We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 503: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is situated very close to the city centre and other amenities. If you want a 5* hotel then this place is not what you are looking for. The hotel is dated but tidy. The rooms are neatly designed and comfortable . Service was prompt and professional. The food was reasonable. I would return to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was glad to read that you would use our hotel again for your accommodation needs and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night for a Wigan Warriors match, arrived at 3pm and plenty of free parking was available, check in was fast and a reduced price for breakfast the following morning was offered. Breakfast was very good, more options than the sister Ibis brand. We went to our room and a few hours later came downstairs for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was delighted to read that your review, it is always very rewarding to know that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Your comments will be shared with all departments and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Stockton-on-Tees
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my wife for the grand national. It was a nice hotel, modern enough. We arrived very early, yet despite this they changed the room for one that had already been cleaned so that we could get checked in and get ready. This was excellent, although let down by the cleaning supervisor whinging about it to a colleague not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markmichaela
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, although very disappointed to read your comments regarding Housekeeping staff. This is totally unacceptable and I will be speaking with my Head Housekeeper regarding this. I do hope that this did not detract too much from the overall enjoyment of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located just on the outskirts of Wigan town centre at a major junction on the ring road. And there lies the problem. Whilst our first floor room was clean comfy and well appointed it was located on the road side of the building. From about 6am traffic started building up and the noise was disturbing. As we only stayed one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twineyboy
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Being a town centre hotel, unfortunately there is some traffic noise at times and I am sorry if this spoiled your stay with us. We would be more than happy to allocate you a room away from the road on a higher floor, for your next visit. Your...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed there in winter of 2016. The hotel is located in an excellent spot near the town centre, the shopping galleries and the council hall. The problem is that I was slightly disappointed with noise coming from the busy roads just outside the hotel. Also the service needs some improvement. I expected at the rate that I paid to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped for one night as was working in Wigan first impression ok receptionist lovely and pleasant . Rooms very basic Looking at a yard was great views Food very bland I had. Tikka masala with rice should be called loads of rice dish and pice of chicken . Got free wifi but kept tripping out .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was, of course, very unhappy to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and I can only apologise for this. I have discussed the points you raised, particularly your meal, with my Heads of Department to ensure that standards of service are continually monitored and improved where needed. Thank you again...

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was no better than a travelodge and was near twice the price. Worst of all was the service in the restaurant, We booked a table for 6 at 20.00 and finally got seated at 21.10 and got 1st course at 21.30 and the mains at 22.00.... Deserts at 22.35!!! Staff were indifferent to the poor service and blamed short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atay0264
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was obviously extremely disappointed to read your comments and can only apologise that we failed to meet our normally high standards of service. Although we were particularly short staffed at the time, this should not have been highlighted to you and any affect on your service to a minimum. Rest assured, I will be speaking with my Food &...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my husband have just stayed at this hotel this weekend on an all inclusive package. As always we have had a great time. From checking in to checking out the staff cannot do enough to help. The food is lovely and there is so much to choose from. Breakfast is always nice as well. So much choice whether...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whatcanihavethen
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind reviews. We are delighted that you enjoy your stays with us and your comments will be passed on to all our staff - I'm sure that this will encourage them in continuing to offer the highest standards of service possible. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was cheap at £51 for the night. Breakfast was an additional £8. On arrival, check in was slow. My colleague went to the bar and it was incredibly slow - he stood there while we were checking in and after nearly 10 minutes had to come back to reception to ask if there was any service to which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was obviously extremely disappointed to read your comments and can only apologise that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you expected. During quieter periods, the bar is not manned however someone should have been available to serve you immediately and I will certainly be looking into why this did not happen. I have already spoken to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The hotel is tired and needs a refurb. The room was very dark but very clean. usual Accor comfy bed. expelair did not work in bathroom and even though we reported it ; it wasnt fixed. I called to ask why and was offered another room. We had already moved once due to a problem with the initially allocated room....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was very sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay - it is always disappointing to read that a guest did not find our service to their expecations. I am very sorry that there was some problems with your room allocation and bathroom and will be speaking to my Head Receptionist and Maintenance Manager regarding...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wigan hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
4.9 km away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
7.3 km away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are visiting Wigan for business, taking in a game of Rugby or football or simply a relaxing weekend away, The Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel will make you feel right at home with its welcoming atmosphere and first-class cuisine and if you are a golfer, you'll be in seventh heaven too as we've negotiated preferential rates on the 9 and 18 hole courses at Haigh Hall Golf Complex. The hotel offers free parking and free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Price Range: $86 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Wigan, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Swanage
10 months ago
Swanage
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor facing away from the main road.”
168neile, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Select the rooms away from the main busy road.”
, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Think before you book”
V4214QTjohnj, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try a premier inn or travelodge 1st”
atay0264, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sleep was very good on our previous visit , this visit we noticed how thin the walls are.”
evelyng393, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5