We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 470: English reviews
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

overall we were happy with our stay, Staff/food were very good, rooms were good value, and the seating area by the bar was fine for a quick drink, But the down side are the upstairs corridors are very shabby, The towels /sheets should really be changed every other day at least on a weekly stay, But the biggest let down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2015dianne
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

We have had major refurbishment work to our lounge/restaurant areas this year, so you are correct stating ‘better than it was’. Many of our guests comments reflect this and it certainly is a big improvement. We don’t necessarily change the towels/sheets everyday due to the environmental impact that would result from this. However, there should have been a sign in...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Much better decor than a few years ago, and the staff are very good especially the breakfast and dinner waiters. Our room was well decorated and the bed was better than expected. The only problems we had was the size of the bathroom, ours was tiny. Sleep quality was poor as our room overlooked the kitchens, this meant noisy extractor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike477
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Mike477 for your review. We have had major refurbishment work to our lounge/restaurant areas this year, so you are correct stating ‘better than it was’. Many of our guests comments reflect this and it certainly is a big improvement. We don’t necessarily change the towels/sheets everyday due to the environmental impact that would result from this. However, there...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I have just returned from my holiday at the Esplanade Hotel in sunny Paignton in the English Riviera. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel last week, my room was clean and comfy, with a nice comfy bed, the food that I had was enjoyable, especially the Pork that I had on Wednesday served by our very friendly waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael S Thank you very much for your review. We remember you and your family very well, and it’s always a pleasure to see you back with us at the Esplanade, as I know you’ve been numerous times now, and you travel a long way to get here! Thank you for your comments about the food and our lovely...

dorset
Reviewed 17 July 2015

we have just got back from a 4 night stay at The Esplanade hotel. I would first like to list the positives 1 Dee the Manageress at reception was absolutely brilliant. 2 Sully the hotel manager was the best ever, always happy and smiling he was very accommodating. 3 The food was quite nice 4 Lee was a very good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doreen B
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear daisymay08 Many thanks for leaving us a review. Also thank you for listing the positives, as sometimes guests like yourselves that aren’t 100% satisfied with their stay can tend to leave them off. We note that your main grievance was relating to room size. We are in the process of refurbishing the rooms, and, whilst this won’t improve the...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Just had five lovely days at the Esplanade Hotel, Paignton, Devon with Shearings,The Hotel,The Staff and the food were brilliant,a special mention for our waitress Lisa a lovely girl always with a smile who would do anything to help you enjoy your meals, Thankyou lisa 10 out of 10, plus Andy the bar Manager who is a smashing bloke who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daniel d
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel d Thank you for taking the time to review us, and of course a big thanks for giving us 5 stars. We are proud that our team here do go out of their way to try and make an enjoyable holiday for all, as can be seen by your review. I am glad you enjoyed the food and...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Very convient, on seafront, about the first hotel where I've felt really comfortable sitting reading in the spacious lounge (also convient for the bar!), an excellent friendly and efficient staff, good food. Would definately recomend!

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Haydn15
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Haydn15 Many thanks for your 5 star review. I am really pleased to read your review. The problem sometimes with Tripadvisor is some people can focus on the negatives. However, reviews like yours give a fairer balanced view for potential bookers. We hope that you will return in the not-too-distant future. Thank you

Reviewed 6 July 2015

Stayed here for a week on a Shearing coach tour. We wanted a table for two in the dining room so telephoned the hotel, and this is just what we got. Public rooms seemed to have been refurbished but the passageways to the bedrooms needed some TLC. We found the food absolutely fine, we did not dine until 7pm but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beverly r
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beverly r Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your stay, and that you are planning to return. Our en-suites aren’t admittedly the biggest that you’ll probably encounter, but we like to feel that our location and staff make up for these shortcomings, and can only apologies for the size. We have...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Travelled to this hotel with sh earrings twice before, always enjoyed our stays, hotel comfortable and in process of updating, staff helpful and mostly pleasant, beware restaurant manager!! A very unhelpful man with a very surely manner towards some guests and his staff his attitude is totally out of character to any of the other staff, all in all we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila G
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Shelia G for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased you chose to holiday with us again and thanks for your kind comments about the staff, especially Lisa, however apologies you found our restaurant manager un-helpful, he is usually a very polite and helpful member of staff, who would be upset if he thought...

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015

It seems there is a recurring theme with this hotel,if you do not go to the restaurant early you do not get the food as on the menu.you also find you are always kept wait ing for the different courses as the management have given the waiters,waitresses too many tables too swerve.prices for drinks are extortionate.as for the so called...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank john Thomas mic... c
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you john Thomas mic... c, for posting a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay; we do have small bathrooms in many of the rooms, apologies for this. We do not usually receive complaints about the food or service, certainly not re-occurring complaints. We accommodate 150 guests at each service and we do sometimes sell out...

Reviewed 28 May 2015

We stayed for 4 days room was very small bathroom small and smelly Breakfast adequate for small appetites. Car parking fees extortionate considering how much the holiday cost .good location for sightseeing but would not stay there again it is very much a place for elderly people on coach trips

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Janet E
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet E Thanks for your review. It is always unfortunate to receive a review that is left by someone not happy with their stay. We will look into your comments. I am sorry you was not happy with the breakfast or car park prices., we usually receive praise about our food, and we don’t feel that our car-parking fee...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.5 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
289 reviews
4.0 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#32 of 89 in Torquay
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
4.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#22 of 89 in Torquay
456 reviews
1.0 km away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 20 in Paignton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $94 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
birmingham
3 months ago
Grimsby
4 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room sizes might be important for some people, best to check.”
 of 5 bubbles johndF9532TK, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles johnp5066, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“In the summer I would possibly have gone for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles NanWatford, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles jeang106, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles charlesdickens2, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay