We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

RE: Shearings holiday to Paignton 08/08/15 – 15/08/15 Having holidayed with Shearings in the past, I expected what I had already received on these previous holidays, but it was not to be. But first let me start on a positive note, Simon our waiter for the week was wonderful, he was friendly, helpful and considerate, on his nights off we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 255bethc
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 255bethc Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Although yours is not all on the positive side, it does help us to look into ways of improving the holiday experience for future guests. Firstly, we’ll pass on your regards to Simon, Karis, Alex and the Night Porter working Tues evening whom assisted you with your...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

It had been quite a few years since our last visit here. Money has been well spent on this hotel and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We arrived early and couldn`t check in until 3 o`clock but we were issued our car park pass so we re acquainted ourselves with Paignton. Check in was very efficient and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trapper22
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear trapper22 Many thanks for sharing your holiday experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, although I need to point out that we do actually have 2 lifts within our hotel. Officially, the free Cloud Wifi we supply is only designated for our Ground floor public areas. However, certain rooms just off this can sometimes pick it up,...

Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Just driving back from a week spent at this hotel with my family . Overall stay was very pleasurable . A few hick ups at first but staff went out of there way to put right .. More of a pensioner hotel so felt quite young lol.. I have to say the staff make the hotel . From waiting staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet S Many thanks for leaving a review for us on Tripadvisor. We always receive numerous positive comments regarding our team here at the Esplanade, and appreciate you adding to them. Hopefully you’ll use us again the next time you decide to visit the ‘English Riviera’

Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I stayed at this hotel mid-July and found it very clean. Room was very small especially the en-suite but this was manageable for a weeks stay. Food was good and always served hot. Service was good. Towels changed daily which was excellent and room cleaned well. I travelled with Shearings along with some friends so knew that the age of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SL_CNewtonAycliffe
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SL_CNewtonAycliffe Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The acts are supplied by a local agency, so we’ll pass on your comments to them, however, they do change on a regular basis, so should you choose to visit us again, chances are it will be different and possibly...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015

This hotel first is close to the seafront and town nice food although it sometimes felt you were being put on a diet whether you wanted or not, entertainment was a bit poor to be honest, my room was nice but there are some real crumby ones too be warned, its not the place really for kids, but if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gadabout502
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gadabout502 Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed our food, if you feel that the portion size wasn’t adequate, you are more than welcome to notify your waiter/waitress who will happily give you more. Our entertainment generally receives good feedback, but we appreciate it’s quite subjective, and by no means an easy feat to keep everyone happy with so...

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Went with Shearings to Bay Esplanade Friday to Monday. Apart from the horrendous long journey down from Sheffield as there had been an accident, the weekend was very enjoyable. My single room was small but very clean and I had no complaints. The food was standard Shearings fare and acceptable. The hotel is in a nice convenient position from the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank 303mariane
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 303mariane Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Nice to read that you enjoyed your long weekend with us. As you stated in your review, we are fortunate to be in an ideal location; perfect for the town and the beach/harbour, with the added bonus of a multi-screen cinema a stone’s throw away. Hope your...

Normanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

just back from a shearings holiday staying in a single room. Stayed in room 117 on the first floor. very large for a single room, bigger than one or two doubles have stayed in. lovely comfy bed, constant hot water and good quality towels. plenty choice of food and staff friendly. great place. thanks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony W
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Anthony W, for your short but ‘straight to the point’ 5star review. We hope that you’ll give us another visit as this is always the best compliment you can pay us! Thanks for your great comments about the staff and food, which I will pass on. Don’t forget; as I previously stated in another reply, should you visit...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

overall we were happy with our stay, Staff/food were very good, rooms were good value, and the seating area by the bar was fine for a quick drink, But the down side are the upstairs corridors are very shabby, The towels /sheets should really be changed every other day at least on a weekly stay, But the biggest let down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2015dianne
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

We have had major refurbishment work to our lounge/restaurant areas this year, so you are correct stating ‘better than it was’. Many of our guests comments reflect this and it certainly is a big improvement. We don’t necessarily change the towels/sheets everyday due to the environmental impact that would result from this. However, there should have been a sign in...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Much better decor than a few years ago, and the staff are very good especially the breakfast and dinner waiters. Our room was well decorated and the bed was better than expected. The only problems we had was the size of the bathroom, ours was tiny. Sleep quality was poor as our room overlooked the kitchens, this meant noisy extractor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike477
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Mike477 for your review. We have had major refurbishment work to our lounge/restaurant areas this year, so you are correct stating ‘better than it was’. Many of our guests comments reflect this and it certainly is a big improvement. We don’t necessarily change the towels/sheets everyday due to the environmental impact that would result from this. However, there...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I have just returned from my holiday at the Esplanade Hotel in sunny Paignton in the English Riviera. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel last week, my room was clean and comfy, with a nice comfy bed, the food that I had was enjoyable, especially the Pork that I had on Wednesday served by our very friendly waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael S Thank you very much for your review. We remember you and your family very well, and it’s always a pleasure to see you back with us at the Esplanade, as I know you’ve been numerous times now, and you travel a long way to get here! Thank you for your comments about the food and our lovely...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
4.0 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
657 reviews
0.5 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#22 of 89 in Torquay
461 reviews
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.5 km away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#8 of 20 in Paignton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $169 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
birmingham
4 months ago
Grimsby
6 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay the extra and pay for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles gordoncooper1, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for what you require ie extra pillows, raised toilet seat, low floor...”
 of 5 bubbles Q6276WXsueg, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room sizes might be important for some people, best to check.”
 of 5 bubbles johndF9532TK, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles johnp5066, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“In the summer I would possibly have gone for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles NanWatford, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay