We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cherwood

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of The Cherwood
 Click to rate
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Needs to work on scrambled egg skill sorry and if I'm honest that's the only fault I have. The lady who runs the place is very friendly, breakfast is fab. Beds are super comfy and the rooms are a nice size. We took our two year old with us and was very child friendly. Thank you for a lovely stay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma M
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in room 8 with my 3 kids the room was cozy and the little boy loved the bump bed. The location is great to get into the centre and bay front. Breakfast is great value ! Would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leefromchorley
Cornwall
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Stayed here for a long weekend in Jan. I booked via Bookings.com at a very reasonable rate but I'd recommend going straight to the Hotel to book. Room was on top floor, en suite, tea and coffee, tv, digital radio, extra bedding, plenty of towels, lots of room. Breakfast was lovely, good menu choice (choose the day before) and unlimited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueEllenBude
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The Cherwood is an excellent B&B that I would recommend to anyone. The rooms were very clean, well equipped and well maintained. My 5 yr old even had his own TV which made him very happy indeed. There was a good selection for breakfast and the food was of very good quality. The staff were all very friendly, polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Great place to stay, Lisa is always so friendly and welcoming. Nice clean rooms and brilliant breakfasts! Stayed there 3 years in a row and will be back again next year. Location is convenient. Never been disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank The4W00dys
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thank you very much.Looking forward to seeing the new arrival xx

forest of dean
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had been double booked into another B&B in Paignton so booking.com offered us an alternative.On arrival the Landlady was very pleasant and polite,said we could check in earlier than we had planned.We paid £4 for a parking ticket for 24hours (The parking is the only down side)it,s a street away seems safe enough but for OAP,s I dont think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandywiplash
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. Lisa

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped there after taking my son to Dartmouth for a weeks sailing with sea cadets,checked in b4 going to Dartmouth as we didn't know what time we'd be back,we had a key to front door so you could come and go at your own pleasure,we stopped in room 5 which was the family room.very spacious&clean,there was 2 TVs so you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul C
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thank you very much. Hope the boys had a great time too. Lisa

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

lovely guest house. great location. 1 minute from seafront and town centre. Friendly staff. Best breakfasts out of any b&b ever. We would stay there again. Parking round corner but plenty of spaces which was discounted through hotel. Thank you for a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _heppie111
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel was ok but on our third morning we noticed had been bitten in the night. I thought it was mosquitos first as we had window open but I had also found an insect on the bed which I thought was a beetle. On the train back I googled bed bugs and saw that the insect I had found was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hammersmithchap
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Firstly,i am very disappointed that you have stooped this low,just because i would'nt pay you compensation that you requested. I agreed with you that i would have it checked out professionally, and if there was any signs then i would refund you. I wasn't charged because , there was no work to be done !! No bed bugs .AS WAS...

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the superior room with my boyfriend. I would not come back. There is no free parking you have to park your car about 10 min walk from the hotel which you have to pay for. The bedroom was clean but the bathroom had a horrible smell from the drains in the morning or after shower. Shower had stains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikolahoran
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry we didn't meet with your expectations though. It does clearly state when booking and on your confirmation that there is no on site parking and that this is charged at £4 per 24 hours, which is still the cheapest parking option in Paignton. The car park is 1-2 minutes walk away, at bottom of...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Family Four Bed Room (29)
Viewed
Family Three Bed Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 km away
Wulfruna Hotel
Wulfruna Hotel
#13 of 18 in Paignton
63 reviews
0.5 km away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 18 in Paignton
41 reviews
0.1 km away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#17 of 18 in Paignton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
292 reviews
0.6 km away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 18 in Paignton
73 reviews
0.0 km away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#14 of 100 in Paignton
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $96 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cherwood staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Minehead, United Kingdom
Monmouthshire
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cherwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 comfy bed.”
mandywiplash, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“first floor rooms as second floor stairs quite steep for us.”
_heppie111, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Always phone and say what your looking for”
EmilyP665, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose this Guesthouse for sure!!”
HelzBelz1, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Had a room at the back, very quiet but just a view of backyards and other buildings.”
Autumn_Equinox, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates