We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maitlandfield House Hotel

Expedia.comUS$98*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Maitlandfield House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maitlandfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
North Yorkshire
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Were guests of some friends who invited us to dinner in the Conservatory restaurant. It was very quiet in fact the staff looked startled when we walked in, We ordered food was slow too arrive and it was ok ? Not exciting. Didn't help the only other person in the room decided to sit directly behind me and then ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillandMal
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We appreciate that part of the dining experience is the welcome given and the atmosphere in the restaurant, we shall work on improving both of these in the future.

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 4 September 2014

On Aug 23rd 2014 My fiancé and I were married at the Maitlandfiled House hotel In Haddington Scotland. The Staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Adding little unrequested favors and treats while attending to service of all our guests. The food was outstanding with Salmon as a starter paired with a suitable Champagne followed with roast Lothian...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Netscot
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. You were so kind and a delight to work with. Hope all is well with you and married life is treating you kindly.

Duns, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had our wedding dance at the Maitlandfield recently and couldn't fault anything. The owners, Pauline and Nico were very helpful and always greeted us warmly as did their staff. They put on an excellent spread of food for our reception, compliments to the chef ! We had the honeymoon suite and found it clean and a chilled bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barry P
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are all so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us. May we wish you all the very best for the future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The room given was charged as a double but was in our opinion definately only a single, small room 3/4 sized bed small dark bathroom & poor view didn't really cut it. from the ouside and previous visists for afternnon tea we'd expected much more - staff werepolite & helpfull & the hotel was very busy so perhaps bad luck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank groovy1970s
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We have rooms of varying standards and sizes within the hotel and all are priced accordingly. We very much appreciate your positive comments also. We hope to see you again in the future.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We thought we were going to be staying in a lovely hotel as we entered the driveway, but it was downhill after that. The room was painted in dark colours, was gloomy and needed to be redecorated. The bathroom had a mouldy shower curtain that smelt unpleasant and the skirting boards were dusty. On the positive side the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am equally sorry that you did not brink your grievances to our attention while you were with us. We would have done our best to ensure you had a more pleasant stay. All of your issues...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Why anyone would want to stay in Haddington will remain a mystery, but we were there for a wedding at this venue. The glory certainly has been faded for some time, I had expected something much better for the price. On arrival we had lunch which was acceptable, but the service was slow - an hour from ordering to finishing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cryptomuncher
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your honest and thorough comments. The hotel is an historic building with various bedroom sizes and standards. The rooms have all modern facilities. The lounge area of the hotel is in keeping with the historic nature of the building. The hotel is lucky enough to be in the...

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying at hotel as in pictures it looked amazing we were however horrified when we turned up to find an old run down conservatory and a drab looking house, when at reception hotel staff were not very pleasant, the stair ways and corridors going to the room were very dated and could have been doing...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Aimeehamilton
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that you did not take the time to draw our attention to your problems while you were with us, or when you called to look for your left watch. We take all reviews and comments seriously and would have done anything in our power to make your...

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for a two night break. The double room we had was fairly small but very clean. The en suite was also small but there was plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and we had a nice breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fergusonWesthill
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

London
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Luckily for this hotel, there are not many choices for accommodation in and around Haddington, otherwise it might not survive. I can only assume that it's by this same token that the hotel is able to get away with the prices it charges for rooms. Our double room was small with a tiny bathroom. Decor was low quality though this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank billyphatu
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We would have loved to have been given the opportunity to rectify your issues while you were in the hotel so you did not feel the need to write a negative review.

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful as you drive up the driveway and the welcome we received was friendly and helpful. Everywhere was beautifully decorated and immaculate. However the room was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, with a tiny en suite. I would suggest it would be more like a small single room. The washbasin was small and low...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback we received from our guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
8.2 km away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
338 reviews
12.1 km away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,218 reviews
10.3 km away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
412 reviews
17.4 km away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
282 reviews
2.3 km away
Letham House
Letham House
#1 of 8 in Haddington
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Price Range: $141 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maitlandfield House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You must try the Salmon Fishcakes for starters”
Ianlivi, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“front facing”
K4211KKlindah, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 16!”
  • Cracked Shower Tiles Room 16
  • Shower curtain pinky beige at its base
  • Empty pump soap in shower
  • Substitute shower gel!
CatharineTE, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Can't help.”
JennyDia, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Good hotel to use for business events / meetings”
paula272015, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$98
Hotels.comUS$98
Orbitz.comUS$98
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates