We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ocean Backpackers

    29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017Check In 30/10/2017Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    SAVE US$24
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Dining (7)
    • Excellent56%
    • Very good24%
    • Average14%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    “top floor” (10 reviews)
    “bed dorm” (3 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Family Rooms
    Pets Allowed
    Breakfast included
    All hotel details
    29 Oct30 Oct
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    View all 4 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (94)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 92 reviews

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    I volunteer for a youth group based in Knowle called Challenge Adventure Group. We ran a trip to Devon to do coasteering and surfing and wanted somewhere homely to stay that would be warm, clean and cosy with a self catering kitchen - we cook...More

    1  Thank Ruth B
    Response from Ocean B, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hi Ruth, It was such a pleasure to accommodate your Challenge Adventure Group this September and we are so pleased that you all really enjoyed your stay at Ocean Backpackers! I know you did not know what to expect from your stay when you originally...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Stayed for a couple of nights as part of a scuba diving trip. It is well worth upgrading to get a private room. Those of the party that were in the dorms did not get a good nights sleep. I had up graded to a...More

    Thank minidriver
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

    Hi There! Thank you very much for your review! Really pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay at Ocean Backpackers and that you found us great value for money! Your Dive Club have stayed with us on several occasions and we hope...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Abby at the front desk was very accommodating in spite of my booking with short notice. Happily met my diva requests for an iron and shampoo as I had brought neither. Would go here again as well situated and off street parking.

    Thank James C
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hi James! Thank you for your fab review! So relieved that you went off to your friends wedding with clean hair and an ironed shirt!!! Hope you had a fabulous time and hope to see you again at Ocean Backpackers! Best wishes Abby.

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    The hostel is located very close to the harbour. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The dorm is quite small, but cosy and very clean. Love the en suite! The common - rooms are clean and very inviting.

    Thank Britta48
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you for your lovely review! Great to hear you found the hostel friendly, cosy, inviting and clean!! Enjoy your travels and hope to see you again at Ocean Backpackers!

    Reviewed 4 September 2017

    We reserved family room with bathroom. The room was only small, bathroom not big as well. We came in the middle of the night and were given access code to the property, which was working fine. Unfortunately, despite our request, there was no towels in...More

    Thank Dariusz S
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 5 September 2017

    HI Dariusz! Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your stay. I am pleased that you were able to access your family room in the middle of the night without any problems...More

    Marine Court Hotel
    392 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
    Varley House
    447 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
    The Royal Britannia
    342 reviews
    #17 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
    Imperial Hotel
    278 reviews
    #7 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Price range
    • US$20 - US$84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Devon >
    • Ilfracombe
    • Also Known As
    • Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Dining (7)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (19)
    Varley House
    447 reviews
    1.02 km away
    Marine Court Hotel
    392 reviews
    .67 km away
    Imperial Hotel
    278 reviews
    .35 km away
    The Royal Britannia
    342 reviews
    .12 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blacksands Bistro
    294 reviews
    .11 km away
    St James Tearoom
    232 reviews
    .05 km away
    The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar
    746 reviews
    .12 km away
    Adele's Cafe
    322 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ilfracombe Harbour
    767 reviews
    .23 km away
    Tunnels Beaches
    1,350 reviews
    .75 km away
    St Nicholas Chapel
    190 reviews
    .32 km away
    Ilfracombe Museum
    371 reviews
    .42 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ocean Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "Top floor is quietest"
    Read review
    "Upgrade to a private room"
    Read review
    "Top floor is quiet and has its own kitchen"
    Read review
    "Dorm room en suite was spacious and great hot powerful shower."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing