We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ocean Backpackers

    29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Dining (7)
    Marine Court Hotel
    394 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
    0.7 km
     
    Varley House
    447 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
    1.0 km
     
    The Bath Hotel
    257 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Lynmouth
    20.1 km
     
    The Imperial Hotel
    1,614 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Barnstaple
    15.4 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent56%
    • Very good24%
    • Average14%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    “top floor” (10 reviews)
    “bed dorm” (3 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Family Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Pets Allowed
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (95)
    There are newer reviews for Ocean Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 93 reviews

    Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

    £20 pounds the night I think was a bit overpriced, the hostel is not that great, cleanness is just about ok and staff are a bit disinterested, unfortunately there are not many hostels in the whole coast of North Devon, making this hostel the only...More

    Thank David H
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 7 September 2016

    HI David, Thank you for your review. We value all our guests feedback and wish to apologise if you were a little disappointed with your stay. Even though we are a backpackers with hundreds of self-caterers coming through our door during August, we do still...More

    Reviewed 1 August 2016

    Basic accommodation has basic things you would need. But lounge not very clean and stinky. Bunks congested but good value for money we paid only 11£/night pp. Very good location. Had the complete property for ourselves so had good time. And kids were amused with...More

    Thank monty4969
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 4 August 2016

    HI Monty. Thank you for your review. We are a bit bemused as to why you suddenly decided to review us as your stay with us must of been a very long time ago!! We were temporarily looking after some rabbits who were in need...More

    Reviewed 10 May 2016

    Pleasently suprised on arrival - lovely communal area with computer, tv, music centre and a well equipped kitchen. Bedroom very nice, quiet and comfortable if a little faded. Unfortunately there was no management on site overnight and the fellow hostellers decided at 1:30 in the...More

    Thank DevonTravellers
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 13 May 2016

    Thank you for your recent review. We were very sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay at Ocean Backpackers-due to one group of guests who were obviously very disrespectful to you and all the other guests staying at the Hostel. We...More

    Reviewed 20 April 2016

    Rob met us on arrivial and was a great help giving us tips on places to go etc . the rooms were spotless and the views too. the property has a Kitchen on all floors plus a tv room we couldn't ask for more... parking...More

    Thank 145David145
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 24 April 2016

    Hi David. Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at Ocean Backpackers and that you would recommend us to all!! Hope to see you again soon!

    Reviewed 11 April 2016

    I did not expect anything more than basic accommodation from a backpackers hostel and have stayed in plenty of basic but clean and comfortable places in my time that I would happily return to - Ocean Backpackers is not one of them. This converted town...More

    2  Thank TashaONeill
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 24 April 2016

    Thank you for your review. We are very sorry if you did not enjoy your stay at Ocean Backpackers. Stripping beds after your stay and bringing your own towels is quite the "norm" for the majority of Hostels and I am sorry that our furniture...More

    Marine Court Hotel
    394 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
    0.7 km
     
    Varley House
    447 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
    1.0 km
     
    The Bath Hotel
    257 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Lynmouth
    20.1 km
     
    The Imperial Hotel
    1,614 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Barnstaple
    15.4 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$21 - US$54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Devon >
    • Ilfracombe
    • Also Known As
    • Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Dining (7)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (19)
    Nearby
    Varley House
    447 reviews
    1.02 km away
     
    Marine Court Hotel
    394 reviews
    .67 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blacksands Bistro
    294 reviews
    .11 km away
    Adele's Cafe
    328 reviews
    .08 km away
    St James Tearoom
    234 reviews
    .05 km away
    The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar
    756 reviews
    .12 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ilfracombe Harbour
    784 reviews
    .23 km away
    St Nicholas Chapel
    196 reviews
    .32 km away
    Ilfracombe Museum
    374 reviews
    .42 km away
    Verity Statue
    1,896 reviews
    .39 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ocean Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Top floor is quietest"
    Read review
    "Upgrade to a private room"
    Read review
    "Top floor is quiet and has its own kitchen"
    Read review
    "Dorm room en suite was spacious and great hot powerful shower."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing