We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Hotels.comUS$84*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 429: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

26 May - Receptionist was curt and unwelcoming on arrival. The following day 27 May on the evening of our wedding anniversary I had injured my foot, asked if we could order food, again with the same rude & abrupt manner told that food finished at 8pm. Next morning 28 May we asked to borrow an iron and board, told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeFleurie
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful hotel great atmosphere good food staff please take recommend it to anyone on there own sherrings are a great company that travel there regularly.Great day excursions very handy to ammenities station,town centre restaurants beach. Clean rooms nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Gluten free menu as well as a good variety of choice great entertainment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilianl b
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your valuable feedback. I have passed your lovely comments on to the staff. I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel wonderful and enjoyed the atmosphere. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went near the end of March on a Shearings holiday weekend. The hotel is in a lovely location but sadly needs some money spending on it. Our room which had a sea view was a bit "worn" and we had wind howling through the old windows. The staff where great and the food was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike C
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found the location lovely and the staff great. We are currently in the process of planning major refurbishments here at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

old hotel. .beautiful position. food really good. staff excellent. not enough of them, room 320 bed .disgusting. carpet filthy. bathroom also needs attention. Customer does not set the price but how is this room 3 star. bed with foam thing from reception slept on duvet. under flat sheet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valerie a
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am extremely shocked to hear your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and can assure you this a rare occurrence here at the Hotel. I can also assure you that had any issues been raised during your stay we would have rectified them...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travelled on Good Friday and left Easter Monday, Nice weekend, good journey. We travelled with Shearings on a coach trip.The hotel is an old hotel and really needs some refurbishment in the rooms, especially the window frames, these need replacing. The food whilst not gourmet is adequate and the staff are first class.The one complaint we have really is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hendo49
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your valuable feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel position and staff to be first class. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the service we provide and are in the process of planning our refurbishments. I have...

manchester
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Just back from a 4 night stay with Shearings -A well positioned hotel clean, comfortable and good food and service. The tables in the dinning rooms are a little cramped (but thats nit picking) dont let that put you off. We had a sea view room well worth the extra -It was a bit small particularly the ensuite. In short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derek k
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and for your valuable feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you found the Hotel to be in a good position, comfortable and with good food and service. We are continually looking for ways to improve the service we provide and your comments regarding...

birmingham
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Firstly the traffic was a bit of a nightmare travelling down on the coach on Good Friday, but our driver did his best to avoid the jams. The hotel is in a good position in the middle of the front, but was disappointed with some of the interior, which was not as nice as other shearing hotels we have been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ollie54
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found the Hotel to be in a good position. We have taken your comments regarding your room on board for our future refurbishments. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with...

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Fortunate enough to pick a lovely weekend in the run up to Easter. Lovely room with a sea view, but as with much of the hotel, a lick of paint would not go amiss. Speedy check in and could not fault the service in the restaurant . Centrally located hotel, but do not be fooled by the signs on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 767JAMES
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent visit and I am pleased to hear that all in all your stay was an enjoyable one and everything within our control was to your liking. Regarding the Tourist Information, we do have a lot of guests asking for this and although there is a new small office it does...

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We were given a sea view room which we paid extra for. The room itself was quite big and a good view of the sea. However the bathroom that consisted of a shower toilet and small sink was very small, and did not find it very clean. Food was ok, the cooked breakfast was cold and the porridge was sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel B
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your views of your recent stay with us here at the Royal Hotel, I appreciate your comments and have addressed the issues raised with my team. I apologise that not everything was to your liking and for the delays in the Restaurant, we aim to improve the situation as quickly...

Lancashire
Reviewed 9 April 2017

First class beach across the road, easy walk to town and harbour makes the Royal ideally situated on the Esplanade. Sea view rooms have wonderful views all round the bay. My bedroom/bathroom was clean and comfortable with satisfactory housekeeping. Service at meal times was quick and efficient (Helga again!). I prefered the self service breakfast and the evening meal menus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladytraveller6
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and kind words, Helga will be equally delighted that you mentioned her, she is an excellent team member and I will take great pleasure in relaying your feedback to her. I hope to welcome you back in the very near future and thank you once again for taking the time to give us...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
456 reviews
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.4 km away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: $136 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
rhyl north wales
over a year ago
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 month ago
2 months ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early”
lilianlb2013, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay more foe a better room, insist it is cleaned and Check the bed b4 unpacking”
541valeriea, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Request Sea view.”
Hendo49, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“sea view rooms with balcony”
767JAMES, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view”
U286KNrachelb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$84* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$84
TravelocityUS$84
Orbitz.comUS$84
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates