We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Russell Hotel

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Russell Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Russell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 607: English reviews
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Stayed here in October for 5 days. Excellent super friendly Hotel. Brilliant atmostphere in Lounges every night, various quizzes and Bingo, and vocalists. I found this Hotel very homely, having stayed at Its sister Hotel Prince Regent and enjoyed that immensely before,I was'nt sure what to expect at the Russell, but for a traditional seaside Hotel I couldnt fault It....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juedale
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 6 November 2016

just had a six night stay at the russel hotel weymouth entertainment excerlent bat not to expensive rooms ok it was just the food i cant belive that no one seem to complain with the average ageof persons stopping was 75s frozen precooked meat ie boil in the bag frozen coli frozen carrots ect only 2 veg on dinner warmed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaun F
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback of the Russell Hotel. We are very surprised and disappointed to read your views of the food you were served. We have been consistently getting very good reviews for the food we serve to our guests. We don't have any record of your complaint at the time, so were unable to remedy the problems you...

lincs
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely few days at the Russell hotel.staff very helpful, good food plenty of it,then on way home we had a very bad car accident.We were taken to hospital and few cuts & bruises and the car is a right off.So was not a good ending to our hols

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clifford17lincs
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry to read about your journey home and hope that you are making a full recovery. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We had a short stay , staff were nice and friendly, Bar was reasonably priced Entertainment was good Food was varied,standard fair, always served on time. Could have done with orange juice on table. Great to be able to use the Prince Regent Hotel next door

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank astongas
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

5 day coach trip with mum who is disabled - excellent service from hotel, everything was done for us to enjoy our stay including seating in dining room by door opposite lift so we had easy wheelchair access.,bedroom was on ground floor

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

First must say the staff are excellent entertainment splendid step out front door your straight on promenade dining room hadn't got enough tables for two and queueing to get one when you book your holiday and ask for table why can't it be done then some company's do that

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank doreenhudson
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Hinckley
Reviewed 22 October 2016

To start with first impressions of the Hotel at the Front from the outside looked as though it was desperately in need of a lot of paint and especially a good clean up. Our room was situated at the back which wasn't a problem although a long walk from the lift. There was no Wardrobe except a cupboard made into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smastorm
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Russell Hotel. We have been working through a long list of repairs since taking over the hotel and are planning to revamp the reception and add a new coffee shop in Early 2017. Please accept our aplogies again for the housekeeping not being to our usual standards. I think...

Stourbridge
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Just had Saturday to Wednesday at The Russell Hotel Weymouth with Daishes coaches. We have been before and enjoyed it. We had a room on the 3rd floor and the room was very clean and modern. The twin beds had been put together so made one very large bed which was very comfortable. There are generous tea and coffee milk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carole C
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Russell Hotel. Please accept our apologies for the lack of hot water, there was a problem with the boilers affecting a small number of rooms which we rectified as quickly as possible. We are very pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being able to...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We found staff very helpful and the food excellent for the price we paid .entertainment every night but as we had been to this hotel before we found entertainment the same as previous visits. The hotel itself is very nice and postioned well on the seafront of Weymouth. Near to shops .Bus stop just outside the door running to all...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank paula j
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Check in was fast and efficient. We got our room on the first floor with sea view as asked for. The restaurant could do with one more waiter/ess as existing staff were rushed off their feet trying to keep up. The quality of the food has improved and the Soya Milk provided was much appreciated. A choice of evening entertainment...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnno186284
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We can confirm that we will be undergoing some refurbishments early next year but the full scope is not finalised yet. We hope you will return to see the changes.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.9 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
447 reviews
1.0 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
11.8 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: $99 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russell Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Worcester, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Russell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not Be da pest!”
 of 5 bubbles robarthugh, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view for the best rooms”
 of 5 bubbles bbish935, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms with a sea view are good value”
 of 5 bubbles tomll960, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“up grade if you can”
 of 5 bubbles dennisf80, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 152 I do have photos and can share”
 of 5 bubbles sueshaw_11, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates