We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2023)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (637)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 10 hotels in Morecambe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
3397Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,413
  • 689
  • 172
  • 74
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
APete wrote a review Today
Darwen, United Kingdom141 contributions96 helpful votes
Visited for afternoon tea. The food was quite good; however there were too many sweet items and not enough savoury. The chocolate cake was very dry. Service was not very attentive; the staff disappeared after serving the tables and there was no opportunity to ask for more tea. Also bear in mind you will be asked to vacate your table after about an hour and a quarter for the next sitting. Overall it was worth it as a one-off experience because of the hotel's history.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anne L wrote a review 1 Dec
1 contribution
I've recently developed an intolerance to gluten so I ordered the gluten free afternoon tea on booking. It was delicious, I had a full and varied selection of sandwiches and cakes, I didn't feel like I was missing out as so opten I do with the gluten free option served in some places.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 2 days ago
DearF1584TYannel, Thank you for your great feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DamonR wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom35 contributions39 helpful votes
Highly recommend going, but the tram need to do a walk through with fresh eyes. Lighting and seating in public areas is poor considering the history and importance of this building. Room design is very clever. Certainly worth a visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 2 days ago
Dear DamonR, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We will of course take on board your comments and rest assured we review the offering to our guests in relation to all areas and we will relook at the seating arrangement in the lobby area. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan C wrote a review Nov 2022
Tetbury, United Kingdom1 contribution
I've wanted to stay at The Midland for a long time, and I have to say, I was not disappointed. The location is superb, the views across Morecambe Bay are truly stunning. The building is fabulous, a great example of a hotel in the grand stye. Great service, comfortable room, and excellent food. The breakfast service was the best we've ever experienced. The only thing that let it down was the use of pre-mixed cocktails. If you're a 1930's hotel trading on that style, you should a proper cocktail barperson. I would wholeheartedly recommend The Midland, it's quite expensive, but it's worth it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Alan C, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you have in the main enjoyed your time with us and in particular the food and service. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James G wrote a review Nov 2022
Carbis Bay, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
First time stay at The Midland, couldn’t fault the friendliness of the staff, all very helpful. The room was an excellent size, well appointed and in top condition. The bed was very comfortably. Hotel is very dog friendly, even supplied a dog bed and bowl, nice touch. It’s an ideal location especially with a sea view room, to enjoy the views across the bay. Highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jamesgP1474TK, Thank you for reviewing your first visit with us here at The Midland. I am obviously pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and would recommend us to others. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jackieellis2022 wrote a review Nov 2022
Blackpool, United Kingdom1 contribution
We always stay at the Midland for special occasions, we love the Art Deco style, the rooms are to a high standard. Beds comfortable and lovely views over the bay. Breakfast is excellent with so much choice. A loyalty scheme would be a great idea.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jackieellis2022, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Midland. I have shared your feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion if not before. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda B wrote a review Nov 2022
78 contributions74 helpful votes
Had a lovely afternoon tea today. Staff were lovely.So often the cakes are poor quality but they were delicious. The ladies had procesco which is was reasonably priced. It was heavy rain today so view was not the best
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 1 week ago
Dear B6781XAlindab, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and have shared your feedback with the team. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan C wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Unique building with art deco features - make the visit memorable. Room was practical with some interesting quirky layouts - super quiet which I need to find sleep ! Breakfast was good and tasty - nice bar area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear nojrpooc, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Midland. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we all hope that you will return in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LYNN S wrote a review Nov 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom10 contributions9 helpful votes
A lovely time improved by smiley helpful staff. Any issues are sorted out obligingly. Rooms can be over warm, but there are fans. Everything you need. The rooms are quieter directly away from the kitchen side, which we found noisy last time we were there and as you need ventilation when the windows are open it was too noisy for me. The chairs for relaxing are hard and uncomfortable, look ok but not for sitting in. Noticed the milk in the fridge was 97ml, so tiny, need at least double size a day for two. Mentioned to reception and topped up. Great! Nice to look out of the windows too. The lift is great as is walking up those lovely sweeping stairs. Lovely quiet rooms (away from the kitchens) Not disturbed. Breakfasts are just great, choice great , choose as much or as little as you like. Fried eggs are usually overcooked so no dippy eggs. If you choose a full english with scrambled you get a large tasty portion. Bacon a little hard. Fruit juice lovely, fruit lovely. Just a couple of small niggles, brekky was brill! If you use the shower check out how it works, saves time. Lots of hot water. We had dinner twice this time as a treat. A little cool in the dining room but I only a T shirt on. Lovely dinner, very small portions of veg, desserts lovely, Good service 1st night, slow on second. All picky faults apart from the noisy room, because the Midland Hotel is amazing and we will be back for sure. I hope some of my points help for your stay. We took our little dog who was exceptionally well behaved (quiet) and we enjoyed our meals without the dog, and as she enjoyed her walks, we were well suited. T h a n k y o u everyone at Midland.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear LYNN S, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and are obviously a fan of the hotel and the style of hospitality and service we aim to provide all of our guests. I am obviously disappointed with the small errors we have obviously made but please rest assured I will use this invaluable feedback to improve they way we look after all our guests, thank you! We all look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit hopefully in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Difromsouthsea wrote a review Nov 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom133 contributions28 helpful votes
We’ve now stayed here 3 times and it never disappoints. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms spacious, spotless and quirky. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is lovely with great views. We chose the charred red cabbage vegetarian main course on our first night and it was absolutely delicious - a really innovative dish. However we were disappointed by the risotto we chose on the second night - it was boring and needed more vegetables. Nevertheless we’ll certainly be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at The Midland
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Difromsouthsea, Thank you for reviewing your third visit with us here at The Midland. I am glad that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the Red Cabbage main course, I have raised your feedback with the Head Chef in relation to the Risotto from the second evening and asked he ensures we are applying the correct standards when producing this dish, thank you for highlighting this to me. We all look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$185 - US$353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the midland hotel morecambe, midland hotel morecambe
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireLancaster DistrictMorecambe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MIDLAND: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,215 Photos (Morecambe) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Midland
Which popular attractions are close to The Midland?
Nearby attractions include Eric Morecambe Statue (0.4 km), Briggs Shoes (0.2 km), and Morecambe Winter Gardens (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Midland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Midland?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Midland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Midland?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Midland?
Conveniently located restaurants include No.9, The Sun Terrace Restaurant, and Crown Bar & Bistro.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Midland?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Midland?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Midland offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Midland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lancaster Castle (5.2 km), Lancaster Town Hall (5.8 km), and Roman Bath House and Wery Wall Remains (5.3 km).