We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arrandale House & Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arrandale House & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Arrandale House & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, room was on the top floor with a view of the harbour Breakfast was very nice everyday, we arrived early and Rose still gave us a breakfast which was much appreciated Our room had a large double bed, was clean and comfortable Tea and coffee facilities in the room Shower room was ok, shower cubical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your for your review, nearly all our rooms have some seaview. We don't have a lift so we do recommend requesting a lower floor room if you don't like stairs. However the climb to the top floor is worth it for the fabulous views!

Milford
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

My first time to the Isle of Man and U must say my husband and I were quite impressed with our accommodations. Recommended by friends of ours who stayed here previously, we were not disappointed. Great location, sea views, great breakfast and wonderful hospitality. Just tell Rose what you need and she will help you out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelia A
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review- glad you had a great stay!

Marty Computers, Yorkshire and PA
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I stayed in one of the ground floor apartments and was very happy with the accommodation. It takes approximately 20-25 minutes from the ferry terminal on foot. However, at least 5 of those minutes are up a decent sized hill! If you've got a lot of luggage or struggle to walk I'd recommend a taxi. Checkin was the most simple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartyComputers
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we would be very happy to accommodate you again - please call or email us direct if you want to book a particular apartment. Thanks!

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The Arrandale looks just like the other houses around it, and is obviously a couple of houses reconfigured as a hotel. The lobby is a hallway, the stairs are steep old staircases (and I don't believe there is a lift - I didn't see one and one wasn't offered for my elderly mother-in-law) and getting to the top floor might...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alistair H
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are lucky in our location as parking can be an issue on the Promenade and the vast majority of guesthouses do not have car parking spaces. The whole of central Douglas operates under the Disc parking scheme with some areas being as little as 30 mins. In our square, it is2 hours and only...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We arrived to a welcome from Rose, the proprietor, and discovered that, though my own fault, I had booked a hotel room instead of an apartment. Within the hour, this was sorted and we were allocated a spacious, clean, well-equipped apartment with an attractive view of Hutchinson Square, a pretty park. The twin beds were very comfortable and we slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert W
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Happy to have been of help. Although the trend these days is for online booking, it does mean that sometimes guests do not always get what they think they have booked - we are always happy to take bookings over the phone or by email enquiry. We particularly recommend contacting us direct if you have any special requirements, mobility issues...

Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

What makes this place is the wonderful people who own and operate it! We arrived 5 hours early and Rose let us in to a room. Later in the week she accommodated my request to let our group celebrate an anniversary in their dining room. She even supplied the champagne glasses. From directions to recommendations to a last day room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWC1957
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Helpful friendly staff, great fast made to order breakfast so you can get going. Close to the promenade and bus routes to the airport. We had a group of eight and were treated great with use of the restaurant for our private anniversary celebration. Park directly adjacent. We would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

We are glad we were able to contribute to your reunion and that you all enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you back for the next family get-together!!

yeovil
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Older style property. Large clean ,though slightly dated ,bedroom and clean bathroom.Very friendly and accommodating staff.Breakfast was very good with good choice and lots of it,also did evening meals which were very good value.Located a few hundred yards from the Centre point of the Promenade,turn left for the ElectricRailway and right for the town centre and Steam Railway.The only real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magwil3
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guesthouse is a building over 100 years old so it does have character and quite an interesting history. As you say, there is unlimited parking in the next street but the two hour restriction on the square only applies Mon-Fri daytime when most visitors are out using...

Manchester
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We arrived at the hotel at 9.30AM after an early morning flight. We were allowed to leave our luggage and was given coffee and asked if we needed anything to eat. That was really nice. We went straight out into Douglas for the day. Our room was on the top floor (3rd), at the front of the hotel, excellent views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on business trip. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, full size kettle and plenty of power points too. Shower was nice, hot and powerful. Breakfast was also very good. Ample amount of parking available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gonorr

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
339 reviews
0.6 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
563 reviews
0.4 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.9 km away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
521 reviews
0.3 km away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#2 of 27 in Douglas
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $83 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arrandale House & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
merseyside
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Arrandale House & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“am sure they will accommodate you if asked.”
 of 5 bubbles fouraway, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“304 great view”
 of 5 bubbles rocco43, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms small but self catering apartments spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Ballymenapaul, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The sea view may not be worth the climb - depending on your fitness levels”
  • Sea view from top floor
 of 5 bubbles alistairh841, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Trudging up to the second floor can be arduous for us seniors after a hard day exploring!”
 of 5 bubbles albertw770, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5