We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Marine Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Marine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2015

had a great 5 days food fantastic good choices went as a party of 8 we all enjoyed it good entertainment every night good location with all shops nearby we are all over 60 so being on the flat was easy to get about b richards caerphilly

Helpful?
Thank brinley r
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Turkey & Tinsel break with us and we hope to welcome you again sometime. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2015

I have just spent 5 days at the Turkey and Tinsel break and had a fantastic time . The food was excellent with a very good menu to choose from ,the staff were very friendly and always there if you needed anything.The hotel is situated in a prime location on the sea front with easy access to both the train... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review Sheila. We look forward to seeing you again in a few weeks. More 

South Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Wonderful hotel. The food was delicious, the staff were wonderful and the room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. It is on the seafront and near the town. Can't wait to go back. I would recommend the trip on the steam train to Dartmouth and then the boat trip on the river Dart.

Helpful?
Thank Lindylou4844
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for posting a review for us. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Having visited this hotel a number of times we always found the services consistent. The hotels location is on the sea front with ample parking, The food menu was comprehensive well cooked the service staff were excellent. Evening entertainment was of a high quality. We were a family of four with a small dog which was well catered for. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsmith17
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review. It was lovely to see the 5 of you again and all being well we will look forward to welcoming you again next September. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2015

stayed for 2 nights for family event, was comfortable, well appointed for local ameneties, room was cosy and clean, breakfast and evening meal tasty and home made food, would recommend, also had evening entertainment but we were out so couldn't comment on that

Helpful?
1 Thank melkel2015
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for posting a review. We are glad that you had a comfortable short break with us and hopefully you will return to visit us again sometime. More 

KENT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2015

My sister and I booked this hotel with Jay and Kay coach holidays and did not know what to expect. When arriving I thought it would not be for us. After a welcome from the Manager and a cup of tea and coffee we went to explore the rooms. Our cases were there waiting for us and that was the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SHEILA F
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. It is very nice to hear that we exceeded your initial expectations. I will certainly pass you kind comments on to our team of staff as they do work very hard to make sure that everyone has a lovely holiday. We look forward to welcoming you again some... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We booked this hotel due to the great rating it had on Tripadvisor. As visitors from Australia, but ex residents of the UK, we knew that seaside hotels were different from the big chains in major cities i.e. Hilton Marriott etc so wanted a hotel near the beach with great service which we received from Deborah and the other staff.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Peterjules
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for posting a review for us. We are pleased that overall you were happy with you stay. We do re-furbish at least half a dozen bedrooms each year in the early months when it is quiet, the outside of the property is a bit like painting the Forth Bridge, a never ending task, as we are directly on the... More 

doncaster
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Cannot praise this hotel enough, good food, great entertainment in the evenings, Staff could not do enough for you, really , lovely sea view from our room. Clean and tidy everywhere, good location, near to station, shops and all amenities. Had a great time, also loads of nice people on our coach. Excellant.

Helpful?
2 Thank brian H
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post such a kind review for us. It is nice to hear that you were pleased with every element of our hotel and service, the staff all work very hard to try and satisfy all requirements. We look forward to welcoming you again and some point. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Went to this hotel for a second time it was just as welcoming this time as the last time. All the staff are pleasant and helpful. We were in room 310 which unfortunately had a double glazed window with condensation on it but it did have a sea view only problem was it was right over the top of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynneallen
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for posting a review for us. We are very pleased to hear that you were just as impressed with your return visit. As you mentioned in your review, we have unfortunately got a few rooms with window units where the seals have aged and now let condensation form, we are aiming to replace these shortly. We look forward to... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2015

My wife and I arrived here earlier than anticipated, however we were welcomed with some coffee and an hour later given our room. The room is basic so if you only want to use it to sleep in then it's ideal. That said, the bedroom in its entirety needs to be modernised. The wardrobe is very small if you are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cbr2134
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review for us. We are very pleased that our service and meals exceeded your expectations. I would like to respond to a couple of your points though, firstly the bed, we do have orthopaedic beds in all of our rooms but some guests do find them a little firm. If only you... More 

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
289 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.8 km away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 20 in Paignton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#8 of 20 in Paignton
175 reviews
0.2 km away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#10 of 20 in Paignton
468 reviews
1.4 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#12 of 20 in Paignton
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $64 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paignton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marine Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Wirral, United Kingdom
Doncaster, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Marine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sea view or park view are best”
 of 5 bubbles bikeden, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“excellent view from room 316”
 of 5 bubbles connelljp, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 305 and had a lovely view over a well kept garden and hotel patio”
 of 5 bubbles Janet164, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 203 0n the ground floor was extremely spacious and well suited to my mother who is a wheel chair user.”
 of 5 bubbles kaf931, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a bay window”
 of 5 bubbles MJC1950, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5