We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sefton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sefton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 536: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I work regularly with our engineers in the IOM and we went out for a meal to celebrate Christmas and all the hard work done in 2016. What a lovely hotel! Have visited the hotel before and admired the fantastic atrium and can now heartily recommend after staying here. The rooms are in my opinion top quality and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for a week during a work trip. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly staff and cleaners who couldn't do enough for you. The hotel was quite and the rooms were nice, fully equipped with ironing boards, towels and more. During my stay, I was sharing a room with a colleague who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KCDCharles
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review....we are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success and your 5 star rating is appreciated, thank you. I will pass on your thanks to Slaw . Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sefton and we hope to see you again in the not too distant...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel looks ok outside but not good inside . The sign are very confusing . I don't know why they were given 4 stars .... Also the lift is extremely slow . I wasn't informed that the gym would just close at 8:20 pm . Overall it's not a business standard hotel . Disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JAZPQ
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. Thank you for your review

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Trip Advisor has had plenty of recent fairly negative comments about this fairly average hotel, it could be an interesting place if money was spent on it and it was updated and modernised - even taking into account the inherent problems of disabled access etc in old buildings. But unfortunately such places in British coastal resorts are generally run-down and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1777NT
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, your comments have been taken into consideration and will help us improve for future guests Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 5 days in October. The hotel is situated on the promenade overlooking Douglas bay, parking is at the rear in a small subterranean car park. Great view from the front of the hotel overlooking the bay. We had a very nice room in the atrium. The room was of a very good size with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manxman-paddy
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at hotel for two nights on business, rooms clean but need updating, no hot water on the first morning for all of the hotel. Staff apologised but nothing they could do. They did discount our stay by £50.00.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GWRichardson
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Receptionist doesn`t appear to be a "people person". Short length of string found in a drink from the bar. No apology or offer of replacement or even the offer of my money back. Follow the cracks in the walls to find the room. "bottle of house wine in the room" (email from Group Reservations) could not be found. Struggle to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter T
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. Thank you for your review

Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here a couple of years ago, and it was so nice we couldn't wait to go back! Unfortunately this trip was not so good. Our room was not ready and we had a 20 minute wait in reception. When we got into our room it was to find out no atrium or sea view as expected. No fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaz2np
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. Thank you for your review

Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Curious place the Sefton. We had a junior suite that overlooked the atrium as a three night mini-break and found a good number of positives offset by negatives, many of which could have been easily addressed. For example: 1. The location is good and we were grateful for the private car park, but why did we have to buy a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lpspeshmad
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, your comments have been taken into consideration and will help us improve for future guests Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

My partner arranged a stay at the hotel for one night so we didn't have to drive home after a night out in Douglas. The Sefton is said to be a high quality hotel and one of the best on the island. Firstly we booked on a special deal of £80 for the night including breakfast and a bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vinders
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. Thank you for your review

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
327 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
312 reviews
0.0 km away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sir Norman's
Sir Norman's
Cuisines: Bar, British, Healthy
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $125 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sefton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sefton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Object in the strongest terms if put in a dismal dowdy room”
 of 5 bubbles 1777NT, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites improve the ambience but can't take away the staid nature of the decor”
 of 5 bubbles Lpspeshmad, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that has a view of the Atrium, sea, back of hotel or even the sky! Not the internal enclosed courtyard!”
 of 5 bubbles pchomehelpsomerset, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would highly recommend a sea front room so you can get a breeze, on my first visit i was in an interior room and it was extremely warm.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyR612, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms seem to have an internal atrium view which is good, but you don't get a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Berkshire_UK, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay