We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Douneside House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aboyne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Douneside House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 228: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Living in rural Aberdeenshire, it's lovely to finally review somewhere local. We live 8 miles from Douneside House, and I am a member at Douneside Health Club. After hearing good reports from friends we decided to stay the night to celebrate my husband's birthday. We received a warm welcome from Jim, who gave us a quick tour of the house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently spent a night at Douneside House and we're very impressed with the recently refurbished hotel. We arrived to welcoming and attentive staff and an open fire in the lounge - just what we needed on a late afternoon in December. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a beautiful ensuite bath / shower room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brenda299424
Edinburgh
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just back from having an amazing evening in Douneside House. They have spent an awful lot of money with a really top quality refurbishment yet have lost none of the character of this terrific small hotel. I managed to sneak into a couple of rooms just in case I got lucky, bumped into the Head Housekeeper, Carolanne who opened a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJWEdinburgh
douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this review

Many thanks for the fantastic review, we're all very glad you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by the team. Very sorry I missed you on this occasion and so I look forward to meeting you personally on your return visit! Kind regards, Marcel.

Aberdeen
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read their article in Trend Magazine it was a perfect retreat to celebrate our friends up and coming "special" birthday. Beacuse there was 6 of us we booked the Gate Hous. Beautifully decorated cottage that slept all 6 of us very nicely. The wood burning stove in the living room is lovely. The main hotel is stunning and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna72Aberdeen
douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this review

Dear Donna, Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review, I'm so glad your party enjoyed their stay in Gatehouse and thanks for choosing us to celebrate your friend's special day! I'm particularly glad to hear our staff were sharing the history of the House, which is so important to understanding the whole ethos of Douneside. Hope...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first time visiting Douneside after hearing good reviews from a friend - we were not disappointed. The location is lovely, perfect for a peaceful break. We enjoyed time in the health club swimming pool and visited nearby Braemar and some hiking trails. For dinner we had the 6 course tasting menu which was a real delight. My...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lucy B
douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this review

It was our pleasure having you both to stay and we look forward to your return! Many thanks, Marcel.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Drove 30 miles to Douneside House for lunch today. The house is beautifully redecorated so we were surprised and disappointed to be shown into an undecorated room adjacent to the kitchen. There were only two couples for lunch but I was able to easily touch the two adjacent tables they were so close. The napkins were made of paper. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather J
douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review Douneside. I'm pleased to hear the service was excellent, however, we're very disappointed to hear that you weren't completely satisfied. We very much want each and every guest to have a memorable experience. We tend to sit all our guests in the bar area for lunch as it is a more relaxed...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful place in a Beautiful setting, perfect for a romantic escape. The interior and attention to detail is outstanding & the service is first class. The food is fine dining, brilliant quality but portions are on the smaller side (so not the place if your starving; but maybe I just eat more than most) Its quality over quantity. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank snafu1989
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent weekend spent at Douneside House. Staff were very attentive and lots to do. Walk around the large gardens where they grow plenty veg for the kitchens. Swimming pool, sauna,steam room, gym, table tennis, putting, croquet. Excellent facilities. Food very high standard. Tragic story of the MacRobert family. There is a book that you can purchase written by a local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and I hope you enjoyed reading Marion Miller's book about the MacRobert family and Douneside! We recently had Marion visit and she delivered a fascinating presentation to all our staff about the history of Douneside. Our staff recognised some of the antique furniture which we still have in some of the bedrooms in the...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We have stopped at Douneside House on 5 occasions now and we have never been disappointed. This hotel is basically for HM Forces serving and retired however does now take civilians. Facilities include Gym and Swimming pool Sauna and games room plus loads of NT near by and excellent walks in this Beautiful part of Scotland. Rooms and choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave W
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing stay at Douneside House. We stayed in the Gatehouse Cottage which was so lovely and quaint. It's 3 ensuite bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and pristine with just the right balance of country cottage versus modern living. The cosy living room, complete with log burner, looks out over the amazingly picturesque grounds. We took the short walk up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leanne H

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
10.8 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
7.6 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
337 reviews
36.0 km away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Braemar
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
537 reviews
9.3 km away
Mill of Dess Lodge
Mill of Dess Lodge
#3 of 3 in Aboyne
9 reviews
1.6 km away
Aberdeen Arms Hotel Tarland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Douneside House is a truly special place. A calm and civilised retreat from a busy and hectic world, you can expect a warm welcome, fine dining and luxurious comfort in this most hospitable and unique Highland country house on Royal Deeside. Set in seventeen acres of landscaped gardens, Douneside House lies at the heart of The MacRobert Trust Estate in the Howe of Cromar by the Cairngorms National Park. Douneside is an excellent centre from which to explore the North East Highlands of Scotland and to take part in traditional sporting activities such as fishing and stalking, hill walking and ski-ing. The Douneside Health Club is fully equipped with a 18 station fitness suite, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna for the use of our guests. Outside we have an all-weather tennis court and croquet, badminton and putting on our splendid 2 acre lawn. There's plenty to do without leaving Douneside House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Douneside House

Address: Tarland, Aboyne AB34 4UL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Price Range: $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Douneside House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Douneside House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are at the front of the house”
 of 5 bubbles 789davew, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very few of the rooms have a bath so ask for one and book well in advance if you want one.”
 of 5 bubbles E5645LDjohnb, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 6. Fantastic views. Lovely bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles lindsayburnett001, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 4 and 6 have best views”
 of 5 bubbles moyreenw, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All will be good.”
 of 5 bubbles petersN2134AJ, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5