We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sefton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sefton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sefton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 565: English reviews
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the largest hotels on the Promenade and is close to the main shopping street. The hotel is a little tired and dated inside but was clean and comfortable. The room had tea/coffee facilities, an ironing board and reliable wifi. The food in the Harbour Lights restaurant was good and the staff were friendly. The breakfast room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil D
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your comments regarding our staff and our food - such feedback is always appreciated We do hope you get to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a couple of nights here on business. The hotel is located right on the promenade in Douglas. On arrival I found the reception staff friendly and welcoming. My room, like much of the hotel, looked a bit worn but was clean. The hotel is a maze of corridors and on more than one ocassion it got lost, usually ending...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John R
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review from which we are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

i booked a weekend break for my mum and dads 50th wedding anniversary as they had stayed in the isle of man on their honeymoon. i booked the hotel with Zoe on reception and she went out of her way to be helpful and make their stay a very pleasant one, even putting a bottle of bubbly and a celebration...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank d0nnag7
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your 5 star rating. We are delighted to receive your feedback on our staff.....such personal comments are ALWAYS appreciated and we will of course pass your review on to the relevant staff. Thank you again for your 5 star review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Friends were staying at this hotel. Used it to entertain another visitor. Barman was very rude. Had to ask for food menu 4 times! Was made to feel very uncomfortable by the barman, as if we were putting him out. Even though there very few customers.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Loslie37
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your visit with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. Thank you for your review

isle of man
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Used the winter special weekend offer which is excellent value £80 for bed breakfast and a bottle of wine . Our sea view room was of the usual high standard . The safe was very easy to use with the new system of room card entry. Food in Sir Normans was delicious as ever .The only area that could of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathyIsleOfMan
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay. We are of course delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - it is always appreciated when our guests take the time to submit a review. Thank you again for your review

Dublin
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Rooms were a little older but we liked it. Had that old romantic feel about it. While not a Modern Hotel it really has that quaint feel about it so you will either love it or hate it. We loved it. Very clean , excellent facilities. We had breakfast the 3 mornings and it was very good. Ate in "Sir...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TomIRL
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are of course delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - it is always appreciated when our guests take the time to submit a review. We certainly hope that you will get the chance to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Stayed here on business recently – drawn in by the view and convenient location. Somewhat disappointed. The Hotel is a huge Victorian pile sitting on the seafront staring vacantly out to sea, as its innards suffer from years of neglect. The outside may be all painted up, but scratch below the surface inside and you find a place that is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank James L
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion. We have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Ramsey
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Polite, friendly staff. Our room was really nice, plenty of space with a balcony to sit on overlooking the Atrium. The choice and quality of breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly and efficient. Unfortunately on our second morning we did not have hot water for a shower or bath. We mentioned this at reception and were told...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GrizwaldsRamsey
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. We have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible. On the positive side, we are pleased you found the breakfast of good quality and the staff friendly and efficient Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Stayed just one night as a treat for a friends birthday. Check in was fine, actually had our rooms ready when we arrived just after mid day which was nice. First impression of Atrium room was good and beds are comfy. Bathroom was a good size, but that is the only positive thing going for it, separate shower was tiny,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate P
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. We have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible. Again thank you for taking the time to write this review

uk
Reviewed 26 January 2017

A well located hotel, close to the main shopping, and eateries in Douglas. The room was pleasant, clean, and tidy, overlooking the Prom, but we did hear quite a bit of 'road noise'. We had to request extra shower gel from housekeeping as only supplied with enough for one person, but this did arrive promptly. Plenty of towels in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreemerdog
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. We have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.8 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
333 reviews
0.3 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
124 reviews
1.3 km away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sir Norman's
Sir Norman's
Cuisines: Bar, British, Healthy
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $169 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sefton Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sefton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“speak to Zoe”
d0nnag7, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beware of 'road noise' in sea front rooms ...”
dreemerdog, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Atrium rooms”
robertpO1330LN, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Object in the strongest terms if put in a dismal dowdy room”
1777NT, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites improve the ambience but can't take away the staid nature of the decor”
Lpspeshmad, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5