We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stirling Highland Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Stirling Highland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,805: English reviews
Start your review of The Stirling Highland Hotel
 Click to rate
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We came for 2 nights in March as a wedding anniversary on the 2 night indulge offer. Dinner, b&b, 2 spa treatment each. Good points....Food DELICIOUS, staff very friendly (everyone says hi...From front desk to a workman we passed on the stairs), perfect location for pubs and shops (unless you struggle with hills), traditional decor inside and out (in keeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from an anniversary overnight at Stirling Highland...thoroughly enjoyed our first time at hotel. Nice surprise upgrade and card💗. Room was clean maybe bit tired but fine for us. Friendly staff and delicious dinner with prosecco. We enjoyed haggis and kedgeree starters..both had beef...then we shared raspberry cranachan and trio of rhubarb puds. Very yummy. Good night sleep in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valerie1953
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Staff were lovely to a man ( and woman!) - rooms clean but a bit tired ( discoloured grouting in bathroom) as was leisure centre but would definitely go again. Food in restaurant good and buffet breakfast ok ( porridge would be a good addition!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BluegirlInverness
scotland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Housed in an old school and refurbished into the hotel its a very large building with lots of facilities and sits at the top of a very steep hill but still within the centre of Stirling. The rooms are a decent size housing whatever bed configuration you have booked they have ample space to move with plenty of cupboard space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank me-and-monkey
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On arriving at the Hotel last night I introduced myself to the receptionist who did not respond with a single word. I explained why I had come to the hotel. She was entirely non-communicative but did hand over a key. This is fine, I can accept this as she seemed very young and had perhaps not had any customer service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susieashfield
StewartBond01, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susie Ashfield, Please accept my sincere apologies that you had such a poor welcome and disturbed stay at the hotel. It was very disappointing to read that you did not receive the normal warm welcome we give our guests and then very disturbing to read of the very poor way in which your problem with noise from the adjoining...

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was dirty , tired and you could hear the people in the next room. Asked to be moved only to be told there were no more rooms . Slept the whole night with the TV on to drown out their noise . Paid for a premium room upgrade which included a bottle of wine , a box of Chocolates...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkCGreenock
StewartBond01, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarkCGreenock, Please accept my apologies for the disappointment we caused you due to a lapse in our normally high standards. I have checked your reservation and all the appropriate prompts were these to ensure that the additional items you ordered were placed in the room and I can offer no other explanation other than human error why these were...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have to start off by saying that the staff and the food were excellent - no complaints there at all. Myself and my wife were there for just on night, DB&B and we did enjoy ourselves. It is just that the room we were allocated was very tired looking as was the bathroom. I think the hotel presents itself as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scotsman72
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel food excellent it's got a bit iffy on the decor but the thing to take in the hotel is on a very steep hill and when you get there there are more stairs bar is upstairs as well the pool is very suitable and well worth a visit when staying but overall a good place to stay as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klon1950
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got given a itison deal for this hotel for Christmas and honestly was a great night. Room was spacious, comfy bed, great bath. The hotel itself is a lovely building and comes across as being pretty luxurious. We then had dinner and drinks in the hotel, 3 course meal was delicious, neither of us could fault it at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheryl d
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely, friendly staff! There is a whiskey shop in the hotel and the bar is well stocked! Food was delicious! Room clean and comfortable! I really like staying here, there is a decent gym and parking. Also close enough to the town centre to walk around and shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
151 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.3 km away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.9 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
477 reviews
0.6 km away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Price Range: $143 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stirling Highland Hotel staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Carluke, United Kingdom
2 months ago
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from The Stirling Highland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We overlooked car park looking onto clock tower and church steeple ..”
 of 5 bubbles valerie1953, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful quiet hotel”
 of 5 bubbles janbram66, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for view over city”
 of 5 bubbles ang156, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I stayed on the ground floor room 100 very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles oldvet, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lift access to 3rd floor. Stairs only to 2nd floor. Many rooms have connecting doors for larger groups. All rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 171ElizabethM171, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5