We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lost Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lost Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lost Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Staff were great. The food was tasty and imaginative. But the Hotel itself is tired and in need of refurbishment. The bedrooms all need a good dusting too. A shame really because the latter greatly effects the rating that I give.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zayerman
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband & I spent two nights 27th & 28th June For Armed Forces Day. When we arrived the Receptionist was dealing with an American couple whose room had been cancelled by an outside agency. I was really impressed with the way she phoned round various places until she managed to get them alternative accommodation. The room was "jaded" &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HILARY K
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Although It's no fault of the staff, we were looking forward to a lovely stay at the terraces hotel but the hot water service which came on every time anyone turned the hot water tap on and made a terrible loud buzzing noise, made it impossible to sleep, at least in room 17. My husband complained to the porter at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachel A
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

this accomodation is as the title says: good value for your money. the rooms are not beautifully done, but they are clean, and silent where you can have a good, restful night. the customer service is goo, whenever I needed them they were there. I saw some bad reviews, which surprised me, as I think this place gave me what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilovetravel770879
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went to the Terraces Hotel on a last minute whim in order to catch a movie which was only still playing in Stirling. Clean very spacious room, good breakfast, no complaints. It's pretty central and you get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PGradaus
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for the weekend and had a lovely time. The room was great and staff very friendly. Good value for the price, good location. Could use better toilet paper and nicer shampoo conditioner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofia A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a great stay at the Terraces. Great location for our purposes, friendly people, always happy to help, we had a nice trip. Room was as expected, we did not encounter any problems with cleanliness. Would recommend to friends & family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HLeaver
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After seeing the room on arrival I was shocked! I'd treated my partner to a weekend away. I got the room half-price - still cannot believe we paid £95 a night for B&B. I would have been fizzing to have paid £190 a night for what we got! ROOM 14 - Bathroom looked newly done up - which was great!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shona3003
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I'm sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Had the issues you encountered been raised we would of endeavoured to ensure that your stay was enjoyable. Our standard rate for our rooms is not as you had stated of £190 and in fact £130. I do hope that you will contact the hotel...

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Was a bit nervous going here given some of the reviews but we had a lovely family trip for the murder mystery. My in laws are really fussy and even they were pleased. Food was lovely, entertaining event and friendly staff. Rooms are basic but I slept really well which is saying something. Great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laxmiandsimon
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2014

i paid 95 pounds per night for a suite the duvet was dirty and cheap the room could do with a lick of paint and steven the manager needs some customer care skills updated. i would never stay here again unless it was refurbished and some staff training put in place.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank david m
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review

No issue was raised during your stay or on check out. I have had nothing but great comments from other guests regarding Stevens customer service. Maybe you misread bad service as implementing licence laws, because one or more of your party were refused service at the bar due to not being able to provide Identification that verifies their age? We...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.5 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.4 km away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
903 reviews
3.4 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Price Range: $84 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lost Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the front have a better view of attractive stone buildings across the road, some distance away.”
janep1001, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“hotel is close to the town”
  • Entrance to room
jordywilson66, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It was our understanding that only the main floor had been renovated. Not really sure but ask before booking.”
shelleyham, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good central location to city centre”
steveb378, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't book it!”
pink41fairy, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5