We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 395: English reviews
Start your review of Bannatyne Hotel Durham
 Click to rate
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed 1 night in this hotel and at a good price, we expected no fuss. Checked in 1 hour early by nice reception staff and had a 1st floor room as requested. Room was a decent size with everything you need. Clean and tidy, with a few stains on the sofa and headboard, didnt bother us but may put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber T
Middlesbrough
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent a lovely night here as part of a spa deal I booked on the Bannatyne website would highly recommend it. £140 for 2 people bed breakfast and lunch 45 muinet treatment for the both of us and use of the spa for both days a bottle of prosecco and a free gift. Hotel was lovely nice clean room very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauraoxbury
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was very worried about this place having booked for 4 ladies, then found I had an extra £40 on my phone bill! You can't book a spa break direct with the hotel, they give you a head office number which is advertised at 7 p a minute but Vodaphone charge 55p a minute for !! They seem to keen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALLISON2161
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Allison2161, Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am very sorry to learn that you were charged heavily by you phone supplier for the call to the Bannatyne spa booking centre. I will look at ways in which the Hotel can take Spa bookings via a third...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a night here on our way back from Scotland. Clean and good value - the gym is an excellent extra. Breakfast worked well, heading over to the cafe in the gym complex. It's a bit noisy with road noise once you open the windows (there is no other ventilation) but otherwise it was just what we wanted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear AlexandraB, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with your regards to your visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am very happy that you found the visit to be good value, that it was clean and the added benefit of the complementary use of the Health Club. Desk fans are available on request at reception...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a no nonsense hotel. Comfortable bed, immaculately clean and very friendly staff. I didn't make the reservation so I didn't know how much the room was. £50! Couldn't believe what good value it was. Would certainly return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spencersdaddy
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Spencerdaddy , Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review regarding your recent visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am pleased that you found your room to be immaculately clean and that you were pleased with the great value rate. On your return visit book direct and you will receive complimentary use of the Health Club’s...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this hotel rather than a Travel Lodge/Holiday Inn/Premier Inn as I wanted something to do on an evening as I was staying for five nights on my own. Yes the hotel is basic, just like a premier inn style. But it is clean, comfortable and has all you need, tea/coffee, hair dryer and free wifi. Right next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouiseLB
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear LouiseLB, Thank you for choosing Bannatyne Resort Durham, for your recent 5 night stay and sharing your positive review which I am sure other potential guests will also enjoy reading. I am happy that you found the facilities clean and comfortable and that we were able to offer everything that you needed. The use of the Health Club is...

Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So I had to spend a night on business in Durham and the choice of hotels I had on offer were either the Travelodge or Bannatynes. I chose Bannatynes despite a big difference in price because it has to be better than a travelodge right? Nope, pretty much the same standard of hotel but 2 miles out of town for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevep1450
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Stevep1450, Thank you for sharing your review in relation to your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.. I am sorry that the facilities did not live up to your expectations, but I would like to clarify that our pricing structure is not “nearly twice the price of the Travel Lodge”. In addition when you book direct we offer guests...

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

If you are looking to treat someone to a special day then spend a bit extra money going somewhere else. The pool and sauna room all are quite average. When we visited there was a builder doing work on entrance to pool so you had to walk past in swimming clothes which wasnt the best. The massages however were amazing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear KathryD, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent review regarding your recent visit to Bannatyne Spa Durham. I am sorry that there was a builder next to the entrance of the pool hall. The Health Club has recently had some works carried out after hours on a new and exciting addition to the club. I have...

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Had an absolutely lovely spa day here with my mum. Really liked the programmable classes. Pool was lovely and clean. Nice facilities. Highlight of the day was the massage we received. Excellent service from the therapist. Would highmy recommend. Particularly if you can get a good deal with a voucher.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Laura G, Thank you for your lovely comments with regards to your recent Spa day experience at Bannatyne in Durham. It is great that you had an absolutely lovely spa day with your mum and that you found the time to enjoy the virtual classes and wet side facilities. For the chance to win a Spa day please keep...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Firstly the staff are lovely! 5/5 Rooms well it was like a typical travel lodge. Also the TV remote didn't work but we didn't bother reporting this as we didn't use the TV much. 4/5 Spa- well the massage/beauty treatments are fantastic best massage we have had as is the relaxation room. 5/5 Spa Facilities - Nothing felt luxury. Typical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Catherine N, Thank you for sharing your review with regards to your recent visit to the durham Resort. The Hotel offers rooms at great value prices and many of our regular customers agree. I am sorry that you had some trouble with your TV remote. If you had reported this to the receptionist then the issue could have been...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.3 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: $82 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bannatyne Hotel Durham staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Bannatyne Hotel Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can either have a view of the A1 or the A690 your choice!”
Stevep1450, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think they would all be noisy from guests walking along corridor”
E1884MZalanc, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I assume rooms at the front would be quieter as I could hear low level traffic, husband said he couldn't!”
LauraLou_11, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem equally good - there is a lift and 24 hour staffed reception”
ivorrickwood, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any would be suitable as hotel quiet”
MargiS_12, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5