooms with plenty of space and beautifully decorated. All publics area were tastefully decorated to an extremely high quality. You really don't need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you David for taking time to leave such a lovely review, what you have experienced is what we strive too achieve with all our guests. Thanks again.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stayed at the Midland with friends. All rooms were beautiful and clean. Breakfast and evening meals were delicious. We were made to feel welcome, Appleby is a lovely town. Would stay at the Midland again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevecollie49
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

thanks so much for taking the time to review the hotel and food, it was great looking after you all, hope to see you again!

Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Good food with friendly and efficient service. The meals were well prepared and of good quality and volume. It was mid week and early in the evening so it was very quiet in the resaurant but there was a comfortable atmosphere. A nice meal out at a reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to leave such a lovely review, and we are glad you enjoyed your evening with us.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Pleasant room. Lovely dinner and breakfast although continental breakfast was a bit skimpy, could supply fruit and yoghurt for breakfast. Cereal and toast not quite enough. Perhaps some pastries. Recently refurbished and decor very tasteful. Thankyou hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyntwin05
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, dinner and the decor in your room (we were thrilled when you said was the best on your trip!) We loved looking after you at the end of your holiday. To clarify for future customers we would like to point out we serve a "Full English" cooked breakfast, the...

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst attending my brothers wedding. Lovely clean room, with every thing you would expect. Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients with a pre arranged time that suits all Very friendly pub downstairs and owners (Clive & Ami) would do anything to make your stay memorable Thanks very much

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

it was a pleasure to look after you and your family, thanks you for taking the time to review us and hopefully we'll see you all again soon? Cheers, Amie & Clive

Reviewed 21 July 2016

Stayed here after the penultimate leg of the Lady Anne's Way. Obviously the hosts are used to walkers as we were wet and muddy but received a warm welcome. Room was comfortable, clean, quiet and with all modern facilities. It was unfortunate that the hotel did not serve food on a Sunday but the host was able to recommend other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. Sorry about the food on Sunday evenings, we serve a Sunday Roast from 12pm to 2pm, by which time we've usually sold out! Hope you didn't get too wet again on the Monday, kind regards, Amie & Clive

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Just been here for a night whilst visiting family. The room was gorgeous with everything you would need, dinner was cooked to perfection along with breakfast! The staff are the heart and soul of this hotel, you will feel right at home! Already planning our trip back! Thank you ever so much ! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJR24
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to look after you both, see you again soon, Amie & Clive x

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We wished to visit the Settle-Carlisle railway amongst other place so looked for a suitable hotel midway on the route. The Midland satisfied this requirement and so we booked in for 3 nights. On arrival we were greeted by staff and bags taken to our room overlooking Appleby station - perfect ! The hotel is an old building but is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SussexBoy24
Clive B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review, I'm glad we ticked all the boxes

West Runton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Booked this as a night on the way home from Scotland, and so that we could go on the Carlisle-Settle railway. We were slightly anxious when we arrived, as it doesn't look that great from the outside, but we were very warmly welcomed by the barman and shown to our room, which was stunning! Fabulously stylish, mainly black & white...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 27Tibby
Clive B, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, we get a lot of people staying on the way to Scotland or coming back. Pleased you picked up on the fact everybody is looked after. Everyone is treated like a local here, whether they are here 10 minutes or all year round

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleby hotels
0.4 km away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
276 reviews
0.7 km away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.8 km away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 15 in Appleby
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Bongate House
Bongate House
#8 of 15 in Appleby
72 reviews
1.0 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#6 of 15 in Appleby
90 reviews
0.5 km away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#5 of 15 in Appleby
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Midland Hotel has 5 fully re-furbished en-suite rooms, a lovely bar and restaurant. We have three hand-drawn pumps offering a selection of local award-winning beers, ales, traditional ciders and perrys. Cumbrians are fond of their pub food and our menu includes some of the all-time favourites: local butcher's Cumberland sausage in a giant Yorkshire Pudding, lasagne made with best minced steak & red wine, ham & eggs or steak & ale . The Midland is known for its speciality dishes too. Daily specials can include a creamy Italian risotto, a range of Mediterranean treats in the tapas style menu, a Thai curry and there's always a selection of vegetarian specials. We aim to use as many locally-sourced ingredients as we can and make as many of our dishes on site as possible. We use Appleby Creamery's award-winning cheeses in our speciality dishes or you can have a selection as a light meal or dessert. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Midland Hotel

Address: 25 Clifford Street, Appleby CA16 6TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Price Range: $70 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Midland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was at the back of the hotel very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles stevecollie49, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only used the hotel for a meal so no knowledge of the rooms or prices”
 of 5 bubbles 317philn, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“At the back, as we were, is probably better: there was a very slight amount of music coming up from downstairs but it stopped very promptly.”
 of 5 bubbles 27Tibby, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms equally good, we beleve, having stayed once before in different rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 907derekc, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you are concerned about bar noise don't be: the owners are very careful to ensure that music is turned off at 11pm and there are rooms which are not situated above the bar. Despite two events being on (unusual but it was Halloween!) and the bar being quite noisy, we found that as soon as you entered the resident staircase the noise level substantially diminished.”
 of 5 bubbles GattiGrigi, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5