We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All reviewsparking permittop floorlovely guesthouseuniversity citycentral locationtravelled by trainbus stationshort walkbeautiful citymarket squarecooked breakfastlocation is excellentlarge roomdefinitely stay here againbreakfast was excellenta wonderful staycomfortable bed
Ideally located for a visit to Durham city center which is a short walk across an old bridge straight into the center .
Castleview ( well named ) is well decorated and welcoming . We stayed in room 6 , a large room with good...More
Thank Mike Y
Response from dmaxwilliams, Manager at Castle View Guest HouseResponded 9 April 2018
Many thanks for your wonderful review. Appreciate all comments.
My husband had a 'special' birthday to celebrate, he had wanted to visit Durham cathedral, so after checking out TripAdvisor i chose 'Castle View Guest house', and it didn't disappoint.
After a long car journey we arrived to a warm welcome from Mrs Williams, had...More
Slight confusion with booking in time but sorted. Beautifully allocated rooms with views of Cathedral & Castle. Rooms are sumptuous and bathroom well appointed. Best Northern Hospitality as always. Tried Ye Olde Elm Tree Inn up the hill for wonderful local fare. Woke up to...More
1 Thank ingridm909
Response from MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest HouseResponded 1 March 2018
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back.
But we can’t promise you the white stuff - this is the first snow we’ve seen in Durham for many a long year.
Came to stay in Durham to visit our daughter who is at uni here. Very accomodating in that we were allowed to check in an hour earlier that usual so we could leave our car outside the guest house. Parking space right outside the door...More
1 Thank Lydia B
Response from MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest HouseResponded 23 February 2018
Thanks for your mostly good review.
The reason that you were short of towels and milk was that the room had been set up for single occupancy. When you arrived with your partner this was inadvertently overlooked but easily remedied.
Sorry we were not around...More