We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Giltar Hotel

9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Castle Beach
    0.5 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 15 September 2015
hols
Excellent hotel good food lovely staff clean rooms nice resort... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Giltar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 595: English reviews
preston lanc
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Excellent hotel good food lovely staff clean rooms nice resort would recommend hotel and resort beautiful beaches visit the island where the monks live its a nice little boat trip ask for a sea view room bit extra but worth it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charlie12313
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for both the hotel and Tenby. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the trip to Caldey Island. Hopefully we will see you again in the future!

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Lovely views over the beach to Caldy Island. Hotel is in the process of upgrading rooms. We had a seaview which was worth the small extra cost. The room was very clean but the shower room needed upgrading. The beds were extremely comfortable. The room was not very big but there was plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulie027
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit. 203 is next on our list to convert into a Deluxe room along with 202, which you'll be pleased to know that the shower room will be completely transformed! Hopefully you'll return to the hotel in the future to experience it!

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

First impressions of this hotel was impressive and didn't fail when we went inside ! Parking was a nightmare but a picturesque strol from the town car park was worth it the room was set beautifully with our menu for that day individually inscribed with our party's name . we had pre ordered but food choice was confirmed by very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pammy K
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies that you weren't able to get one of the 14 spaces at the rear of the hotel, however I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stroll along the Esplanade to the hotel! Again, apologies that the beef was not to your liking, however if you'd let...

Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015

First time visitor to this hotel a few weeks ago but only for a meal as we live locally. It's a lovely dining area, nicely presented and the service is good. We opted for the Turkey dinner with vegetables. I'm not really a fan of turkey but I will admit that this meal was beautiful. The Turkey was lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonyob1979
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us a review regarding the meals at the hotel. I'll make sure that the teams involved see the review too. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

We went with an organised coach party and had a lovely time. Unfortunately our room overlooked the car park instead of the sea, but it was a very good room. With no bedrooms either side, we were not disturbed as other people in our group were. It was large clean and comfortable. The entertainment is quite good too. Just one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shankly5
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2015

From bitter experience with so called English Summers, we always book a great room with a view when we visit the sea-side, as generally the weather lets us down and we spend a lot of time in the room. Hence we booked a Deluxe Seaview which had a lovely Bay window with great views of the beach, which we saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadamJosephine
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and appreciate the 5* rating. We will speak to our kitchen team with regards to your 'soggy bread' to address this issue that you've raised. We hope to see you again at the hotel in the near future.

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

My mum and Grandma stayed here as part of a family vacation and couldn't praise the hotel more. All very clean, modern, quiet and of course stunning views. Breakfast was great with tables with sea views. Perfectly located by the beach and fairly close to the National Express bus stop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicki p
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving us a review. It's very much appreciated. We hope to see you and your family back at the hotel in the near future.

Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is situated overlooking Caldey Island off the coast of Tenby. The staff are exceptional and can't do enough. The rooms are immaculate and the interior design is absolutely highest standard. There is minimum parking but not to worry as 200yrds there is a public car park. Weddings are of a high standard very highly recommended 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bevvy T
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving us a review regarding your recent visit to the hotel. We hope to see you again at the hotel in the near future.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The hotel and its staff were very good. The room had been recently refurbished and the sea view we had was excellent. We only had breakfast in the hotel as we were late back most evenings, however, that was good, as was the service. Not many hotel parking spaces but adequate pay car parks nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're glad you had an enjoyable few days in Tenby. With regards to the parking at the hotel, we are restricted to 14 spaces at the rear of the hotel (due to the size of the land we own) but am pleased you were able to park nearby...

Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The rooms were great, Modern and Clean. We had the sea view rooms and what a view breathtaking, The staff were ever nice and helpful. The food was great. great value for money. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edel M
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Many of our visitors appreciate the sea views from the room and we're glad you were able to experience it during your stay. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Double Sea View Premier Room (53)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Twin Sea View Standard Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
1.2 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
467 reviews
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#14 of 24 in Tenby
235 reviews
1.4 km away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Tenby
648 reviews
0.7 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 24 in Tenby
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range: $143 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, United Kingdom
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Giltar Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Giltar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The first floor premier room overlooking the beach was really good.”
 of 5 bubbles DianneC37, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms (102)”
 of 5 bubbles Royboswell1, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view recommended, adds to the tranquility of the stay.”
 of 5 bubbles RuthO613, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the front have wonderful views of the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 193davidj, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best view is south side”
 of 5 bubbles gaynorh790, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5