We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ascot Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ascot Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ascot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We booked in on the 14th Oct for 3 nights, the hotel is lovely and clean, the staff are really friendly and were always helpful...... a big thank you to Sandy & Kinga for the laugh's The only thing I found was, the bathroom in room 109 was a little cold however if you ask for a heater the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
Norman M, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie, Glad we provided entertainment for you, and it did not cost you a penny. The two girls you mentioned are prize employees and we appreciate their value, as you do. There are "cold spots" in our heating system and we accept this was the case. However, you will be pleased to know the whole water system at the... More 

England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Just returned from a long weekend,we were attending a family Christening. The staff at the hotel are fabulous,nothing is too much trouble.The changes to the hotel are great,the new bar area is warm and welcoming.The dining room has had a facelift too and the serve yourself breakfast works well.The food is always good,we had breakfast every morning and evening meals... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MMM52
Norman M, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MMM52, You have recognised that we are on a yearly upgrading programme, the first year was the restaurant, that has proved a great success, last year was reception and lounge/bar areas' also proving to be very popular and this year, we will be tackling the hotel water and central heating systems, which are a bit dated. Bedrooms are in... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We have just returned from a 4 night break on the Isle of Man. We didn't know where to stay so read the reviews of The Ascot in Doughlas and decided it was the place for us. We weren't disappointed-it's a lovely hotel-very comfortable, lovely food, the best staff in the hotel industry! nothing too much trouble, so helpful and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2urist
Norman M, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveller2 tourist, Your review to us means so much. We do work at our tasks very diligently and attempt to make all our clients, feel at home. You have recognised this and we thank you. More 

Skelmersdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Rang up prior to visit to book a room , when I arrived they added vat to the quoted price !!! Never had that happen before luckily it was 5% . Must have made the wrong choice in the restaurant ( cauliflower cheese ) as the other diners seemed happy with their meals , mine came in watery unseasoned milk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
Norman M, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John W, I have read your review and offer my apologies for this happening. The Sage account, which makes up our accounts, had jipped the system, and for reason, added VAT. All our prices are inclusive of VAT. You were re-imbursed more or less straight away, and you will admit this. It was a technical failure, that does happen... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. As we visited off peak season, we arrived at approximately 1100hrs. The Irish receptionist greeted us with a smile and told us to take a seat and have a complimentary coffee whilst she checked if our room was available. The room was available so we checked in early and put all our... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendy i
Norman M, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, We are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We do try to treat our guests like human beings and the way we would like to be treated ourselves. Our bedrooms are due to be re-furbished this Winter and if you return to visit us again, we hope they are to your taste. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Was handy for the bus and tram, the Seaview room. The was lovely. The staff and food was excellent. The 24 hour drinks were a welcome bonus hot chocolate after being out in the wind and rain. The food selection was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Helen R
Norman M, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen, WE do try very earnestly to make changes in the Hotel, for the benefit of the guests. The 24 hrs. drink is to your everyday benefit and is very popular. It seems you enjoyed your stay and we lok forward to your return, to see us all again. More 

Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Had a great stay at the Ascot from Tuesday 27th to Sunday 2nd October. Food was excellent and staff very attentive and friendly. Part of a coach party of friends, we spent our evenings in the very reasonably priced bar. On returning home I realised I had left some medication in our room. Rang up and received it through the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ADSY-CHRIS
Norman M, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adsy-Chris. Our efforts are not always apreciated, but we do work hard, attemting to make a stay on the Isle of Man, and more specifically the Ascot Hotel, as comfortable as possible. You have recognised the way we work and thank you for your positive review. We do hope to see you again very shortly. More 

Wrexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The Ascot Hotel is well placed for a stay in Douglas/Isle of Man. Excellent customer service from the Hotel Manager (Jonny) and all the staff we met. The only thing that took the edge off our short stay was that I had specifically booked a Superior room with a spa bath, problem was the spa bath was not working!! If... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrisljwrexham
Norman M, Owner at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Your review was very positive and I thank you for that. The fact that the spa bath was not working must have been annoying, and we were aware of this failure,but one of the penalties of living on an Isalnd, is that replacement parts are not always available. So, as in this case, we were waiting for replacement... More 

Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very comfortable. The Reception, bar and restaurant areas are very smart but the rooms could do with some updating. We were on half board and the food was excellent every night. Plenty of choice and care was taken to ensure that food was fresh and hot, despite being served as a buffet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reigatetravellers
clivep68, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reigateravellers Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. It was nice hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it's such a pleasure to read your review and I will take great pleasure in passing this on to all team members throughout the hotel, and that you found our restaurant food good, plentiful and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

For the 7th year running I returned to the Ascot Hotel in Douglas on Isle of Man and for the 7th time I had a first class experience. Sandra and the team absolutely epitomise great service, the friendly greeting and welcome is a joy after the sea crossing from Liverpool, nothing is ever too much bother for the staff who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charly C
clivep68, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charly C Thank you for taking the time to write your 5* review on trip advisor. It was nice hear you enjoyed your stay with us again, it's such a pleasure to read your review and I will take great pleasure in passing this on to all team members throughout the hotel, also that you found our restaurant food... More 

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
324 reviews
1.2 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
325 reviews
0.8 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 km away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
314 reviews
0.0 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $77 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ascot Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ascot Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“family rooms with a sea view , top floor”
 of 5 bubbles WMitch66, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't put too much soap/shampoo in the jacuzie bath”
 of 5 bubbles Dangermouse8350, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“311 Is a nice room...”
 of 5 bubbles jessiom, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Seafront rooms on the third floor,there is a lift offer views from Onchan head to Douglas Head.”
 of 5 bubbles MMM52, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“106 had a sea view. Redcar was a better room.”
 of 5 bubbles ADSY-CHRIS, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay