We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rylstone Manor Hotel

Show Prices
#13 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Rylstone Manor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The small hotel is situated next to the Rhylsone Gardens, Shanklin; it was built by Queen Victoria for her personal doctor and it has all the charm of that era. The room we had overlooked the rear gardens and was very quiet and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and the evening meals most enjoyable. A small hotel with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank telforddave2015
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We went to Rylstone Manor to celebrate my wife's birthday, and stayed 2 nights in October. The approach to the hotel was a little surprising as we had to enter through the same entry as to the crazy golf! Having got there we found a delightful small hotel in the grounds of some public gardens. The public areas are full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The good things were the beautiful location, lovely old building and very nice staff. The disappointments included: a v small double bed with an ancient mattress and mushy pillows, leading to backache. The breakfast menu which included 'freshly baked croissants' as a cooked item... I.e. heated up, Surely, these are usually available alongside cereal/ fruit etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcbeamy
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review

My first response was deleted because I identified you so here it is amended. Thank you for taking the time to write a review even though it would have been nicer to have been able to explain any problems you may have had with our service face to face. The room is one which you booked direct with us. We...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in a few Country House hotels over the years, and this isn't one! It is really a B&B with a bar that you have to ask to open, and a restaurant that only serves evening meals if at least 4 guests ask for it in the morning. On the positive side the hotel is set in lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerryDCooke
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Cooke, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. Some off the issues you have had would have been solved by booking direct with us. I have cooked for just two people only this week and will do so when anyone requests dinner at the hotel. We say to people that they can book...

Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Rylstone Manor.This small hotel is situated in a lovely park in Shanklin and it's just the place for a relaxing holiday The food is wonderful.The rooms are immaculate and beautifully decorated/furnished. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Just perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We arrived late in the evening but were welcomed by the hosts. Unfortunately the car park was full which meant that we had to leave our car on the park roadway. We were warned we may have to move it if there were complaints. The hotel is located in a large public park which hosted musical events whilst were were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exile42
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended hotel set in lovely gardens by the Chine. We really loved the location (once we'd found it the first time - top tip if you're walking take the road next to the crab inn and head up the steps in front of you, follow that path and you're there). Location was so peaceful - and great for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MsMyers
Shrewsbury,United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

A party of three, we stayed four nights, in Ash and Elm rooms.The location of this hotel is quite unique, set as it is in Rylstone Gardens, a public park owned and maintained by the local council.The gardens, with trees and flower borders manicured to perfection, were an absolute joy. Set adjacent to Shanklin Chine, the hotel is a haven...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank R0ssHill
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R0ssHill, firstly we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Rylstone. I believe there may be some confusion on what was said around the drinks scenario but if you were upset then we apologise and know nothing we say now will change your mind on that particular issue. I think some of your comments are a bit unfair...

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Just recently returned from a fantastic week on the IOW at Rylstone Manor Hotel. This hotel is set in a very peaceful location and yet is also just a couple of minutes walk into Shanklin Old Town behind or 50 metres to the cliff side steps to take you down to Shanklin Beach. The hotel is immaculately presented inside and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry L
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Booked this on the spur of the moment after attending a party on the island. Very expensive but a delightful experience. The food is amazing and the setting quiet and convenient for the coastal path and seabathing. The band in the park on Sunday afternoon was an unexpected bonus. Stayed 3 nights and was very sad to leave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB858

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
406 reviews
0.2 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#8 of 54 in Shanklin
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
697 reviews
4.1 km away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
324 reviews
0.8 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $220 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rylstone Manor Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rylstone Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the rear of the hotel will be quieter and good for watching wildlife”
 of 5 bubbles Exile42, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Study the room layouts on the hotel website, and discuss with the owners what would best meet your needs”
 of 5 bubbles R0ssHill, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Contact the owners direct - maple is the most popular room”
 of 5 bubbles C534, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Telephone your booking because the Hosts can help with your ferry travel and making sure the room has the facilities you require i.e. bath”
 of 5 bubbles hanman2016, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“All the room are named after British trees, some smaller than others , but all are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles E6055JUlindar, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay