We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Trimstone is a few minutes off the main road down a single track lane - so a quiet retreat. Our kids really enjoyed the games room and the warm swimming pool. We stayed in the Granary which was well decorated and contained all that we needed for our week of self catering. There was ample parking and the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Nice setting for a country style hotel. Small double room and the restaurant and bar closed as we were the only guests, decided to go home in stead of staying the night. Pity they did not tell us that we would be only getting a room for the night with no service.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Tamacgor
Coventry, England
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed in The Granary and highly recommend it. Very nice mix of "old fashioned" and new and modern. Large rooms, good fittings and furnishings. Swimming pool complex was good as the pool was lovely and warm but the changing rooms were cold and damp. It was the end of the season though. Others in our party stayed in The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Smiffy42
telford
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. We only booked a couple of days before, so it was very last minute. The hotel is in a nice location 3 miles from Ilfracombe but can be tricky to find as it is located down a narrow lane. The room was functional but the decor a little dated.The room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank geoff3361
Chudleigh Knighton
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked a last minute 2 night break .We found the staff friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean and spacious. The house and grounds were charming .We had full English breakfast on both days (with perfect poached eggs!) and had a lovely evening meal with the best home made lemon meringue pie. Staff happily uncovered the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie B
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The setting was beautiful, the room was very comfortable, my only complaint was that the smoke alarm went off twice during the night. Wish I had packed my swimsuit for the indoor pool :( Our little dog was made very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cgsmithy
Reviewed 6 September 2016

we made our booking in quite short notice for peak season/ tail end of August for a family of 5 - quite a big ask for most hotels but Trimstone manor were more than happy to help accommodate us. After a warm welcome we were taken to 'Arlington' (I think) a lovely spacious room arranged to suit our needs and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CouttsfamilyDorset
Reviewed 2 September 2016

1) For a restaurant to be a restaurant, there would need to be a chef willing to serve food to people. For instance in the evening. We were told we would have to go into town to eat. 2) The room was horrendously over-priced. £120 for a tiny room that was mainly a corridor. 3) It is not a 'Country...

 Report
Helpful?
30Thank Ailie M
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ailie M You failed to preface your ‘review’ with the comment that this was about blackmail for cash – or a bad review if we didn’t oblige. First you approached your online booking firm with which you had booked a non-refundable two night stay to say that you wanted one night’s money back as you had chosen not to...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

It was a short stay for our honeymoon. We arrived at 4:30pm. We were told the restaurant was 'fully booked this evening' and we therefore had to drive into Ilfracombe for some dinner..... We were shown to our 'dog-friendly' room. It was mainly corridor and absolutely tiny. We walked around outside to find a dilapidated, rusty trampoline. We drove into...

 Report
Helpful?
25Thank Mattottoj
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mattotto You failed to preface your ‘review’ with the comment that this was about blackmail for cash – or a bad review if we didn’t oblige. First you approached your online booking firm with which you had booked a non-refundable two night stay to say that you wanted one night’s money back as you had chosen not to stay...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

The children loved the trampoline in the grounds, table tennis in the games room and the lovely warm swimming pool. Our self catering apartment was very spacious, comfortable and clean with everything a family could need. Friendly staff helped make our stay at this wonderful historic house a holiday we'd like to repeat. Hopefully we'll be back next year to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth T

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
4.5 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
685 reviews
7.7 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
497 reviews
5.0 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
725 reviews
4.6 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
316 reviews
7.8 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Trimstone Manor a traditional country house offering accommodation. the only one in the greater Ilfracombe area (and only three miles from glorious Woolacombe), is set in 44 acres of landscaped gardens and beautiful North Devon countryside and provides the perfect location for those who want a peaceful and relaxing break. With easy access to the A361 Trimstone is also perfect for those who want to explore North Devon. The fine sandy beaches and rolling surf of Croyde, Woolacombe and Saunton are just a short drive as are the secluded coves and cliff paths around Ilfracombe and Combe Martin. Other attractions include the famous twin villages of Lynton and Lynmouth, Exmoor, the North Devon coastal footpath, Arlington Court for the National Trust's Carriage Collection or the delights of a working sheep dog and falconry demonstration a mile away. Whatever the weather there is always something to do at Trimstone. Nearby we have clay shooting grounds, golf, quad-biking, horse-riding, you-name-it! Guests can use the games room, tennis court, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna, walk in the grounds or simply relax in a quiet spot with a drink and a good book. Concessionary evening rates for Three Star Tyme Restaurant apply for pre-arrival bookings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Trimstone, Ilfracombe EX34 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: $132 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trimstone Manor Country Hotel
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Recommend the Granary which sleeps 8 comfortably.”
 of 5 bubbles K7566CBmarkr, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book The Granary Cottage, not the Paddock”
 of 5 bubbles Smiffy42, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room was really clean”
 of 5 bubbles cgsmithy, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As a family we stayed in interconnecting rooms...my husbands snoring didn't keep the kids awake!”
 of 5 bubbles dannymccormack, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Lee room was a self contained large room, great for making your own food”
 of 5 bubbles 834beckyh, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay