We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,717: English reviews
Bath
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rates for this hotel are quite expensive. The rooms are very pleasant, the staff courteous and helpful, the meals tasty, the public rooms spacious and clean ... but at over £200 per room per night, we might have expected a superior experience, rather than something not quite there. Dinner in the restaurant was good quality but again very expensive....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bpavison
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear bpavison, Thank you for taking the time and effort on sharing your stay experience with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and services and have taken your comments onboard accordingly.

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I rarely feel the need to post a review on the day I check out, but today is an exception! The hotel itself is lovely, the building is characterful and the views are quite literally awesome. Sadly, I feel the management use this to charge high rates and fail on the little things. Some of the staff were great, Ricky...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cathie J
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cathie J, We would ike to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to apologise firstly for any inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay but would ike to share a few points with you accordingly. You made a booking directly with the hotel, via the web, instead of...

Romford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a feature suite but what i got was a nice room with lake views. I have no idea what makes the room a suite rather than just a room??. The views from the room were nice of the lake and Bowness tourist boats. The lounge bar in the hotel was nice with (again) nice views of the lake....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ianrRGC
Leigh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Slightly tired looking on the outside but magnificent on the inside. Our lake view room was beautiful and immaculate. Generally the staff were courteous and helpful. Slight disappointment would be luke warm self service breakfast (piping hot when served straight from the kitchen) and the evening waiter service in the bar which seemed like hard work. The extortionate valet parking...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julieck
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julieck, Thank you for your feedback with reference to your recent stay. I thought I should inform you that we were forced to serve a "hot" buffet" breakfast one morning due to the fact that the main gas supply to the hotel was interrupted for a few hours, which as you can imagine caused a few operational challenges as...

Ormskirk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night recently, was a little dubious as had read recent negative comments on trip advisor, couldnt have been further from the truth. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted by pleasant, courteous staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. On checking in , informed we had been upgraded to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lesly C, We highly appreciate your kind comment about our staf, facilities, services and standards with reference to your recent stay at the hotel.

Billinge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visit here every year on our annual trip. We were very disappointed with the service at the bar over looking the lake and the tidiness of that area. We were there for approx 3 hours relaxing reading the papers taking the views in. Not once did the bar staff come to us, even after having several drinks to remove...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank S V
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear S V, Thank you for your comments with reference to our bar staff for which I would like to apologise first. I have now shared your comments which each individual member of staff at the bar/lounge area as I am as dissapointed as you are. I have asked them all for immediate improvement on service standards as what you...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First time to the Lake District and heard that this hotel was good. Was bit pricey for 2 nights round £250 which was what you expect from a good place. The food is expensive so wouldn't recommend eating here. You cannot check in till 4 which isn't the best. It's £20 a day to park also which for a pricey...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joe S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Just come back form a night stay here. The hotel was nice and we stayed in a room overlooking the lake, which was picturesque. We enjoyed both our evening meal and breakfast in the hotel. The evening meal menu was a bit limited in choice but the food quality was good. Service at both meals was a bit slow and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sampson478
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sampson478, Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and meals you enjoyed at the hotel and we are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Blackpool
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for two nights for a friends wedding. The room that we had was at the far end of the building so we just about had a lake view. The rooms were spacious, a really good size for getting ready for a formal dinner and then a wedding the day after. We ate in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisBlackpool
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LisBlackpool, We highly appreciate your kind comments on our staff as well food quality with reference to your recent stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We recently visited the hotel for a night away as couples. We have stayed in bowness,windermere and ambleside alot but never stayed in the macdonald old England. Location - excellent for lake windermere as it's by the edge of the lake and a 2 min slow walk to the boats. Excellent for bars and shops and all within a few...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris R
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chris R, Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us and I appreciate the fact you enjoyed the location of the hotel. The hotel has 4 different parking area's, i.e. 5 disabled car park spaces at the front of the hotel, 10 spaces below the hotel, another 10 spaces on the lft hand side of the hotel and...

845 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (522)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (233)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Classic Room (42)
Viewed
Executive Room (45)
Viewed
Indoor Swimming Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Suite (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,307 reviews
1.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
293 reviews
0.6 km away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
297 reviews
1.4 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $269 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request lake view and higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles nararatb, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in a feature room and did have a good view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles missb821, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Opt for a lake view room if possible”
 of 5 bubbles MrsFargo86, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“See review”
 of 5 bubbles ourfeatheredfriends, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with view over Lake Windermere”
 of 5 bubbles Stanleyscat, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5