We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakbank House

Expedia.comUS$108*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakbank House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oakbank House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 272: English reviews
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My partner and I spent a couple of days at this hotel. It's fair to say we were very disappointed. This hotel is advertised as 5 stars but we think it would struggle to earn 3 stars. The room in General was alright however virtually no place to store your clothes. The big let down was the shower room which...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cara B
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had high hopes of this hotel, the reviews and first impressions are good but beware. We specifically chose the Hotel as it had fitness facilities and felt there was a premium on the price as a result. I agree with others who highlight it as not five star, it was OK but not as good as the billing hence...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Paul T
Reviewed 25 June 2014

So glad I didnt read some of these reviews before my visit! I was more than happy with my stay.perfect poached eggs! Comfy bed! Pleasant team,smiley and polite.relaxed atmosphere.no problem at all with WiFi( even so,who the hell goes away on a mini break to spend time in the room on their fones!!! We certainly didnt!) cant wait to revisit...thankyou...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AngelaPaul2010
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner and I were lucky to get a lovely double room in this busy guesthouse, and it's busy for all the right reasons! Great location and our room (room number 5) had a nice view over looking the lake. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was perfect too. I can't wait till be back there again. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joycec973
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great setting, lake view, in town but not, well decorated but I think they have been too careful with the pennies. No bedside lamps- spot lights in the ceiling tiny breakfast tiny rooms friendly staff. At around £100 BB a night for a couple- more than a mushroom in tiny pieces and a table spoon of beans wouldn't go a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mandy s
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I were absolutely delighted with our 4 night stay at Oakbank House. Location was perfect, just a short walk from the lake and many excellent restaurants. Lovely large room with a big comfortable bed and views over the roof tops to the two arms of Windermere Lake. The bathroom was admittedly very small but adequate. Good choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommyC64
Kinross
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have had an excellent stay. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was extremely friendly and lovely, we were shown to our room and he informed us of everything we needed to know. The room was beautifully decorated, very modern and bright. The room was extremely clean and I couldn't find anything that wasn't cleaned to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ecp15
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked this hotel for its 5* rating and the fact that it boasted a sauna, gym and swimming pool .At £110 per night we expected top of the range but we were rather disappointed. The listed facilities are not on site as we assumed, but rather 50 yds up the road. The shower was of poor performance throughout our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mary K
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. May I first say I am staggered by your comments. You are aware that we spoke for ten minutes on your departure where you said what a wonderful stay you had had and that everything was fine. It appears on reflection you have drastically changed your mind. I am sorry to hear that. Your comment...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

paid extra for superior rooms , the room size was good , comfy bed and nice and quiet ,view over the town and with lake views so good location for the town . .Only one hand towel and only one each of complimentary shampoo and shower gel. plastic drinking cups and a very slow kettle.and just adequate shower, minor tweeks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 380june16
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Oakbank House and for completing your bewildering review. When I personally spent ten minutes chatting to you on departure you advised me that you had had a lovely time and everything had been great. Having had time to reflect on this you have clearly now changed your mind. I am pleased you liked your room...

London
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A nice hotel, with lovely views of the lake from our room (room 9), but the shower never worked properly during the three nights we stayed - we mentioned this twice, but weren't offered a reduction in price at all. There's only one iron in the hotel, in a very dimly lit corridor, where you can't see what you're doing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TimP2005
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing some feedback. I am pleased you rated our cleanliness, sleep quality, breakfast and location so highly. I am sorry your shower did not work at 100% efficiency on the second and third days of your stay. You will no doubt recall I attempted to repair it but was unable to and apologised...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
690 reviews
0.3 km away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
318 reviews
0.3 km away
Number 80
Number 80
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
476 reviews
0.3 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
369 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#29 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $144 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakbank House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oakbank House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get in early for a front car park space as rear parking is tight and try the scrambled egg with salmon for breakfast!”
Site-webmaster, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“The lake view rooms are a must if available. We were in Room 4.”
  • View from our room (4)
294kirka, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1st floor lake view room 6”
Gnash43, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our double room was cold small bed.”
I641SJsusanj, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors probably quieter”
RedPandaFiona, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$108* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$108
Orbitz.comUS$108
TravelocityUS$108
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates