We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 390: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Freezing cold hotel! Reception staff told us the heating was on during the evening. This grand old building gets very very cold during the day considering the sub zero temperatures outside but the staff expect guests to be comfortable after the heating has been put on. The building is vast and will surely be cheaper to keep warm all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your views and I apologise sincerely for the inconvenience caused by the poor heating, especially in the Ballroom. You are correct when you say the building is vast and given the extremely cold spell we have had these last few weeks, we have had the heating on 24 hours per...

Tipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here on a shearings break, nice hotel shame about some of the staff especially the reception staff wasn't very friendly, but the one lady receptionist did like sitting in front of the fire to eat her dinner didn't matter that the guests would like to sit there, the staff in the bars and restaurant work very hard and are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback which I assure you will be addressed with the entire team, especially the Reception team for the poor service you received from them and for this I sincerely apologise, this is not the image we wish to project to any of our guests. I also apologise for the inadequate heating in...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Oh 'deer' Shearing’s where has all your Christmas spirit gone? Our annual jaunt to the Royal hotel Weymouth for our Turkey and Tinsel break started with a very rainy journey and continued to be a bit of a washout for our stay. We've been going to Weymouth and staying at the Royal for Turkey and Tinsel, for many years, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nora H
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your views from your recent Turkey & Tinsel break. I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay and for the bad weather we had whilst you were here, the weather I'm afraid I have no control over. It seems there has been...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

7 women between 60 -80 years old descended on the Bay Royal hotel. I personally with another friend went into a double room which was cold and did not overlook the sea. I immediately went to reception and in no time We were transferred next to our friends and couldn't fault the room. We also couldn't fault anything else. Apart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lin1308
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves here at the Royal Hotel, I'm glad to hear Hurricane Angus didn't impact too much on your visit to Weymouth, it was pretty scary! I look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit. Regards to you and all the Ladies Steve. Steve...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great Seaview. And the staff were lovely. On a shearing trip. And as all ways good value for money. The coach driver Paul was excellent.e easy to get to the town. Food at the hotel was good. are room was very comfortable . It is a old Victorian hotel. But this is much to its charm. And...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Freda B
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Freda, I am so pleased to read your review and to see that you and your Mum had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Royal Hotel, Weymouth. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, We hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Regards Steve. Steve Stott General Manager

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I have just returned from a four day break with National holidays. We had a lovely sea view (no extra cost) room 207 which was the last room along the corridor so no noise from other rooms or the lift. I was disappointed at not having a bath (I always ask for this when on my own...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen B
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you for the lovely review and your kind comments about our property and the team who looked after you so well during your stay. I am delighted to hear you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will come back and see us again soon and let me have your thoughts on...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good weekend again lovely hotel in a stunning setting good rooms good service and nice and clean good service in the bars and dining .Very good all round lovely place had a great weekend will be back again soon.It was easy to walk to the town too

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessie06
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your views from your recent stay with us here at the Royal Hotel, Weymouth. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your return visit and everything was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Regards Steve Stott General Manager

Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for long weekend visit from Hertfordshire. Room 114 was excellent, one of their updated premier rooms. Overlooking the sea front at the western end of the building with big bay window. Windows were a little loose fitting and did not close perfectly but with heavy curtains was no problem, draughtwise. Only problem was the lighting. Like most hotels these...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian C
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you for your feedback and for being so informative to other Trip Advisor readers, I am sure it will be very useful and appreciated as it is by me. I will certainly relay your comments regarding the lighting to enable future refurbishment programmes to look at alternative options. We hope to see you again in the very...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

the room was excellent, nice and warm with a lovely sea view,a very nice bathroom, also tea and coffee laid on could not fault it. also a lovely big double bed. the resteraunt was very nice and the food was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bandre123
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your views of your recent stay with us, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the team will be delighted with the feedback. We hope to see you again very soon. Regards Steve. Steve Stott General Manager

cheshire
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The Royal Hotel is a very nice to stay in,very clean and comfortable,staff very polite and food was ok. Well situated in the resort, a pleasant walk away from the busy town. A seaview room is best worth the upgrade, but 4days was enough for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lavenderCheshire
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I really appreciate your comments and I am pleased to hear that everything was to your liking, we very much hope to see you again on your next visit to Dorset. Regards Steve. Steve Stott General Manager

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#4 of 22 in Weymouth
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
3.6 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
935 reviews
0.6 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#9 of 22 in Weymouth
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: $96 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
rhyl north wales
over a year ago
Hampshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views are incredible”
 of 5 bubbles NoraH958, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“seaview rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles lin1308, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea views.lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 21fredab, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea view is nice”
 of 5 bubbles jessie06, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for sea view Premier or Superior rooms. A little more expensive but worth it for the views.”
 of 5 bubbles briancP6908LG, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay